Sebastian • Potion 9 • Styling Products

rated 4.0(434 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 4/15/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great duo product that is a treatment and a styling product in one. A lot of products make that claim, but they just coat the hair with heavy silicones and do nothing to actually treat the hair. This one is different because it contains proteins that help reconstruct the hair. I have long wavy fine hair that had lost its curl and gone limp and frizzy with damage, dry crunchy ends. Brought this stuff to scrunch into the ends and a little to smooth down top frizz. At first I thought it was great when did as promised, no bad smell, quick to use.

Halfway through the bottle I noticed my hair changing, even on days when I was NOT using the product. Curls tighter and more defined, volume returning on the top, shine and softness back, and hair appearing to grow faster (as the ends were being treated and were no longer snapping off. Now I think its not just great, its super great and actually makes a huge difference to hair! I'm not normally a hair product gal. I've found a lot of salon products are over hyped and do nothing for my hair in the past. Anyway, I was so encouraged by how Potion 9 was working I stopped needing to use heat tools to add body or shine back in, as it was coming back naturally. Also, those little frizzy flyaway "halo" on the top of my head are almost gone (those are actually snapped off damaged bits).

This product along with coconut oil* is amazing for hair, especially helps repair fine damaged hair which needs a lot of protein. I love how its just one step, because I'm quite lazy with my hair and won't do anything that isn't easy. My first bottle was a surprise gift and at first I thought I wouldn't re-purchase because the bottle looked so tiny and expensive. But I only use 2 pumps at a time and I can really see the change its made in my hair, so I totally want to know where to buy another bottle. I don't know another product that does the same thing. Those sensitive to protein might not like this product, or will want to rotate products when they feel their hair getting dry and crunchy.


* Virgin Coconut Oil has been scientifically proven to enter the hair shaft and help hair retain protein, retain elasticity, and not get damaged during the washing process. This is the ONLY oil that does this as it contains the exact right molecular sized particles that are small enough to enter the hair shaft and not just coat the outside. Its the natural compenent Lauric acid in it that does this. The study says for maximum conditioning, it works best when applied to dry hair before shampooing, preferably up to 14 hours is best but overnight is good enough. then wash out as you normally do in the morning. Can also use as a leave in treatment, melt a small amount onto your fingertips then mix a tiny bit with styling product and apply to hair. Hair will be softer and you should be able to ditch the shine product. Over time your hair will become less damaged. I found this out halfway through the Sebastian trial when I wanted to know why Potion 9 was improving my hair in a way no other styling product has ever done. This turned me onto the magic of proteins and coconut oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amariah on 4/5/2014 7:43:00 AM more reviews by Amariah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I have black straight and with medium thickness hair with bleached red streaks. My hair was very dry on the ends, and it looked quite ratty and untidy. Once I used a about a 10 cent amount on my hands on dry hair. I could not believe how good this product really is. My hair looked like I had just gone to a salon. I just blow-dried the product in. The product is good value for money considering you only use a very small amount. I have hair just past my shoulders. My hair felt lovely and smooth. The moisture ingredient made my hair look really healthy. My hair was smoother and more styled. My hair looked neater and the hair colour sand the cut was emphasised by this product. I will definitely stock up on this product, it really worked well in my hair. I was quite cynical that this product may fail, but I was definitely wrong. This product is well worth purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiddleCyclone on 8/20/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by MiddleCyclone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Potion 9 rocks! It is the perfect product for anyone with medium to long hair who like the free flowy straight or wavy type styles.

To me this is a cross between a leave in conditioner and a styling balm as it has some hold and adds texture yet it is so intensely moisturizing. It works amazingly for smoothing out my hair and taming all the little frizzies and flyaways I used to always get. This is the perfect prep product for a smooth and polished blow out. I always used to depend on a flat iron to get that perfect sleek look, now after using Potion 9 I hardly use my flat iron and Potion 9 has really helped minimize the damage I inflicted from flat ironing so much.

I've really not found anything else like this as it's so much more efficient than your standard smoothing balm or lotion and it's not quite as heavy as a serum or leave in conditioner. It's a perfect hybrid of awesomeness!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 outtasteam on 7/6/2013 6:37:00 AM more reviews by outtasteam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!

Sebastian is one of my favorite brand line of products. I love Potion 9. I have thick, dense, coarse, dry, heavy layered hair that is long. I mix a litte of this product with BioSilk serum, let air dry and BAM I have alot of natural body. Not really curls but body and texture.
It's a little pricey but a little product goes a long way, so in the end it is affordable.

Go Sebastian!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ellann on 6/18/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by ellann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after I read some reviews. I have a course, unrully 3B hair with lots of frizz ( Mediterranean curls with uneven pattern). It didn't make my hair soft and it didn't get the frizz out of my hair. Even the cheap drugstore ones dose the job much more better than this. I just returned it back to Trade Secret and Because there is no refund there I got store credit. Be careful if you have Course frizzy curly hait It might not work for you. It does not give a tiny bit of definition to curls at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessamay on 4/11/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I know this has been around forever and I know I must have tried this back in the early 90s (as I remember the smell and I think it came in a toothpaste type looking tube then) but I must not have liked it then. My goal in the late 80s/early 90s was big hair and with my fine hair, anything that cause it to be smoother was not a good product for me then. Now my goal is smooth, shiny, healthy looking hair. I highlight my hair and I am growing it longer than normal so it gets like straw at the ends and looks terribly dull. This has REALLY worked to give me shine and swing and touchable softness. It does not help much in the volume department but it does give it a little body. If I am feeling like it - I will add a root volume spray and I get more volume and I am really happy with the results. I think it is a great product - wish it was cheaper but I think it will last a long time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 3/26/2013 10:01:00 PM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a sample size in my Glossybox. I used it one day when I was too lazy to blowdry my hair. I used it to scrunch my waves/curls and then let it air dry. It has light hold and my waves/curls were perfectly formed with no frizz. The pump style packaging sucks. Attempting to use this pump with slick hands is annoying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 3/20/2013 11:58:00 AM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used the original product which was not a leave in treatment but it was top notch for smoothing and moisturizing my fine, wavy colour treated hair. It just took all the frizz away in a way that was nourishing my hair. Then poof! it went off the market so I am ever so happy to see this new formulation as a leave in product. It only delivers the good stuff - moisture, shine, body and smoothness (bye, bye frizz) and none of the bad. It does not weigh my hair down or look greasy and build up. I bought the large bottle because I'm going to use it all and at $33. it will take at least ten years to use up because you only need a small amount. So sorry I didn't spot this product a few years ago when it first came out. It is truly in a class by itself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SammySweetieee on 3/20/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by SammySweetieee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product from my hairstylist, I fell in love with the fact my hair feels healthy, but it does cause my hair to look greasier sooner (even though I use about a dime size amount for my medium length hair) but overall, it smells good, makes my hair feel thick and healthy, and helps me ward off those awful split ends

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 3/13/2013 2:42:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product takes me back to the 8th grade when I received this hair miracle for my birthday, back when it was packaged in a squeeze tube. I loved it then, but it became impossible to find anywhere in the small town I live in. Flash forward, ten years later I'm wandering through Sally's and see GVP version of this product. I literally cried inside because its exactly what my hair needed! Provides excellent moisture and shine to my curls without added weight or bulk. It smells great and a quarter sized amount is all I need for my long hair. Will gladly repurchase and this product is so good that I'm able to use it alone without any additional styling products. It's like having a cream, serum, and gel in one! HG for sure :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products