Freeman • Pure Ambition Purifying Facial Clay mask with Avocado and Oatmeal • Masks

rated 3.9(413 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bellavee on 7/23/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this when it was BOGO free at Ulta, so with the $3.50 off coupon it was only 50 cents. Although, I wouldn't mind trying it out for the full $4. Clay masks are usually good for those with oily skin, unfortunately it didn't live up to my expectations. Maybe it was just too gentle for me but my extremely oily skin with clogged pores remained unchanged. I've used it multiple times hoping for better results but it's ineffective for me. But it is very easy to remove and nice smelling but I'll stick to Queen Helene's mint julep mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EustaciaVye22 on 7/16/2014 12:36:00 AM more reviews by EustaciaVye22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I have recently become obsessed with skin care products (because I am a smoker and I'm trying to preserve my skin as well as I can, since its a well known fact smoking affects your skin). I have used Freeman's Cucumber Mask in the past and loved it, and decided to try this mask. Normally it goes for about $4 at my local Shoprite store, but it was recently on sale for $1, so I decided to try it. Holy balls, big mistake. it does have a great texture- thick ans smooth, a bright appealing green color and a nice smell - and it went on very well. However! I waited for it to dry to wash it off, and literally, as I started towards the bathroom, my face began to itch. I washed it off with warm water, and the itch became worse. Suddenly I had red, blotchy patches all over my face, and the itch wouldn't go away. Alarmed, I applied some Pond's for Dry Skin, hoping to soothe my face. Eventually the blotches disappeared, but that scares the hell out of me. I have combination skin, by I almost never react like that to ANYTHING, and I've tried a lot of products over the years. I can't figure out what I reacted to, but I'm never using it again. Thank god I only spent $1 on it. Never again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 reginacordium on 7/13/2014 3:17:00 PM more reviews by reginacordium

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I think this is a promising product - the ingredients, for the most part, seem harmless enough, and who hasn't heard of the benefits of avocado, oatmeal, or clay? However, I would suggest doing a patch test before applying this to your whole face. I purchased a small sample, which I'm thankful for now. It went on very smoothly, and it smelled delightful, but after just a few moments, my face started burning and itching. I should have taken this as a red flag, but I have used products in the past that "tingle" or "burn" because they are clearing out your pores or whatever. I left it on for about 15 minutes, or as long as I could handle it, and then came the really glamorous part - removing it. It was very difficult to rinse off, and it left my usually oily skin feeling dry.

After using it two nights (thinking the second time wouldn't be bad because my face had already been "cleaned out"), I looked in the mirror last night noticed some skin on my jaw was raised, bumpy and red. I thought maybe it was a break-out coming on, but this morning, it itches terribly and there are little white bumps all around the jaw area. I won't be using this product anymore, and I'm hesistant to try other Freeman's masks, honestly. Anyway, it definitely didn't do much for my skin, aside from the reaction to it. I hear good things about the Queen Helene's Mint Julep mask though, so maybe I'll give that a go once my face settles down!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thomasania on 7/13/2014 12:41:00 AM more reviews by thomasania

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have all of a sudden became obsessed with facial masks, and my journey started with the Quern Helene and onto Freeman.

Pros- It is easy to apply and remove, the texture is creamy and smooth.
I love the fact that it comes in a tube and it is less likely to become contaminated.
It is affordable and often on sale. I paid $2.99 for mine.
Dries quickly and does not have an offensive smell.

My experience ... I have oily acne prone skin and I have been using a mask every other day. I do notice that my skin is a lot less oily, especially considering it is very hot here in the south. I have not experienced any irritation or discomfort.

Results... I haven't seen any "magic" happen, but my skin feels better after each use.

I do think it is a worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 upinspace on 7/13/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For the price, its a pretty decent mask. It smells nice and and dries in about 10 minutes or so. After that, you simply wash it off and your skin is noticeably softer.

Although my skin feels softer after, I haven't found it to clean my pores at all or make me feel any cleaner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JancyRimera on 7/9/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by JancyRimera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love using Freeman masks , and I've been eyeing this one for some time now [as well as the cucumber mask, though I purchased this one first ] , very good product , can't describe how happy I am that I bought this. I love how this leaves your skin very smooth (better than the peel mask) . I love the smell, and it's very easy to apply and take off!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lexierra on 7/8/2014 9:03:00 AM more reviews by lexierra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My t-zone used to get horrendously oily even after a little while after i've washed my face. Decided to give this a try and did it work wonders!

Pros
Really draws out oil and gunk, leaving a matte like complexion for at least 2 days
leaves skin feeling baby smooth
Seems to reduce pore size (esp on the nose)
smoothens out complexion
THE PRICE

cons
might have a stinging feeling

overall, something i really need to have stashed away all the time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jas444 on 6/28/2014 8:12:00 AM more reviews by jas444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this clay mask! It's so easy and fun to apply, it smells good and I love that it "purges" your pores, drawing all the bad stuff out! I use usually about 2-3 times a week. When I put it on I leave it for about 15 minutes and then wash it off with warm water, using a cotton wool ball to remove any excess. It makes my skin really smooth, evens out my complexion, minimises my pores and reduces redness! Seriously what's not to love??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Goldieloxx507 on 6/20/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by Goldieloxx507

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up at my local grocery store today. I wanted to try and clear up a few blemishes as well as the little ones under the skin on my forehead. I applied a thin layer and let it dry. It has a light green color and it is very smooth and easy to apply from the tube. It also dries much faster than Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque. HOWEVER and this is a BIG however, I think I was allergic to it. I only had a minor issue with it on ( I think it may have been too close to my eyes as they burned a little) but after I rinsed it off my jaw started to itch and I looked in the mirror, my entire face is red and blotchy. I washed it again just to get any residue off and I will either be throwing this out or giving it away. I'm glad it was less than 5 dollars. Stick with Mint Julep, its cheaper and works well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ruru107 on 6/14/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by ruru107

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mask to help reduce my sebaceous filaments on my nose and chin. I think it's working! It also smooths out wrinkles on my forehead and around my mouth, as well as reducing redness/evening out my skin tone. The mask feels very cool and refreshing. It took probably 20-30 minutes to dry fully. I would ignore the claims on the bottle that it moisturizes, because my skin is always a bit dry afterwards. But I just wait a few minutes and then apply some moisturizer. The one negative: the first few times I used it, my skin was very red when I washed the mask off. Thankfully I gave this mask more chances, because my skin has adjusted and I don't experience any more irritation. I haven't had any issues with stinging eyes like others have mentioned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Freeman products

More Masks products