Neostrata • Smoothing Lotion - AHA 10 • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.6(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Vanhusk on 9/21/2014 8:06:00 PM more reviews by Vanhusk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was recommended this product by my dermatologist to try to resolve my mild yet persistent hormonal acne issues without resorting to medication. The only other product to balance my skin out was the alpha beta peels from dr dennis gross but they are too expensive for me to use as a long-term solution. This product works as a chemical exfoliant and a light moisturiser in one. I use a very gentle cleanser in the morning to remove oils and my night cream and then apply this and pop my makeup on over the top. The results are wonderful, my skin went from combination to normal- I finally have clear skin! Which also means I spend less time and money on covering up and treating blemishes. The only thing to be careful of is that chemical exfoliants like this can leave your skin a bit more sensitive to UV rays so make sure you use appropriate sun protection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spatzer on 7/3/2014 9:08:00 PM more reviews by spatzer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I would absolutely buy this moisturizer again. I have sensitive dry skin and have tried so many products. This one works the best. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alison000 on 7/3/2014 5:33:00 AM more reviews by alison000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This line cleared my adult acne. For 4 years, I experimented with product after product - high-end, drug store, organic, all natural. Nothing worked (granted, oral Clindamycin did) and most products seemed to exacerbate my acne. Neostrata products are my miracles in a bottle. I use the antibacterial cleanser first and then apply a mixture of the Smoothing Lotion and Neostrata Bionic Lotion. Both my boyfriend and I are addicted to this line.
There is nothing fancy about this product - no fragrance, no pretty packaging. It has a runny consistency and needs to be massaged into skin. It's a mild exfoliator and can sting. I use it on a daily basis and it actually decreased my redness and sensitivity.
I should also note that I used the Bionic Lotion for two months before incorporating the Smoothing Lotion into my skincare routine.
Also, there is a huge difference between the Neostrata and Exuviance lines. I dislike every Exuviance product I bought or sampled. Obviously, I love Neostrata.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 selins on 5/25/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by selins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Ok I will keep this one short. I got this in 15. And this is the only thing clears blackheads with regular usage!! I have used masks, scrubs, biore strips.... Any sort of thing. Nothing helped or made a difference. Please trust me and go and try this already if you have pores and blackheads. I hope it made difference on your skin too like it did to me.
Only down side is packaging. It dispenses way too much. But product it self is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sara_1987 on 5/4/2014 4:18:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm starting to really like this product.
I have acne-prone skin, but it's mostly clear (I did 2 rounds of accutane a few years ago) - my main problems is large pores and some minor acne scars.

So I wanted to try this lotion to refine my skin structure and to help keep my pores clean and clear. I've been using this almost a month and am finally liking the results. The first week this product was nice, but then I started breaking out (just a little on my nose and cheeks, but enough to annoy me ;-)). I decided to stick with it and now, after 3 weeks of use, the breakout has cleared up and my skin looks nice.

Will continue to use - also for the anti-aging benefits.

I only use this at night though, because when I wake up in the morning my skin is very oily and shiny.

Update: I switched to Neostrata Oily Skin Solution and Neostrata Smoothing Cream 10AHA (I use either one of them, not both at the same time!) for nighttime use, because I felt the Smoothing Lotion was too greasy. I'm very happy with the results from the Skin Solution and the Smoothing Cream and would recommend them over the lotion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 genevieve9 on 5/2/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by genevieve9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This makes my skin so, so soft the next day after nighttime application. It stings a little, but if you start with level one, it should only tingle, and you can work your way up.

I don't love the packaging, because tubs are kind of unhygienic, but I like that I can scoop out every last drop. This was the first AHA cream I've tried and I can't imagine one working better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nikolis on 3/1/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by nikolis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have mixed to combination skin and i use this product twice daily after cleaning my face with avenue cleanse soap.i want to mention that i have no acne at all .i use this product for skin resurfacing.the bad thing that i noticed my skin turns red and i am afraid of post hyper pigmentation.i wear a 50+ sunscreen bcoz i live in greece and here the weather is sunny all day long.can u plz tell whether i should use this product or stop?bcoz my skin is a little red after using this product and i am afraid of post inflammatory hyper pigmentation.
ps.i have noticed great results on my skin,no pimples,no scars and my skin feels smoother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 m33m4 on 1/21/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by m33m4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This lotion is the greatest thing that's ever happened to my skin. I've dealt with adult acne from the ages of 19-25 (perfect skin in my teens, go figure) and this has helped so much. My skin type is; oily, acne prone, and very sensitive to certain foundations (especially that EVIL M.A.C studio fix line), however, I have no problem with glycolic acid. If you do have sensitive skin definitely do a patch test to make sure you don't irritate it! This lotion smooths, brightens, reduces breakouts ALOT and has significantly helped my scarring on my face (over a couple of months of use). Also, I had some leftover acne scars from some awful bacne I had when I was younger, which were bad enough that I never wanted to wear anything that showed my shoulders or back. These were lighter than the ones on my face, and this lotion single handedly eliminated them. I have medium brown/olive skin (m.a.c nc40, for reference) and my skin gets those very pigmented, dark, hard to rectify scars that a lot of darker toned girls get. So, if this can lighten MY scars that much, I can only imagine how wonderfully it would work for girls with lighter ones. I can't recommend this enough. The tingling/slight stinginess is minimal (obviously avoid broken skin, including popped pimples) and well worth the results. I really think everyone with problem skin...or just skin... should try this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 qaeng3 on 12/14/2013 7:05:00 AM more reviews by qaeng3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Pros:
1) good exfoliator, skin feels smooth after using
2)an exfoliator and moisturizer at the same time = killing 2 birds with a stone
3)reduce appearance of keratosis pilaris

cons:
1)smells like vinegar upon applying it. But it goes away after few minutes
2)hard to apply over the face and takes a long time to be absorbed
3)hard to pour out, always end up squeezing out more than the amount that i actually need
4)may sting / itch your face
5)makes my face oily and shiny

I think it will be better to be used on body instead of face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ziggysgal on 10/7/2013 6:54:00 AM more reviews by ziggysgal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use MUA frequently for researching products but this is my first review because I want people to know how this product changed my skin. I've suffered from moderate acne, persistently since my early teens up until recently - I'm now 24. I tried benzyl peroxide, salicylic acid, and topical and oral antibiotics, with very limited results. I was hoping my acne would resolve when I left my teens but this was wishful thinking. As a result, I have uneven skin colouring and texture from scarring.

This was my first trial of AHAs and this product has changed my skin. I now only get small pustules, generally hormone related. And I have more days without acne than with, whereas previously I had innumerable pimples everyday. I think it is slowly improving my discolouration also. My skin is so soft now. When I ran out of the first bottle, I stopped using it in my routine and my skin quickly went back to its previous condition.

I use a generous amount twice a day, but still this product lasts forever. I love the ultra smoothing lotion so much, and would encourage anyone who is suffering from moderate acne refractory to other treatment, to give this a go. It has a great price point too, for the results it achieves. I live in Australia and purchase it from Chemist Warehouse for about $40. I look forward to trying other products from the Neostrata range. Please give this a go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neostrata products

More Lotions/ Creams products