OPI • Black Onyx • Polishes

rated 4.1(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cocobinx on 5/31/2014 7:09:00 PM more reviews by cocobinx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Perfect opaque black. Good quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mwebba1 on 7/16/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by mwebba1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I finally got this after lusting after it since 2008! I started with Orly Liquid Vinyl (which is my baby) then I got Essie Licorice (also a beautiful black with an excellent formula. But I just had to get this. I love black nail polish! It is so classy on short manicured nails and toes. I was in Target late one night and this polish winked at me like it wanted to go home with me. I had to get it. I love this with 2 coats. This is not opaque in one coat like Orly. But it is a beautiful black with a wonderful formula and I love the prowide brush!!!! And the round OPI bottles are great too. Well done OPI!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kkets on 4/4/2013 5:56:00 AM more reviews by kkets

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've had a different experience with this colour as compared to other reviewers.

I simply adore this colour. It's such a true black and look extremely sophisticated on short manicured nails.

It does tend to chip but that has been my experience with all dark colours in the OPI range. Another reviewer suggested 2 layers of top coat - I might try this next time.

I usually get this colour professionally applied at the salon as it's a tricky colour to apply precisely - so I haven't personally noticed that it is too runny because I just let the professional at the salon do her thing.

I simply love the colour and I think the quality is good so I give this a 4 lipstick rating and I'll be using this colour again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Picon08 on 2/9/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Picon08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A completely mediocre product. I was expecting a lovely glossy, easy to apply polish - but this is runny and gloopy at the same time. You will need at least two coats to get a good coverage. I will not comment on lasting power as this can be affected by your base & top coat. I use it on my swatch sticks (for duochromes) so that it is not a waste and will not be buying another one when (and if) it does run out. Also the price is high for me (in New Zealand dollars) when I can get a Jordana polish that is better for much less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NightAtTheOpera on 2/9/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by NightAtTheOpera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I love OPI but this polish left a lot to be desired. I was constantly having to thin it out. And it wasn't the easiest to work with. It wasn't horrific but I'm sure you can find a different simple black cream for less that works better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ils13 on 12/26/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by ils13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very disappointed.

First of all, after purchase I opened the bottle at home only to find out that the brush already had some bristles sticking out! I expect that from Elf or Essence, not from OPI.

Lasting power: pathetic. I use it like any other of my polishes (clean nails, base coat, thin 1st layer, slightly thicker 2nd layer, top coat), but it chips on the second day already; every single time I wear it so it's no coincidence.

Consistency: very watery at first so it runs in your cuticles, but after having done 3 or 4 nails it gets thicker and thicker and it becomes very streaky, a nightmare to apply, as if I'm trying to do my nails with tar. To make it all even worse, the brush is a disaster too; it's very stiff and doesn't follow the shape of my nail!

This is my first and probably last OPI experience. I won't buy this again and I think I won't even use it again. I'll just get myself a 'cheap' Bourjois or Kiko polish again; they are way better, last 4 days and are easy to apply while it costs only half the price or even less.

The only pros of this one are the colour (very deep black, I love it) and the glossy finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 0TwistedRose0 on 5/22/2012 9:17:00 AM more reviews by 0TwistedRose0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Went on opaque in one coat for me but I wore 2 coats over my usual base coat. Black Onyx is an opaque, black creme polish with a lovely shiny finish. If I wasn't worried about chips, I'd probably skip a top coat. Unfortunately you will probably need one as I found that it chips very easily. I got chips after 3 days which I found a little unusual for an OPI colour. I'd probably get Rimmel's Black Cab next time. It has the same effect and consistency, it's a lot cheaper and it last a lot longer. Great for layering glittery polish over but I wouldn't buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zuleikadobson on 5/6/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by zuleikadobson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Difficult to apply - very thick. Color OK - a bit grey, sort of rubbery. Peeled off after 2 days of wear but I didn't apply basecoat so that might have helped.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oolm on 3/26/2012 1:59:00 AM more reviews by oolm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Terrible formula. Does not go on smoothly, and does not even itself out. Looks sticky like tar. I bought it as a base for my duochromes, but it's terrible even as that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beautyy on 3/13/2012 3:54:00 PM more reviews by Beautyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this on my nails right now. I just got a gel manicure with it. It's the purest, nicest black I've ever gotten. Usually when I get black it doesn't look like a true black & even tends to fade. This one really is a true black & its really pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products