Cover Girl • Cheekers - soft sable • Blush

rated 4.3(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 brelig on 3/11/2014 10:47:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to blush. It is soft and buttery on application, and blends out nicely. It is pigmented enough to give a good flush of color, but unless applied with a heavy hand, it is easy to apply this lightly for a natural glow. It has a nice sheen that reflects the light, but is not shiny, shimmery, or glittery. Because it is a neutral-brown rose color, it works well with any looks I pair it with, and probably would work for a large range of skin colors and tones. It brightens up my whole face, and stays put for most of the day. In fact, as it wears throughout the day, I'd even say it looks better halfway through the day than at the beginning as it seems to melt into my skin. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this product and have been wearing it for over 15 years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violetsky88 on 1/4/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by violetsky88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This blush goes on beautifully with a nice dewy-looking finish. The pigmentation can be built up for a more intense look and the color lasts (though I haven;t worn it in the 100+ degrees weather during the summer yet or the accompanying humidity). The color is hard to describe- it's not as brown as it appears in the pan. I apply it either on my bare skin or on top of a bb cream or tinted moisturizer.

It's pretty enough for the daytime and eye-catching enough for night. I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 8/23/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Covergirl says "blush's basic rules - it has to be easy and it has to look natural. That's Cheekers. Each portable mini compact gives you a sheer blush that goes on to stay true and natural looking for hours. It's the way to glow!" Covergirl offers 18 shades of their Cheekers blush, I'm reviewing Soft Sable. I'm not a very big Covergirl fan, so I never paid any attention to their blush selection. This blusher contains 3g (.12 oz). I received this blush from Free Beauty Events in exchange for promoting a giveaway. This blush retails for between $3-5 and can be bought at drugstores and major retailers. Covergirl is a subsidiary of Proctor&Gamble, so their products are not cruelty free. Covergirl Cheekers blushes are made in America.
Covergirl recently redesigned the packaging for their Cheekers blushes. I cant comment on the new packaging, but I'm glad they updated it, the old packaging looks flimsy and cheap. The old packaging was a grey, rectangular compact with a clear flip up lid. A label on the back of the compact offers the shade name and ingredient list. The blush it's self comes in a narrow rectangular pan, which is inconvenient if you prefer to use a large blush brush. Covergirl includes a tiny brush that's pretty useless. The bristles are scratchy, flimsy, with bristles that are prone to splaying and shedding. Ideally, I'd like to see Covergirl skip the crappy brush and widen the blush pan instead.
The Covergirl Cheekers Blush in Soft Sable is much better quality than I expected! This blusher is well pigmented, it can go on rather strong, but can also blend out to a sheer flush of color with minimal effort. The texture of the Cheekers Blush is kinda impressive, soft but not at all powdery, there isn't a speck of excess powder kick up. Soft Sable wears pretty well, I get about seven hours of wear from it, which is good enough in my book. I also quite like using this blush on the eyes, where it wears and blends equally as well as it does on the cheeks. This blush is very strongly fragranced with a cinnamon like scent. Why? I don't really know, there really isn't a reason to have such a scented makeup product.
Initially, I wasn't a fan of Soft Sable, but it grew on me over time. Soft Sable is a very warm rosy tan shade. There's a moderate amount of gold shimmer in Soft Sable that gives this blush a somewhat frosty finish. Soft Sable is such a strong color, I need to use a light hand when applying it. I feel that this shade can work on a wide range of skin tones depending on how strongly its applied. This isn't a color I'll reach for all the time, but its flattering when I wear it.
Covergirl's Soft Sable Cheekers Blush is pretty good! I expected it to be powdery, chalky, or poorly pigmented, but it isn't any of those things at all! Soft Sable is smooth, soft, pigmented, and blendable. You can't ask for much more than that in a blush, especially one that costs only $4. Soft Sable is an interesting brown pink with a soft frosted sheen. Would I repurchase this blush? No, but I'll no longer overlook the Cheekers line; if I see a shade that catches my eye I won't hesitate to pick it up. I encourage you to look into Covergirl Cheekers blushes if you haven't. If you have, why didn't you tell me they were so good?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 urbancaseymariee on 3/13/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by urbancaseymariee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pleasantly surprised with the look of this product on my skin! I purchased in hopes to dupe Benefit's "Dallas" blush. This color is a close match when held right next to Dallas; on the skin it is a bit shimmery (but I still loved it for contouring!). My boyfriend said he liked the color (he says "give it a thumbs up!") and, even though I was disappointed to see a few too many sparkles in the sun (Dallas doesn't have that so much), it was very, very pretty. The powder takes to the brush very well, and you don't need much to go far. For sure re-buying, I would say a decent Dallas dupe, but I'm still not going to buy it again because of all the parabens in it (I know dallas does too, that's why I opt for smashbox suntanne matte for contouring)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geraldin13 on 11/18/2012 12:25:00 AM more reviews by geraldin13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

