Bond No.9 • New Haarlem • Fragrances

rated 3.6(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 5/3/2013 3:35:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of the best by Bond No. 9 and a must-have for a gourmand lover, I think, which I am. This is a warm creamy sweet golden gourmand coffee with flavored syrup -- and to me, it's more about the flavored syrup than the coffee itself. It's like sweetened coffee with cream and then a touch of golden syrup ... and maybe hazelnut syrup? .. and maybe vanilla syrup? ... and maybe caramel syrup?. I don't know what flavors have been added -- a few, it seems -- and the overall effect is just warm, sweet, and delicious.

It's a fairly light gourmand -- not thick, deep, dark, heavy, or resinous (Bond No. 9's I Love New York for All and So New York have darker coffee notes). Can be worn year-round perhaps, but it's really mostly a Fall-Winter fragrance. Reminds me a bit of Serge Lutens Jeux de Peau (although JdP is way more syrupy-sweet).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MeganHan on 4/15/2011 4:11:00 PM more reviews by MeganHan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my top 3 favorite perfumes of all time.. It smells amazing, and the scent just gets better throughout the day. It reminds me of the holidays.. smells very warm, almost reminds me of cinnamon and vanilla. I believe it may also be unisex, but it doesn't necessarily smell masculine.. It was the first Bond perfume I ever purchased and I continue to purchase it. All it takes is 1-2 sprays and you will be good for the entire day. It does not wear or fade off like other fragrances.. but at the same time is never overwhelming. Bond perfumes are expensive, but a little goes a long way.. My most current bottle of New Haarlem was purchased in December and I still haven't even put a dent in it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lemonlye on 8/28/2010 4:43:00 PM more reviews by lemonlye

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Yum! Delicious! Last time I was chatting with the proprietor of Knows Perfume in Seattle, I mentioned liking the smell of coffee but not always having luck with it in fragrances. She pivoted, pulled a sample of New Haarlem from her cupboards, and handed it to me. And from first sniff, it's pretty much been a "yum!" for me.

One time years ago, at Garden Botanika, I mixed my own perfume spray from their available fragrance oils. I used coffee, vanilla musk, and mint, and I think that was all. I was no pro at it, but I must say the resulting mix smelled pretty good. Well, New Haarlem smells like my early attempt done ten times better--that is, done right by professionals.

It's interesting to see that it's such a difficult scent for some people to wear. It's strong, yes--only takes a drop or two to keep me pleasantly scented for the majority of the day--but it's an approachable and comfy scent for me. Makes me think of a Saturday morning: coffee, brunch treats like pain au chocolat or cinnamon French toast, a hint of manliness like my husband's shaving cream and/or deodorant, even a suggestion of newspaper ink. It also puts me in mind of an airport concourse, in a good way: the coffee and food and new-magazine scents, along with the clean-and-cologne-doused travelers wandering through. In short, New Haarlem carries that mix of "cozy yet exciting" that I adore finding in a perfume. Smells great on me and would be fabulous on a man too. Keeper!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Deandra on 3/13/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by Deandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

New Haarlem is the only Bond gourmand I can find that doesn't add florals into the mix. As a result my boyfriend gave it the okay and vetoed Nuits de Noho, which has jasmine as a major player. With New Haarlem at first I worried that I smelled too much like pancakes covered in maple syrup with my morning coffee, or like a fancy Starbucks concoction. It's definitely a warm smell, probably more suitable for cold weather than hot weather, and definitely unisex. Amazing staying power. It lingers on your skin the next day. Bond reps advise layering Little Italy with it to brighten it up, which is a nice combination that cuts down the syrup factor, but if you don't want to buy Little Italy you can cheat with another orange fragrance you already own - a lot of people seem to have Jo Malone's Orange Blossom and I had good luck layering that - just do it sparingly. Bond No.9 Lists the notes for New Haarlem as Coffee, Vanilla, Patchouli. Basenotes.net identifies these notes: Top Notes: Lavender, Bergamot, Green Leaves: Middle Notes: Coffee, Cedarwood; Base Notes: Amber, Vanilla,Tonka. This is smoother, more wearable, and more predictable in the drydown than Angel, imho.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 10/7/2009 9:37:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely resinous, woody patchouli with coffee notes. As it dries, I get hints of vanilla and lavender, but those fade into dimension rather than presence and in the end it's a fantastic dry, foody scent that it just wonderful. It reminds me of Aomassai without the sweet candy-caramel notes. Others say this is definitely a men's scent, but I don't agree. It's not sweet, floral or fruity in any way, but that's it's strength. But it's not pretty or perfume-y either. This is more of a feeling described in scent and I love it for that. I wouldn't wear it to a job interview, though, as it's also avant garde enough to maybe put off straight-laced interviewers! I really wish it wasn't so expensive! May have to find a decant...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 idressyou on 9/30/2009 10:34:00 PM more reviews by idressyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

God this is a flashback in a bottle! This is my grandfather's radio station in 1974. It smells of stale ashtrays, office coffee, copy machines, album covers, warm turntables and cheap men's cologne on sweaty DJs. Seriously, it smells exactly the way I remember it. Would I wear this to smell good? No. Would I like to keep a sample around to whiff and take me back in time? Sure:)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 seaotter21 on 8/10/2009 3:30:00 PM more reviews by seaotter21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

New Haarlem definitly smells like a man's cologne, and if you also happen to like a chocolate, musky scent, then this may just be the fragrance for you. I've read the comparisons to Angel and while the notes are similar, to me these two fragrances smell nowhere near alike; Angel is more feminine and just smells nicer. Touted as a unisex fragrance, New Haarlem seems better suited for the guys, especially in the drydown of the scent. Again, I applaud any woman who can pull it off because I can't. I think Bond did an excellent job with New Haarlem but I gave it three lippies because it smelled masculine and it is expensive. On a man, I think New Haarlem would smell intriguing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Redmosaic on 6/27/2009 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Redmosaic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yum yum yum yum yum' I loved Angel and this to me way surpasses that incredible scent. This is to me, heaven: rich dark mocha with exotic hot spice, very strong and heavy and so rich it is on the verge of unbearable; not unlike painful sexual desire , sorry to be so graphic... If you like feminine florally girly scents ( which I like sometimes too) this is NOT for you. This has heft and weight and gloss and rich dripping honey spiciness, a bizarre scent like something from Morocco or Mexico or Africa. My number one. I bought the big bottle and have already used way too much, I want to save and savor it. Really intense, and not for the faint of heart.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karelin7 on 6/17/2009 10:10:00 AM more reviews by karelin7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Coffee--brewed, with lots of milk and sugar, then vanilla, and something else I can't name. After ten minutes on the skin it becomes a near exact replica of Serge Lutens's Ambre Sultan. Go figure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 coastfansocal on 6/2/2009 3:37:00 PM more reviews by coastfansocal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nasty, coffee, cinnamon and chocolate, only buy if you want to smell like a Cinnabon

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bond No.9 products

More Fragrances products