MAC • Matte - Honeylove • Lipstick

rated 4.1(173 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 oalkims on 10/31/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by oalkims

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TattooedPrncsz on 10/29/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by TattooedPrncsz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I love this lipstick, it can be drying but alI you need is a good lip balm. It reads as a pinkish-browish nude to me and is one of the only lipsticks I can say I finished the whole tube. I love how this pairs with the eyeshadows from Tarte after dark palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellokittyismyfavy on 10/4/2014 4:42:00 AM more reviews by hellokittyismyfavy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this lipstick as it looks so beautiful on especially with a dark purple smokey eye. It nudes out my lips without making my lips look dead. The only con is that its slightly drying but that can be overcome by wearing lipbalm underneath. Overall, i would def buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 9/30/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this shade. This fall, I've been trying to go with deeper nudes since they are my favorite and this is perfect. Paired with Whirl, you've also got that Kylie Jenner lip. This is a matte, so can be a bit drying, so I apply a balm first. This is described as a light beige toned with rose and that's a perfect description. A deeper pinky nude. Would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rayellaxo on 8/28/2014 5:04:00 AM more reviews by Rayellaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Worst. It's pretty for the ten minutes that it stays on

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ClareyAlexa on 8/17/2014 7:56:00 AM more reviews by ClareyAlexa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this nude lipstick. Suits my cool toned skin. I wear it with Boots no7 nude line and a gloss for evening

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yaya49 on 7/5/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by yaya49

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This just might be my favorite nude Lippy. And I have tons, I have just about every matte/satin nude or mauve lipstick from mac, plus other nudes in different finishes. I recently got this and idk how it took me so long to pick it up. It's the perfect shade for me, not too nude and not too brown. It can be a little drying but some Chapstick before applying can fix that. I just absolutely love this lipstick! If you're eyeing it get it, you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Deedianne on 6/13/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by Deedianne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Honey love just did not suit me. It washed me out, made my teeth appear yellow and honestly I looked ill. Even with smokey eyes I could not pull this off. I have a tan completion and am neutral in tone (green and purple veins). I found the application to be very dry but not pigmented dry like their retro matte collection but patchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hottahitilover on 6/5/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by hottahitilover

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Its ok I ordered this not knowing what to expect but its the same color as my skin tone and its nice but my daughter has cherish which is similar and I prefer cherish so I wouldn't repurchase honeylove but ill use what I have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 4/7/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For those of you in the UK this is a bit of an embarrassing admission but I actually bought this lipstick after reading one of the girls on TOWIE uses it.... oh I know. For shame- but I don't care really because in my book- if something looks nice, then it looks nice irrespective of any of the other peripheral factors!

The only other MAC matte lipstick that I own is Ruby Woo so I knew what to expect texture wise. I think the key to wearing pretty much any matte formula on the lips is 1. Preparation. For me this means going to bed with a really emollient balm on. 2. Less is more. The slightly heavier texture means it doesn't really ever dissipate in the way that a more gel formula would so you can be left with ghastly cakey looking lips where it has gathered.

So the colour of Honeylove is a sort of ever so slightly washed out 'brick' shade. It's medium/pale and when combined with the pink of your own lips (depending obviously on your pigmentation) it makes for a slightly warm nude. It's not a MLBB nude though, it definitely looks like you are wearing lipstick. On me it isn't a lipstick that I can wear with a bronzey look or a colourless look- I need a bit of colour on my cheeks to stop it washing me out. Combined with some definition on the eyes and cheeks it can look quite polished and chic. It lasts well. If I smudge it in with my finger, blot, smudge in again, I can get a good four hours out of it.

I'm giving Honeylove a 4 simply because it lacks a bit of versatility. I have to think a bit about what else is going on with my face and I have to make sure that my lips are in peak condition for it- but all that taken into account I consider it a worthwhile buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products