Orly • Nail Armor • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 POPOK1 on 5/13/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by POPOK1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product chips like crazy from the first day of wear and doesn't really do much towards strengthening your nails. I wouldn't get this again even if someone were handing it out for free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SilentPerfection on 10/15/2012 5:48:00 AM more reviews by SilentPerfection

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fair warning I am basing part of this review on past experiance so I may be back to update.

I initially got this on a dollar bin sale at a now closed local beauty supply/salon. That was many years ago and I dont know if it was before orly went big 3 free. My experiance then was great when I used it. I was going through a french tip phase (I do the acetone/paintbrush method) so I didnt use it very often. But when I did do full nail polish it held well and I had less breakage issues (I was working with children and horses at the time so that says something).

I got out of the habit of doing my nails for quite a while and it kind of went to the back of my mind. Now that im back in the habit i decided to give this another go given how much I remembered liking it. Only had it for 4 days but thus far its helping my manicure last longer and my tips dont soften as much when exposed to water. As for anything else its watch and wait.

One huge plus to orly for me is that well shaped rubberized cap. Makes doing my nails much easier with my bad joints, ive never dropped an orly cap yet!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 9/13/2012 3:22:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

L'oreal used to make a fantastic base coat called Mega Hard, I believe. I loved it, and of course they discontinued it. I managed to hoard half a dozen bottles but they're all gone. This is the closest thing I could find to replace it. Of course, it's not as good, but it's pretty close. It dries fast and protects my nails. I also love the easy-to-open grippy top. Good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IslandGirlSPN on 7/31/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by IslandGirlSPN

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Using two coats of this as per instruction works fine if I just want to wear something to protect my nails hence the name BUT I find that I cannot wear this with nail polish for very long. I never really had a problem with my polish chipping heavily the very next day until I used this as a base coat. I would usually use my cheaper Sinful basecoat ($4) and it does its job much better than this($7 @ Sallys). For simple nail protection I would get this again but with the amount of polishes I own I really should stick to wearing a new color often. (Plus I want to!) I honestly am not sure if I would buy this again. Maybe.... if its on sale. Then id give it to someone who just wants nail protection. haha. OH also I feel that the silky threads that are visible are more of a stab at a physical type of protection than chemical (even though this base coat smells a bit on the strong side) but because the bits are so small I really dont think it makes a real difference. I have a gut feeling this may be more of a gimmicky type nail treatment because Im just not convinced of the power of those miniscule silk threads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bhe on 7/6/2012 9:42:00 PM more reviews by bhe

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Really worked well with 2 coats to fill in the ridges. Nice whitish color made my nails look cleaner, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 1/21/2012 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have an old bottle of this (probably from b4 all companies were going b3f)
I have been using this on top of 1 coat of nail magic (original) & orly bonder (also old b4 b3f). My nails have felt very strong. I have a couple patches on but that was b4 I started using this again. I have kept my nails shorter just because with weekly filing they grow so much quicker and since I have patches on I want them to grow out quickly. I recently took off a patch that had grown out and the nail under it was strong, not weak like sometimes happens after you take off a silk wrap, nail glue and glue resin.
I have been doing at least 3 coats of color on top of my base coats and then a coat of seche vite my polish has been lasting at least 6 days without chips.
I should look at the ingredients on the label to see if this is the old formula but i would def buy again. I hope the newer version is as good as the one I am using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sll74 on 8/18/2011 7:08:00 PM more reviews by sll74

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

my nails aren't really weak but i'm hard on them and i have been wearing colored polish and don't want stains so i like a nice basecoat. i like this one a lot. it feels like it's strengthening and i can see little fibers but my nail is smooth to the touch. also, the color isn't so white that it makes me have to use more polish to see the color boldly. i like this more than the other ridge filler base coat by orly and even some other brands i've tried. it's sort of light tan in the bottle but it looks almost clear, but not glossy on my nails. i'll stick with this for awhile and don't feel the need to look for something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JordanGalore on 7/13/2011 6:55:00 PM more reviews by JordanGalore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nail Armor is a great nail strengthening and ridgefilling basecoat. I apply two coats before my nail color and it keeps my nails hard and stops them from peeling or splitting. I noticed tiny fibers which I believe are great and the reason why my nails are so strong when wearing this. I recently removed my acrylics so Im definitely enjoying this product to help strengthen my weak nails. I will be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RaiinbowEyes on 4/30/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by RaiinbowEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Dries quick so you can put on the two recommended coats quickly, but I find that it's hard for polish to "grab" my nail afterward. Even with polish I use that is usually full color first coat, this makes it difficult to apply evenly and make the color tend to just "smooth away" from spots- mostly near the base of my nails. Even after 2-3 coats of color and a top coat those spots will show through and it does NOT look good!

On top of that it doesn't seem to do anything for my nail health. I plan on giving this to someone else because I'm not going to use it anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 honeylocs on 1/27/2011 5:54:00 PM more reviews by honeylocs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff!! I always do my manicures with 2 coats of this, 1 coat of Gelous Nail Gel Coat, 2 coats of polish, and 1 coat of Seche Vite. My nails stay looking good for at least 4 or 6 days. If I haven't changed it by then, my nail growth starts to show at the base with the polish moving away from my cuticles. This keeps my nails very strong, and they would grow really long if I didn't file them down weekly. I like them just over the tips of my fingers. I will buy this as long as they sell it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products