Essie • Lady Godiva • Polishes

rated 3.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 10/13/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this polish I know for over a year and I'm just now using it. Deep dark chocolate brown, 1st coat goes on streaky but the 2nd one is full color. It does tend to take a while to dry too. Great for the fall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VVV on 11/12/2009 7:57:00 PM more reviews by VVV

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm one of those people who needs an almost-black vampy shade in every color - Lady Godiva is my go-to vampy brown. Lovely deep dark chocolate color in a blackened base with a glossy cream finish. The shade is so rich looking next to my fair skin. Lady Godiva does have subtle red tones to it but it's not an overly warm brown - it's balanced enough that a cool-tone loving girl like me can wear it with confidence. It's an utterly perfect shade for fall and winter. Three coats to complete opacity, wears beautifully. Would definitely repurchase and recommend this gorgeous vampy brown! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Twizler on 1/4/2009 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Twizler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a really great deep, dark chocolate polish that has amazing staying power. It's a cream, no frost, two coats gives you a deep chocolate w/barely a reddish undertone. Huge thumbs up for lasting through a week of cold weather, hot baths, and soapy dishes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lahgreen on 5/6/2008 1:43:00 PM more reviews by lahgreen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the perfect shade of chocolate brown with just a hint of red. It does apply streaky and does require at least two coats, and three is ideal. But it looks good on short or long nails and with a good top coat looks glossy and rich.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lindsey835 on 3/13/2008 3:52:00 PM more reviews by lindsey835

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice chocolate shade, but nothing special. Application is slightly streaky and requires two to three coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurencane on 12/27/2007 11:00:00 PM more reviews by laurencane

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect shade of milk chocolate. Although my tongue often opts for dark chocolate, it is this shade of milk chocolate that my nails crave. two coats eliminate all streakiness resulting in the perfect level of chocolate coverage. like most essie polishes, it takes about a weak of beatings before it starts to streak.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatW on 4/5/2007 9:39:00 PM more reviews by KatW

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this colour but it is so streaky I almost gave up and took it off. I find the brush too small, and the only way I can get the colour even is to apply it in very thick coats, and then apply a rapid dry top coat so I don't have to wait forever for it to dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 12/4/2006 5:27:00 PM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Lady Godiva is a very deep, luscious blackened brown creme. It does require 2 thick coats or 3 regular ones to even out properly, but it is worth it! It's very similar to Creative Nail Design's Fedora, except that Lady Godiva is a warmer, redder brown, and Fedora is a tad cooler and plummier.

Pics:NailsSwatch

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kevynaucoin on 12/3/2006 1:53:00 PM more reviews by kevynaucoin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really prefer this shade over OPI Lincoln Park After Dark and ESSIE's Wicked. I really like the chocolate richness of this shade. Almost black, but better. Really a dark, espresso shade. I am very fair, and this actually looks better on my skin than the other two shades I mentioned, which have more of an eggplant, violet undertone.
Lady Godiva is brown with more of a neutral, (wearable) base. Very sophisticated looking , yet edgy. Beautiful for fall/winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CWHF on 10/12/2006 6:28:00 PM more reviews by CWHF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely deep glossy brown with neutral undertones. Unfortunately, even though I love the color, the formula left some things to be desired. I agree with others that it went on streaks, and given dark polished need to be neat to look good, that was a problem for me. Also, I found it chipped almost instantly on my pedicure---looked terrible in less than 24 hours, something that doesn't happen to me with other brands like OPI, which can last on my toes unchipped for days. Won't repurchase any Essie shades with this experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products