Alba Botanica • Terra Tints - Blaze SPF18 • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 10/17/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up on a whim when I saw it on clearance at a grocery store, and I quite like it. Blaze is a sheer, shimmery warm berry red. It offers some mineral sun protection, moisturizes my lips, and adds a bit of color. Because of the sheerness, the color is easy to wear, though I wish it was a bit less shimmery. Overall, though, I'm glad I bought it.
Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 5.1%. Other Ingredients: Coconut Oil*, Olive Fruit Oil*, Candelilla Wax, Beeswax*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Peppermint Oil*, Castor Seed Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Iron Oxides, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Limonene*, Linalool*.
*Certified Organic Ingredient

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bloou on 2/19/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by bloou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

These are a great alternative to other tinted balms that has a strong minty tingle (love those!). The peppermint in this is more subtle. But I still like this. The shade is a red with brown in it which makes it wearable and pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 foryoursmile on 11/5/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by foryoursmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't have any tinted lip balms in my collection, so I thought I'd give this a try. This isn't something I find myself wanting to use every day since the color seems to be a bit too much for my fair skin tone. But if I apply a regular lip balm first then just lightly apply the terratint afterwards and blend in, it makes for a lovely pop of color. =] The tingly sensation is a nice afterthought and of course the little bit of spf protection is nice as well. As for moisturizing..I would say this just doesn't cut it. The product by itself made my lips so uncomfortably dry and cracked, worse then if I wore nothing at all. =/ Even with applying lip balm for this, any moisture from prior lip balm almost feels like it's being suck out of my lips. So I don't think I'd repurchase again after using up this tube. The tint of color is nice, but lip stick can do the same thing, just wish it was a good moisturizing lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misslizzy on 6/17/2011 8:15:00 AM more reviews by misslizzy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I came across this product in 2000, in Rapid City, South Dakota, and have been using it ever since, both in the USA, and back home in Australia. I never once had dry or cracked lips during that winter I spent in South Dakota, nor have I since then. I only wear Blaze, it's a great colour, strong and bright enough to be seen but not over-obvious. It's not an all-day colour, has to applied fairly regularly, but that's normal for a lip balm. It works for day or evening. It's practically all I have worn for the last 10+ years and I'm upset that the Australian distributors of Alba products have stopped importing it. Lucky for me I do travel to the USA and so I'll be stocking up on my next trip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FyrePhoenix on 3/11/2011 2:35:00 PM more reviews by FyrePhoenix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this at HEB yesterday. I had been wanting to try a tinted balm, because lipsticks have been drying my lips lately, but I really prefer to have some color on them. So, I picked this up, put it on in the car on the way home, and was immediately impressed with it. It imparts that lovely my-lips-only-better color, moisturizes, and has staying power. I don't like the texture of the stick (lots of little lumps), but that really isn't enough for me to knock off a lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimplyManda on 6/27/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by SimplyManda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Other    

Love this balm for its natural ingredients list and the soft red look it gives to my lips. I'm a bit afraid of red, so I often try red lips through balms and stains as opposed to lipsticks. This one is a bit creamier and more lipstick-like than Korres Wild Rose lip balm (which looks more like a stain). It's also a tad more moisturizing. It gives my lips a nice subtle red-rosey flush though, which I like on occasion. The mint flavor isn't overwhelming, though it may cause sensitivity issues for some. My only complaint is that sometimes it feels a bit dry on my lips, particularly during winter. That's easily solved by layering over another clear balm. Overall thumbs up for this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ingenting on 5/24/2010 5:10:00 AM more reviews by ingenting

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to give this a five because I love the colour and it moisturizes pretty well.
But what I don't like about this is that it's almost like a lipstick and the consistency is quite soft, so it's easy to put on too much and smudge a huge chunk of it onto your lips. And when you put on too much, after a while it looks like you're wearing lip liner.

Though, if you just gently blot the lip balm onto your lips, it looks really nice and a bit more natural.

Because of the colour in this balm, it's really hard to moisturize the corners of my mouth with this without looking like a clown.... so I have to use another non-colour lipbalm for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fantomia on 2/1/2010 10:57:00 AM more reviews by Fantomia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Iíve got a new love Ė organic lip tints. Applies and feels like lip balms (you donít need mirror), and add colour for a fresher look, but not make-uped like lipstick. Even easier to apply than lip-gloss, and wears longer than lip-gloss too, I think, and my hair doesnít stick to my lips as when I wear lip-gloss.
Iíve tried this type + KissMyFace Sheer organic Shimmers and MyChelle Little Kisses, and love this + Sheer organic Shimmers for the fresh minty taste, but this feels even better on as it is softer (but I think Sheer organic Shimmers lasts a little longer because of the dryer consistence Ė but never mind, they are so refreshing to reapply so I do it all the time anyway). And colurwise I prefer Little Kisses because they re richer pigmented with less shimmer than those two.
Love this colour even if I normally like darker colours; itís a bright but natural red-ish colour just dark enough for brighten up my face. I want to try the Garnet too to see if it is a darker plum colour.
And what a wonderful prize on these!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jootje on 11/16/2009 1:10:00 PM more reviews by jootje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am very happy with this stuff. I wanted a tinted lipbalm rather than a lipgloss or lipstick for everyday use. Something that adds a little color but still looks natural. This is just that. It is a very pretty red-brown-pinkish color that gives a nice and natural finish to my look during the day. This is the only color I like by the way, but it's perfect so I don't need more. It has a minty smell and feels cool when you apply. I'm not necessarily a fan of that but I don't mind it either. It is moisturizing but during winter I feel it is not always moisturizing enough for my uber-dry lips so sometimes I apply a normal lipbalm first before applying this. That works fine. Also, if I want a bit more color just another swipe will do that. In short, I'm really happy with this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rainshine on 11/11/2009 11:53:00 PM more reviews by rainshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been buying this forever. It's a warm brown-red with shimmer, goes with everything and is not too bright. It's moisturizing, but you might still need balm underneath if you have super-dry lips like me.
Very nice color for winter, and you can control the intensity of the color by application. I usually hate mint balms, but this one isn't too strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Lip Treatments products