this is my second purchase for this blush. its my HG blush. I am the one of the picture and im using this blush almost everyday

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hillsad10 on 8/14/2012 8:20:00 PM more reviews by Hillsad10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this blush first off.. Getting into details: I am surprised to hear people say they believe this color is unusable, Im an NW 20 concealer, and about an NW 25-30 skin in general (non-summer months, never been matched when I'm tan)..In Bare Essentials I wear the Tan shade foundation when in the summer. I primarily use this blush in the summer, mostly because while shopping my collection I found it as the warmer months came about. I am usually a strict matte blush girl, so this was a bit daring for me to pick up and give another whirl. I think I've used this every single day for the last 3 months, this is the only one I bring with me while on vacation or traveling at the moment. I agree that it's a peachy pink, pulling more peach when on my skin with shimmer unquestionably. The shimmer is obvious when you even look at the package, therefore to all who are surprised at this - you misjudged it from the start. I personally am not that into highlighters; probably the only make, up other than liquid liner, that I have never taken an interest in getting my hands on. This blush, I feel fills my void of wanting glowing "highlighted" skin while saving myself the extra product and step in my routine. I actually came to apply my blush with the Bare Essentials Flawless Face brush that comes in almost every kit you get from them. I had an extra kicking around and I gave it a try with my blush and have not gone to any other brush since. This gives me the best summer cheek out of all my blushes while this was only 3 dollars or so while all my others are MAC and Bobbi Brown. I haven't picked up another because I'm so content with this for the time being! Also, even though I have just recently rediscovered this product, it sure lasts a long time for as much as i've been applying it the last few months. Usually with drugstore blush they're quite powdery and waste a ton of product, not with this. Give it a try! nothing to lose as most places these days have a makeup return policy that if it's an epic fail for you - take it back! I can't think of a skintone this wouldn't look pretty on ;) my only less than perfect remark is that I wish more came in the little compact but for the price and lifespan of the product, the amount is plenty! I already bought another just incase CG changes their line any time soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LavenderPearl on 4/10/2012 11:50:00 PM more reviews by LavenderPearl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looking back on it, I don't know what in the world possessed me to purchase this blush. Granted, this was back when I was a blush newbie... oh, who am I kidding, I'm still kind of a blush newbie! xD

Onto the actual product, this is a beige blush with IMO peach tones to it. Highly frosted, very, very shimmery. I honestly don't see how anyone could or would use this as a blush, definitely more in the highlighter category, although for me it's still too stark and ashy against my skintone.

~DDD, neutral-to-warm w/ yellow undertones, MAC Matchmaster 8.5~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelamakeup on 2/8/2012 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised by this blush. It's actually pretty shimmery (which at first I didn't like about it). However, every time I wear it I get compliments so it's grown on me. I reach for this to layer over another blush if I want that extra shimmer. Not bad for it's price. The brush as with nearly all beauty products is junk. I wouldn't bother wasting time applying product with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 9/3/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color. It's very natural looking. I was pleasantly surprised at how pigmented it is. I don't know why, but I actually find the scent quite pleasant. And the best part is that it's really cheap. I got it for about $3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 8/4/2011 12:16:00 PM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous. A deepish nude. Love Cover Girl Cheekers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Blush products