Clinique • Facial Soap Mild • Cleansers

rated 3.0(252 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 gjohal on 3/8/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by gjohal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. It leaves my skin soo smooth! And takes my make up off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elizabethwright on 3/4/2014 1:18:00 PM more reviews by Elizabethwright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Though it's supposed to be mild, I find this cleanser incredibly drying. I have sensitive skin and thought for years that Clinique was the only brand that would keep it semi-contained, so when I decided to switch to Philosophy's Purity and Josie Maran Argan Oil rather than Clinique's Mild Cleanser and Daily Lotion, I was surprised to find that my skin got soooo much better. This cleanser was drying me out and the lotion was only doing surface work. I like the bar format but it's not worth the crappy effect it has on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GentleReader on 1/17/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by GentleReader

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm always surprised by the negative reviews of this product! This is the only cleanser that my picky, sensitive, dry, and acne-prone skin can tolerate. I use mineral oil to remove sunscreen and makeup, and this soap creates a pleasant, creamy lather that effectively removes all traces of the oil without leaving my skin dry and stripped. I've tried many so-called "gentle" cleansers including Purpose, Aveeno, and Cetaphil, all of which left me with either unsightly clogged pores or dry, flaky patches. This is the only cleanser I've found that deeply cleans without drying me out.

It is very reasonably priced--a $12 bar will last me 6 months easily with twice daily washing (and sometimes, I double-cleanse). One lippie off because it is not the most convenient product to carry around when traveling, and you do have to make sure not to allow water to pool in the bottom of the dish. But apart from those very minor gripes, this is my HG cleanser and I will repurchase again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 11/13/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love Clinique but this soap is way too drying for me combo skin. I use Dove sensitive skin bar soap and the sales girls said "oh no you can't use that on your face!" The clinique was way more harsh! Returned it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 33Lisa on 7/12/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by 33Lisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got 2 bars of this from a family friend who didn't want it. Used them both up (~ a year or so of twice daily cleansing I think). Worked decently enough as a cleanser (and didn't irritate my skin) and I liked the little blue dish that it came in. Didn't really help with acne. A little pricey though so wouldn't buy it for myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sertacturk on 5/17/2013 4:53:00 AM more reviews by sertacturk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

one of my must have. I like it. simple and workds great for my extra sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tdiamond on 5/10/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Tdiamond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a fan of bar soap usually because there are far more convenient cleansers out there. That said this stuff really makes my face feel clean without feeling like I used detergent. It gives a nice lather and removes every trace of my Merle Norman total finish foundation which is stubborn to remove. No breakouts no dry patches. I don't care for the packaging because the tray doesn't allow for water to drain so the soap sits in it. Clinique could do better with packaging and the price is steep for a simple bar of soap. Overall Iike this as a basic cleanser, but I like to use other products with it not the most efficient system.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madmargeS on 3/10/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by madmargeS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I originally tried this back in 2007. I liked it then, but ultimately stopped using it because the dish it came in didn't let the water drain away from the soap, leaving it really squishy and gunky on the bottom. I also seem to remember it made my cheeks a little dry. I've recently bought a new bar, and the dish has holes to allow water to drain away from the bar which is perfect. So, I've been using this twice a day and it works really well for me. I use L'Oreal's Hydrafresh toner after this, and the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel and my skin is smooth, comfortable and glowing. For a 5.2 oz. bar, the price is great because I can see this lasting for months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueyes14 on 11/26/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by blueyes14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I do like this face soap. I bought it around March of last year, and have used up about half, so i think the $12 price tag is justified by how long it lasts you. I usually go through a bottle of face wash in about 2-3 months, so i think this is a pretty cheap buy! I use it with the #2 clarifying lotion, and the DDMG (i find the DDML too oily). This can be slightly drying, but i find pretty much every wash drying if i dont use moisturizer! I use it in the morning, and My face is SUPER oily in the morning, and i use vaseline at night as my eye cream/lash grower/lip balm. This takes it off very easily with a creamy foam. The reason for a 4? if it even gets NEAR my eyes, when i rinse it gets in them, and it STINGS like a MOTHERF! i have CRIED before, because it hurts so bad! this is bad for me, since i need my face wash to be able to take off the leftover vaseline around my eyes and lashes. Thankfully, i have a bottle of Johnson's baby wash that i use for that purpose, but still. So i recommend it, and probably will repurchase when im a broke college girl, but watch out ladies!

UPDATE 12/10/12- i dont know why i said this was drying, it really is the best!! it leaves your face soft, and totally comfortable, but not oily like a cream cleanser can make it. i absolutely love this face wash now, only one thing-im about halfway done with it, and all of the sudden, only on the top, its bumpy. on the bottom, totally smooth, but on the top, bumpy. I dont really mind, but im just curious. Ive read a few reviews that said the same thing, but am not sure if its a bad thing or not...?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bernsie on 3/14/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

If you use this soap THROW IT OUT. This is the original soap formula from Clique's incarnation from 1966. The PH on this soap is extremely ALKALINE, just the opposite of what skin is (ACIDIC.) You'd be better off using something like Dove or a soap from Olay. These have ingredients in them which make them more condusive for modern facial cleansing. They don't have a PH which is destructive to the Acid Mantle of the skin and they have ingredients which help them to rinse quickly and leave no residue leftbehind.
This is the same for the stronger version for more oily skin. The formula is from 1966. Washing with Dawn Dish Washing Detergent with Olay Serum for softer hands would be better than this Clinique Soap. It should be discontinued!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products