Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Nail Polish

4.1

62 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Tosylamide/Formaldehyde Resin, Water, Isopropyl Alcohol, n-Butyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Triphenyl Phosphate, Acrylates Copolymer, Ethyl Tosylamide, Mercaptopropionic Acid Dimethiconol, Benzophenone-1, Dimethicone, Calcium Pantothenate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Soluble Collagen, Ascorbic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Keratin Amino Acid, Sodium Chloride, Violet 2.


on 5/26/2014 2:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As far as making your nails grow long, this product is amazing, HOWEVER, as my nails became longer they also started to become weaker and eventually all broke off... What is the point of growing your nails out long if they also become weaker as a result? BUT sally Hansen didnt completely dissapoint! I am currently using the advanced formula strengthener and it is amazing! My nails are growing as fast and are super strong!



on 4/5/2013 10:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I haven't used Sally Hansen products in years, but I do remember that the polishes really did strengthen my nails well. After years of going au naturelle, I decided to go back to painting my nails and wanted to stick with what I thought was best.
The application process was awful. I bought a sheer pinky shade thinking that it would hide any application goofs. Wrong! The brush picks up way too much polish and no matter how i tried, my nails ended up looking like a goopy, blotchy mess. I tried swiping the brush several times on the bottle neck, but it still dripped from the stem to the brush resulting in a messy overapplication every time.
Pity because the color was really pretty, but it was just too cumbersome to apply it well. I still end up having to repaint at least one nail out of 10 when changing color, I think I'm slowly mastering it.
Now, for the good points: It's definitely doing an excellent job of protecting my nails. They're so much stronger with this polish than when they're natural.
It's also very durable. I've gone an easy 4 days with no chips at all. A miracle for me.
I'm still going to be looking for a polish that's easier to apply, but I don't hate this stuff as much as I did in the beginning.


on 11/10/2012 10:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Sally Hansen's Nailgrowth Miracle Nail Polish, in my opinion, is one of the worst formulas on the market. It's extremely thick, even after thinning - almost like painting with old paint! I had dragging and pulling issues and spots at the nail tip where the polish would not adhere because it was so thick. After two coats, I had a very uneven application that was thick in spots and gummed up in other spots (where I had gone over a section and the brush dragged and pulled as if the polish were drying as I was painting). The brush is equally as horrible. It's flat (which is a good thing) but the bristles are thicker than a normal nail brush, therefore, making it hard to fan and get a nice clean line at the cuticle. Drying time was very slow. I have tried this polish in two different colors (Blazing Sunset and Sweet Sunrise) and had the same problems with both, so it wasn't an issue of getting a bad bottle of polish. This line of Sally Hansen polish is very bad and I would not recommend it to anyone.


on 11/2/2012 9:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

These polishes are amazing. I started out with Divine Wine, noticed amazing nail growth and strength within two weeks, and used various CVS coupons to buy more shades.

I now have: Divine Wine (dark wine red), Forbidden Fudge (sparkly gold espresso), Natural Sienna (soft pearly brown), Honor (pale taupe mauve), Beautiful Berry (cranberry rose), Mighty Mauve (pale gold pink mauve), Precious Pearl (seashell gold), Bold Buff (pearly white pink), Innocent Nude (clear pearl nude), Wholesome Earth (shimmery gold reddish brown).

The Sally Hansen Nailgrowth polishes actually do make my nails grow faster. Now I just need to learn how to gently and lightly apply just one or two layers instead of four, so the polish stops trying to peel, dent, or spend hours drying. I'm learning! It's fun, and it also helps with my spasticity and fine motor control due to cerebral palsy and fibromyalgia.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

REVIEW ON POLISH

I really like these polishes! Granted I only own two so you can probably take this with a grain of salt.

I have the colors 130 Innocent Nude and 220 Honor. Innocent Nude is just as the name implies, a neutral nude color perfect for those who want that natural look. Honor is a light burgundy color that's almost metallic. It looks really great on all skintones and I'll be wearing it a ton this winter!

While others may not like the brush, I really like the wide, flat brush. The brush isn't what matters people, yes a nicer brush is nice but the polish itself is what really matters to me! The polish dries quickly and though it takes a few coats to get opaque, it looks really nice once it does dry and set!

I don't think it really helps my nails "grow" all that much but I do find my nails feel less weak and bendy when I have the polish on. So the formula must be doing something!

The color range isn't as great as those of Essie or OPI but if you are on the hunt for more neutral colors that aren't as loud, this is a great brand.


on 6/6/2012 9:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

(This is a review of the polish, not the serum...) This polish is way too thick, so it's nearly impossible to control the amount you apply, even when taking great care. And the brush design is terrible - it's flat, somewhat wide, and has uneven bristles so again, controlling where you apply the polish is nearly impossible. Polish ended up everywhere, and I had bubbles on nearly every nail. Terrible, terrible product and a complete waste of money. I'm going back to my favorite, Essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2012 2:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For this line I bought a sweet nude pink color. I cannot place the name because someone has borrowed it. :) The pink was a bit too light for my skin color which is a tan. Added with a shiny gloss it gave a feminine look, but it still had not matched my skin tone. I'm not sure if the "miracle" will work, because I've only had it today! The drying time was FOREVER. I could tell it was not dry because my nails were sticky when I slightly dabbed them at eachother. For a less gloss, about after 40 mins of drying, rub your finger vigorously over each nail. It smears microscopically, giving a matte look. c: So even tanner people are able to wear the lighter colors! I recommend a top coat 20 mins in, instead of waiting for it to dry.


on 3/12/2012 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have this in #240 Sweet Sunset and I LOVE it! It is a gorgeous medium-toned true pink and it goes on completely streak-free. It's opaque on the first coat and it dries to a high-gloss finish. I ended up doing two coats plus a topcoat and it looks like a professional manicure. I love it so much that I will be going back to look at the other colors. I do see some chipping but I put my hands through the wringer because I have two young children and a big dog so I use my hands constantly and I seem to spend a lot of time cleaning which is tough on my manicure. Overall I love this polish and highly recommend it! EDIT: Unfortunately this NP doesn't even last 2 days without peeling and chipping like crazy (even with 2 coats + a topcoat) so I took one lippie off.


on 2/20/2012 11:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is absolutely the worst product. Nightmare to apply this thick, goopy mess. The most slowest drying polish. The brush picks up too much polish. Maybe because the consistency is like molasses. Waste of $$. Bought this in Natural Sienna-great color/crappy polish.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is really nice, I can see that my nails grow really quicker with it. It dries quickly.Nice product.




Back to Top