Urban Decay • Asphyxia • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(164 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 2/2/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Asphyxia is a soft lavender eyeshadow with a slight blue duochrome. I didn't notice the blue at first, but if you hold up the shadow and tilt it back and forth, you can definitely see the light blue coming out. The color is gorgeous! It's a cooler shade, and it's more of a sheen than an intense shadow. I usually apply 2 layers of this to get the best color. The shadow itself is nice and smooth with no glitter, so those of you who shy away from Urban Decay because of their glitterbomb shadows can safely try this one out. I've been wearing this shadow for 12 hours now, and even after walking to and from campus 3 times today in 30+ mph winds, this hasn't faded or creased.
I wear this most often either alone as a lid color, or as a lid color with dark purple, grey, black, or blue liner. I don't like adding too many other shadows to my eyes when I wear this because it takes away from the duochrome effect. If I'm looking a little pale, this shade can wash me out slightly since it is such a soft purple. But 90% of the time, this is a very pretty shadow that I would highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sunnyhu on 5/30/2011 11:32:00 AM more reviews by sunnyhu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I got this in a swap and had to say I am kind of disappointed. Maybe it's my skin tone (NC 30), but the pigmentation isn't the best for UD. It's a bit too sheer against my skin. Also it's a pretty cold-toned color, so it doesn't look the best on me (I can usually pull cold-toned purple eyeshadows off, but not this one). Won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dibbun on 4/24/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by dibbun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The packaging, for $17 a pop, felt a little thin and flimsy to me, like if I dropped it (heaven forbid) the whole thing would just smash and there'd be no saving the eyeshadow. However, the color surprised me in a good way. I'd been waffling on this because of the cost, as I already have Milani's Wild Violets quad and, for the price, it's pretty comprehensive. I mean, how many purple shadows does anyone need (don't answer that)? But the duo tone had me curious, and I got this and Ecstacy. It's really pigmented and shows up light lavender and the blue shift is noticeable, pretty, and different. I didn't use this all over, but that's do able. Blended with Ecstacy and Gunmetal this was beautiful. Totally worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itscake4me on 3/23/2011 12:16:00 AM more reviews by itscake4me

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a really pretty light purple color. When I first saw a picture online, I thought it was more of a pastel, but this is much more pigmented than it looks. Very bright and bold, yet still really light...if that makes sense?
I line my eyes with it underneath the lower lash line and it really brightens the green in my eyes. I don't really care for this as an all over eye shadow, but I love to highlight the inner corners with it and it works great for blending with darker colors. In my personal opinion, it seems to have less glitter than most UD eye shadows, but I could be imagining that :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xomacgirl401 on 3/22/2011 12:51:00 AM more reviews by xomacgirl401

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't my favorite product ever, but it has it's uses. I love using it for a highlight to add a subtle color to neutrals that I wear to work. The purple hue is barely noticeable which is something I like, but under the right light you see it a little. I like it, and I would buy it again. For me, it's the perfect highlight because it's shimmery, but it adds a teeny tiny bit of color that makes the highlight just a little interesting. Not so great for actual eyeshadow, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkgreenpurple on 3/4/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by pinkgreenpurple

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is good! it has a lot of pretty blue undertones and the pigmentation is good. Blends easily, and looks good without a ton of other shadows or liner to go with it. Like all UD, it's expensive though and you could probably find a drugstore dupe. But if you're going for UD purples, I'd go with asphyxia, it's nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Apizzle on 3/1/2011 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Apizzle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have root beer brown colored eyes & fair/medium skin tone. This color looks GREAT with my eye color. However, now that I'm getting older I don't use this shade as much. I still love it though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 addictedreader on 2/6/2011 3:12:00 AM more reviews by addictedreader

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love/hate relationship! This is the most gorgeous duochrome lavender with a blue shift but it's very frustrating to work with. Be prepared to layer several layers to get the color to show up as a lid. It's easier as a highlighter or used over a pinkish shadow to give it some background without overwhelming the light lilac tint. Worth the effort to work with but I wish they'd make it more opaque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashley1227 on 1/7/2011 12:44:00 PM more reviews by ashley1227

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Asphyxia doesn’t do much for me. The color is so beautiful in the pan, but it has almost no pigmentation when applied. I like it better when applied with neutrals rather than by itself. Maybe I need to try it wet, I just expected better quality from UD.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olympialetantoli on 11/2/2010 3:40:00 PM more reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not for ME! Perhaps its my complextion or skin tone. I'm an NC30/NC35 and NC38 in the summer.

The texture isn't my favourite, it's not soft. As for the colour it is a grungy colour, i don't like the pigment. I thought the eyeshadow in the pan would be a duo-chrome. I found it was just acidic mauve and it took several applications to get the colour to show up. I prefer NARS Strada which is far more pigmented but can be worn in public. Asphyxia is more for raves and girls who spend their time out on the town. Not for other outtings.

I made my under eyes look darker as well, when normally my undereyes don't need too much concealer.

I won't buy it again since I don't see where I can wear it. I originally bought if for Halloween in 06 when I went as a fairy so it served it's purpose then but I have no uses for it now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products