Kenra • platinum silkening gloss • Styling Products

rated 4.2(66 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Blondemakeupaddict on 12/27/2013 12:09:00 AM more reviews by Blondemakeupaddict

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this product! It smells amazing and leaves my hair smooth, silky and shiny without leaving a nasty residue or making my hair look greasy. A+!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 5/27/2013 6:37:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I cant ever get enough of ANYTHING in the Kenra Platinum line (with the exception of the dry shampoo that i dont care for, and the hairspray that I have only used once, and thought was avarage). You will spend an arm and a leg on these products- I just shelled out over $300 at Ulta on 9 Kenra products last week- that will last me the rest of the year. This silkening gloss works so amazing. It smells so wonderful, and it lasts for hours. My hair feels so soft afterwards, it tames all of my fly aways and frizzies that I happen to have and just completes and finishes my look beautifully. I also love that everything in the platinum collection works well with one another, and does a good job complimenting each product. After I use ny kenra shampoo and conditioner, I towel dry and use my blow drying spray all over, apply a bit of straightening gel to the ends of my hair, and then i blow dry- in half the time it would normally take me. i section my hair, and use the thermal spray, flat iron the secion, apply a bit of the silkening gloss, go over it with the flat iron again- until i am done with each section. When I am finished, I use a touch more of the silkening gloss on any stray hairs, and on the ends of my hair to finish my look. I dont know many other lines that you can apply 4 different products without having weighed down and greasy hair. My hair is NEVER greasy after using my platinum line. EVER. In fact, some days in the winter i will go 3-4 days without washing my hair for extra moisture... and after a quick touch up with the flat iron, it looks just as good as it did on day one. I give it five lippies. Anyone who was not pleased with this product line has either ULTRA oily hair, or did not use then correctly... because I find them foolproof and very forgiving! And they are addicting with how well they work and how amazing they smell... worth every single expensive penny- hands down.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrittGlass32510 on 12/29/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by BrittGlass32510

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I can't say enough great things about Kenra in general. This is one of my must-have products. No matter what damage I do to my hair (bleaching, color removal, coloring, etc) this always seems to undo the damage and make my hair super soft and shiny. The packaging is appealing and also dispenses the perfect amount of product. Bonus: Can be used on skin as well to moisturize. Oh yeah, and it smells awesome too!! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DCookiemonster25 on 7/10/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by DCookiemonster25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I do not use much hair product, but this smells amazing, I find actually that it makes my hair more frizzy when i apply it though :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilylou40 on 2/25/2012 4:55:00 PM more reviews by lilylou40

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This silkening gloss was my introduction to the Kenra line and I really love their products. I have highlighted hair and, at times, it can get dull and dry looking so my stylist turned me on to this and I purchased the 2.2 oz bottle a couple of years ago. I use it once a week or so and a little bit goes a looong way. My hair is just below my sholuders and I only use a drop on the ends and am careful not to put it within a couple inches of my scalp because it will make my scalp oily if I apply it to the scalp area and my hair tends to be on the dryer side. I pump out maybe a dot the size of a quarter of a dime and then blow dry. The smell is a dream and somewhere between strawberries and cotton candy. As an added benefit this product makes my hands feel so soft and silky after I apply it to my hair. Just remember that a little goes a long way. I am still on my first bottle which I bought two years ago in April.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gc2011 on 2/9/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by gc2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This makes your home blow-dry look a lot more finished -

This is a styling gloss, and if you use too much, it will definately make your hair look oily. A small dot - maybe 1/4 of a dime size - works well for my long, layered, thick but fine and straight colored/highlighted hair. I get my hair mostly dry and put this on midway to the ends, which smooths, shines, and makes your 'do look "done".

As a reference : For daily styling, I use B&B's Styling Lotion (sprayed on towel-dried hair) and then a couple sprays of BigSexyHair Root Pump on the crown, in conjunction with this product. Then blow-dry.

I do agree that the cap comes off very easily, and one time I dropped this and the whole top broke off, which was disappointing to say the least. And the stuff isn't cheap. But if you can keep from breaking the bottle, it will last forever.

The scent is amazing. Beautiful packaging, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 1/25/2012 9:49:00 PM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this serum a couple days ago, & it's alright. I like Paul Mitchell's super skinny serum way better than this. This serum can make my hair greasy easily, & it's hard for my hair to get greasy. I like the smell of this serum. It smells like strawberries. It's very moisturizing, especially for the ends of my hair. I would use this from the middle of my hair to the ends, not at the top. I actually think it protects my hair from my flat iron. The bottle is very classy, but the cap falls off easily. I've probably dropped it a million times already, & I've only had it 2 days. It does kind of weigh my hair down, but I probably used too much of it. It's expensive, I got it for about $18. Overall, I've used better products, so I probably won't buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rubiez on 7/22/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Rubiez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used up one bottle of this and am on my second. I have really terrible over processed hair due to bleaching [from black to red to black to platinum blond xD] so I need to have a nice smoothing serum with me at all times.

It has a wonderful smell and it makes my unruly, dried out "hair" much much smoother. It isn't perfect but I haven't found one that can do better than this serum. It isn't greasy at all, it makes my hair feel more like hair than if I didn't use it haha

I LOVE IT. I'm planning on buying the professional size because I'll be using this for as long as they make them xD

edit: I realized that I love this product solely for the smell! I've found other asian brand hair products that only require one pump to make my hair silky smooth!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AdemLowell on 1/11/2011 5:55:00 PM more reviews by AdemLowell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

TERRIBLE. did everything but reduce frizz. i blow dried my hair after using this, there's just a multitude of static electricity in my hair i couldn't even run my fingers through my hair without having my hair still straight out after. will NEVER waste on money on this junk again. taking it back to Ulta for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SteamyCouture on 1/6/2011 10:03:00 PM more reviews by SteamyCouture

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the sampler 1oz for $9 at my Trade Secret a week ago. I'm really liking it so far. This silkening serum doesn't leave hands greasy at all, which is a big + for me because I hate having to wash my hands every time I put a new product in my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kenra products

More Styling Products products