L'Occitane 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream

4.1

851 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract, Mel Extract/Honey Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Parfum/Fragrance, Polyacrylamide, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Ceteareth-33, Alcohol Denat, Laureth-7, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Linalool, Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Coumarin, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Gerional


on 3/21/2015 7:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I received a mini of this hand cream in a holiday trio gift set (it came with Rose and Honey also), and I've been slowly using it up since Christmas. As a hand cream, I'd say it's an average-performing, luxury product. I do not have particularly dry skin, nor do I have eczema or anything like that, but t does moisturize my hands (and elbows). To be honest I wouldn't pay more than $8 for a full-size version. I enjoy the signature L'Occitane scent but if I had a full-size I would definitely be sick of it. In terms of packaging, the metal tube is sleek and chic, but a flip-top lid would be nice because I have definitely dropped the cap several times. I'm glad I only have the mini, and I wouldn't repurchase. FWIW, I'm a cheapie and buy a lot of drugstore travel-size hand creams to throw in my bag -- they all work just fine.



on 2/23/2015 5:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love how moisturising and fast drying this hand cream is but I'm not a fan of the smell. I have tried a lot of L'occitane hand creams an this is my least favourite scent. I love the cherry blossom and the lavender versions (and the now discontinued violet and coco versions). I got a handbag size one of this at christmas with a gift box and have passed this to my husband. He gets a very dry flakey forehead as he rubs at it when he stressed or concentrating. This cream works wonders on his forehead skin. I would say it is very thick and not good to use on your face but if you have a problematic area with really dry flaky skin then a little bit of this should clear it up in one or two applications. I have also used it under my nose after a cold (when you got horrible dry, peeling skin from blowing your nose a lot) and this cleared it up in a day. Overall great product - just not for me scent wise but they do have a lot of varieties to chose from so I don't miss out.


on 2/19/2015 3:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

To be honest, after using this hand cream im starting to wonder why is loccitane hand cream so popular, i had their 10% hand cream and it was just okay. the rose one smells really nice, its thick but i feel like it doesnt leave a nice after use feeling. It feels okay, it absorbs well but nothing amazing. I can get really nice hand creams that work just as well and leave a smoother after-use thats less than 10$/little bottle :/

i have used the no smell one, it absorbs nice, but i dont notice any huge changes in my dry skin etc. 10$ per little tube and I can use that to get a larger and probably better hand ream


on 2/16/2015 10:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

As a nurse, I tend to have very dry hands and cuticles. I've heard great things about this brand's hand cream, was in the airport and saw these creams on sale. The tube will last 3-4 weeks with daily use. The smell is a nice, fresh scent, almost reminds me of baby wipes. The cream is semi moisturizing and better than their scented creams.The consistency isn't too thick, not greasy, and absorbs quick. Not the worse, but not the best.


on 2/12/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff and I have been using it for years.
It is a great moisturizing product which does not leave my hands sticky or excessively oily.


on 2/8/2015 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this. It's one of the best i've tried. I can't say there wouldn't be other good handcreams but my hands are super dry and skin often peels off. And i have a bad habit of rip the dry areas. So that's why i need a thick handcream. And this doesn't leave my hands creasy either. I recommend.


on 1/28/2015 3:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

In winter time, I always have cracked, red looking, dry hands. I wash my hands a lot. I've been reading great reviews for this product. Yesterday I tried the sample. It's really disappointing !! This product is not a miracle, an avarage hand cream ex. nivea. The strong awfull smell makes me sick, it lasts forever.


on 12/13/2014 2:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Like many reviewers are saying, I think it's a great cream but an expensive one. If you are looking to treat yourself, this is a good choice, but if you are on the market for a great cream on a budget, this is not for you.

The smell if soft and pretty, a baby-powder smell for grown-up. The texture is nourishing and thick, but not greasy and oily, It's best for people with really dry hands as it will be too rich for people with normal skin. I recommend this product but in the same time I think that most of the time, the price of this product is not -that- worth it.


on 12/11/2014 11:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is by far the best hand cream for me. I love the scent, it is rich but not greasy, and lasts longer than other hand creams I've used. I've gone through so many tubes of this, several of the small tubes a year in my purse, and a large one in the home. A little pricey, but worth it.


on 11/30/2014 4:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

All L'Occitane are cult classics for me. I love the shea butter hand cream! Easily my top 3 by them. For me, this brand is a brand of luxury and I love treating myself to their creams when I can.

This particular scent of cream was a gift, but I have boughten other hand cream by L'Occitane and the price is steep. To me, it's worth it. The packaging is alright. The tube is small and compact, but you have to make sure the screw is on tightly and are cordinated enough to close the tube with one hand while cream is on the other.

The scent is mildly, doesn't linger and is a lovely scent. It reminds me of baby powder/oil/lotion, one of my favourite scents. I can see it being too strong for some people, however.

Shea butter is one of the best ingredients for very dry skin. Therefore, this lotion is best when your hands are dry. If they aren't, the cream will feel "sticky". I notice that the cream is really helpful when my hands become raw or chapped, but annoying when they aren't - often I'd just wash it off. However, I find that when my hands are dry, a few uses of this cream helps to restore them, but it is met with a slight burn on raw skin (nothing new to me, every lotion I put on my cracked knucles causes this).

Overall, I would buy this cream but ONLY for the winter. It's expensive, but totally worth it. The scent is like a baby lotion scent, mild but can irritate some people. If you have terribly dry, chapped hands and need something to soothe them, buy this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top