Sally Hansen • Nailgrowth Miracle Nail Polish • Polishes

rated 4.2(61 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MaureenAnn on 4/5/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by MaureenAnn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't used Sally Hansen products in years, but I do remember that the polishes really did strengthen my nails well. After years of going au naturelle, I decided to go back to painting my nails and wanted to stick with what I thought was best.
The application process was awful. I bought a sheer pinky shade thinking that it would hide any application goofs. Wrong! The brush picks up way too much polish and no matter how i tried, my nails ended up looking like a goopy, blotchy mess. I tried swiping the brush several times on the bottle neck, but it still dripped from the stem to the brush resulting in a messy overapplication every time.
Pity because the color was really pretty, but it was just too cumbersome to apply it well. I still end up having to repaint at least one nail out of 10 when changing color, I think I'm slowly mastering it.
Now, for the good points: It's definitely doing an excellent job of protecting my nails. They're so much stronger with this polish than when they're natural.
It's also very durable. I've gone an easy 4 days with no chips at all. A miracle for me.
I'm still going to be looking for a polish that's easier to apply, but I don't hate this stuff as much as I did in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 11/10/2012 10:12:00 AM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sally Hansen's Nailgrowth Miracle Nail Polish, in my opinion, is one of the worst formulas on the market. It's extremely thick, even after thinning - almost like painting with old paint! I had dragging and pulling issues and spots at the nail tip where the polish would not adhere because it was so thick. After two coats, I had a very uneven application that was thick in spots and gummed up in other spots (where I had gone over a section and the brush dragged and pulled as if the polish were drying as I was painting). The brush is equally as horrible. It's flat (which is a good thing) but the bristles are thicker than a normal nail brush, therefore, making it hard to fan and get a nice clean line at the cuticle. Drying time was very slow. I have tried this polish in two different colors (Blazing Sunset and Sweet Sunrise) and had the same problems with both, so it wasn't an issue of getting a bad bottle of polish. This line of Sally Hansen polish is very bad and I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SirenRose on 11/2/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by SirenRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These polishes are amazing. I started out with Divine Wine, noticed amazing nail growth and strength within two weeks, and used various CVS coupons to buy more shades.

I now have: Divine Wine (dark wine red), Forbidden Fudge (sparkly gold espresso), Natural Sienna (soft pearly brown), Honor (pale taupe mauve), Beautiful Berry (cranberry rose), Mighty Mauve (pale gold pink mauve), Precious Pearl (seashell gold), Bold Buff (pearly white pink), Innocent Nude (clear pearl nude), Wholesome Earth (shimmery gold reddish brown).

The Sally Hansen Nailgrowth polishes actually do make my nails grow faster. Now I just need to learn how to gently and lightly apply just one or two layers instead of four, so the polish stops trying to peel, dent, or spend hours drying. I'm learning! It's fun, and it also helps with my spasticity and fine motor control due to cerebral palsy and fibromyalgia.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 6/9/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

REVIEW ON POLISH

I really like these polishes! Granted I only own two so you can probably take this with a grain of salt.

I have the colors 130 Innocent Nude and 220 Honor. Innocent Nude is just as the name implies, a neutral nude color perfect for those who want that natural look. Honor is a light burgundy color that's almost metallic. It looks really great on all skintones and I'll be wearing it a ton this winter!

While others may not like the brush, I really like the wide, flat brush. The brush isn't what matters people, yes a nicer brush is nice but the polish itself is what really matters to me! The polish dries quickly and though it takes a few coats to get opaque, it looks really nice once it does dry and set!

I don't think it really helps my nails "grow" all that much but I do find my nails feel less weak and bendy when I have the polish on. So the formula must be doing something!

The color range isn't as great as those of Essie or OPI but if you are on the hunt for more neutral colors that aren't as loud, this is a great brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 knappjen on 6/6/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by knappjen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

(This is a review of the polish, not the serum...) This polish is way too thick, so it's nearly impossible to control the amount you apply, even when taking great care. And the brush design is terrible - it's flat, somewhat wide, and has uneven bristles so again, controlling where you apply the polish is nearly impossible. Polish ended up everywhere, and I had bubbles on nearly every nail. Terrible, terrible product and a complete waste of money. I'm going back to my favorite, Essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vaselisaaa on 3/17/2012 2:56:00 AM more reviews by Vaselisaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For this line I bought a sweet nude pink color. I cannot place the name because someone has borrowed it. :) The pink was a bit too light for my skin color which is a tan. Added with a shiny gloss it gave a feminine look, but it still had not matched my skin tone. I'm not sure if the "miracle" will work, because I've only had it today! The drying time was FOREVER. I could tell it was not dry because my nails were sticky when I slightly dabbed them at eachother. For a less gloss, about after 40 mins of drying, rub your finger vigorously over each nail. It smears microscopically, giving a matte look. c: So even tanner people are able to wear the lighter colors! I recommend a top coat 20 mins in, instead of waiting for it to dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 3/12/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in #240 Sweet Sunset and I LOVE it! It is a gorgeous medium-toned true pink and it goes on completely streak-free. It's opaque on the first coat and it dries to a high-gloss finish. I ended up doing two coats plus a topcoat and it looks like a professional manicure. I love it so much that I will be going back to look at the other colors. I do see some chipping but I put my hands through the wringer because I have two young children and a big dog so I use my hands constantly and I seem to spend a lot of time cleaning which is tough on my manicure. Overall I love this polish and highly recommend it! EDIT: Unfortunately this NP doesn't even last 2 days without peeling and chipping like crazy (even with 2 coats + a topcoat) so I took one lippie off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jann8 on 2/20/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by jann8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is absolutely the worst product. Nightmare to apply this thick, goopy mess. The most slowest drying polish. The brush picks up too much polish. Maybe because the consistency is like molasses. Waste of $$. Bought this in Natural Sienna-great color/crappy polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JosieTheDuck on 2/1/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by JosieTheDuck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is really nice, I can see that my nails grow really quicker with it. It dries quickly.Nice product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melavia on 1/10/2012 10:24:00 AM more reviews by Melavia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the clear treatment and recently added Forbidden Fudge into my collection of polishes.

The clear treatment absolutely transformed my nails. I was a life-long nail biter which means I have extremely short/brittle/soft/bendy/peeling nails. I have been using it for about four months as a base coat or wear it alone. My nails are so much stronger now and they really grow rather fast.

It keeps my polishes stay in put and does not peel off when wearing it by itself. Then the other day, I saw this line on sale at my local drugstores. There are really a lot of the lady-like colors but then Forbidden Fudge caught my eyes. It is a really rich chocolate color with sutble shimmers.

The wear so far is not bad though the tips tend to show signs of wear before most of my other polishes. The brush is the same as the Complete Salon line where the stick is flat and the bursh is really wide. I like the wide brush but the stick tends to pickup lots of polish and it can slide down during applications. I suppose you need to get use to the wide brush here.

I would love to see a better variety of colors for this line but the clear treatment by itself has totally sold me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products