Essie Lady Godiva

3.9

14 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2012 7:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've had this polish I know for over a year and I'm just now using it. Deep dark chocolate brown, 1st coat goes on streaky but the 2nd one is full color. It does tend to take a while to dry too. Great for the fall.



on 11/12/2009 7:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm one of those people who needs an almost-black vampy shade in every color - Lady Godiva is my go-to vampy brown. Lovely deep dark chocolate color in a blackened base with a glossy cream finish. The shade is so rich looking next to my fair skin. Lady Godiva does have subtle red tones to it but it's not an overly warm brown - it's balanced enough that a cool-tone loving girl like me can wear it with confidence. It's an utterly perfect shade for fall and winter. Three coats to complete opacity, wears beautifully. Would definitely repurchase and recommend this gorgeous vampy brown! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2009 3:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a really great deep, dark chocolate polish that has amazing staying power. It's a cream, no frost, two coats gives you a deep chocolate w/barely a reddish undertone. Huge thumbs up for lasting through a week of cold weather, hot baths, and soapy dishes!


on 5/6/2008 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the perfect shade of chocolate brown with just a hint of red. It does apply streaky and does require at least two coats, and three is ideal. But it looks good on short or long nails and with a good top coat looks glossy and rich.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2008 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nice chocolate shade, but nothing special. Application is slightly streaky and requires two to three coats.


on 12/27/2007 11:00:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect shade of milk chocolate. Although my tongue often opts for dark chocolate, it is this shade of milk chocolate that my nails crave. two coats eliminate all streakiness resulting in the perfect level of chocolate coverage. like most essie polishes, it takes about a weak of beatings before it starts to streak.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2007 9:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this colour but it is so streaky I almost gave up and took it off. I find the brush too small, and the only way I can get the colour even is to apply it in very thick coats, and then apply a rapid dry top coat so I don't have to wait forever for it to dry.


on 12/4/2006 5:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Lady Godiva is a very deep, luscious blackened brown creme. It does require 2 thick coats or 3 regular ones to even out properly, but it is worth it! It's very similar to Creative Nail Design's Fedora, except that Lady Godiva is a warmer, redder brown, and Fedora is a tad cooler and plummier.

Pics:NailsSwatch

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2006 1:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really prefer this shade over OPI Lincoln Park After Dark and ESSIE's Wicked. I really like the chocolate richness of this shade. Almost black, but better. Really a dark, espresso shade. I am very fair, and this actually looks better on my skin than the other two shades I mentioned, which have more of an eggplant, violet undertone.
Lady Godiva is brown with more of a neutral, (wearable) base. Very sophisticated looking , yet edgy. Beautiful for fall/winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2006 6:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely deep glossy brown with neutral undertones. Unfortunately, even though I love the color, the formula left some things to be desired. I agree with others that it went on streaks, and given dark polished need to be neat to look good, that was a problem for me. Also, I found it chipped almost instantly on my pedicure---looked terrible in less than 24 hours, something that doesn't happen to me with other brands like OPI, which can last on my toes unchipped for days. Won't repurchase any Essie shades with this experience.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
139 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Nail Polish
Nail Polish
215 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

53 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
Back to Top