Got 2 Be • Defiant - Define + Shine Pomade • Styling Products

rated 3.8(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ikhd on 11/9/2013 11:47:00 AM more reviews by ikhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Other hair products come and go, but I consistently repurchase this. I have fairly short, naturally curly (ugh) hair, which I dry using a diffuser. After shampooing, I use Got2B Kinkier--this is what I am using at this time, anyway. I then dry my hair, head upside down, lol.

I use the smallest amount of this pomade I can, just for the shine and control. It is gummy/sticky so I try to keep it to a minimum. Using the tips of my fingers I work through the ends and follow with a light spritz of hair spray.

It looks great all day, no frizzies even on rainy, humid days. This has a slight grapefruit smell, which could be the 'hook' for me, I looove the scent of grapefruit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Adeline92 on 9/7/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Adeline92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a shorter pixie cut and I use this mostly on my ends to create some shine and smooth out any pieces that need it. I would not recommend putting this all over your head as it is so shiny it might cause greasyness for people with short hair. However it smells AMAZING and I use a little bit between my thumb and forefinger on my sideburns and the wispy bits at the nape of my neck to smooth them and keep them going in the right direction. It doesn't really provide any texture or control other than the smoothing, so don't purchase if you are looking to spike your hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 red1217 on 3/24/2012 3:42:00 PM more reviews by red1217

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE this stuff! I have thinning dry hair with slight natural curl. It is now cut short and layered and meant to be tousled and spiky sort of similar to Jane Fonda or Sharon Osborne hairstyles. How do I achieve that kind of body with minimal work? I apply tiny bit of mousse at crown after I towel dry freshly shampooed hair (just a drop of conditioner used after shampoo). I also massage tiny drop of Moroccan Argnan oil on my palm and then through hair. I blow dry into basic shape/style and then rub just a dab of this pomade onto my fingertips which I then massage into roots of my hair and finish by rubbing finger tips all over ends. The pomade on the roots gives my fine hair the volume and lift I want. I can then tease crown or just use my fingers to pick out pieces and style all over. Then I use hairspray lightly to hold. The pomade gives plenty of shine and the little bit I use does not turn greasy. It also seems to disappear by next morning, so I can use it several days in a row since at my age oily hair is not an issue. Post menopausal women rarely have any problems with oily hair or skin. I have used other texture pastes and this one is best. Putting it on roots is key to success for volume and finishing on ends and pulling out pieces for effect give a gorgeous healthy vibrant look to my hair. If you use too much of this or any texture product, you will not get the effect you hope for. I use it for shine and volume and texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ArtGirl87 on 1/10/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by ArtGirl87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product! I'm currently growing out a buzz cut, and my hair has reached the dreaded puffball stage. While this pomade was utter crap for styling my straight, fine hair when it was in a pixie-type haircut (held nice at first, but within a couple hours I looked like a greaseball), it's been wonderful for taming the mad fuzziness of my hair now. I dampen my hair and distribute the product evenly all over, and the resulting style will last all day provided I don't touch my hair too much. Since my hair isn't long enough to lay flat, this pomade brings the ends of my strands into slick little spikes...cute! Plus, it has a nice, subtle orange scent that doesn't compete with my perfume. Overall, I'm just happy I no longer look like a walking q-tip! ;)

EDIT: Unfortunately, things were too good to be true. This pomade ruins the finish on my nail polish, making it gummy and textured. And yes, my nails were completely dry (I painted them a day ago). Because of this, I won't be buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smilekey on 9/19/2010 10:55:00 PM more reviews by smilekey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the way the holder for this is (: and i like the way it looks when i apply it . It smell's orangy to me . ahahaha . It looks really nice and i use it to volumize my hair . When i want a daring look i use this too :) ITS GOOD BUY IT

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* departureofskies on 9/5/2010 5:07:00 PM more reviews by departureofskies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is great. When I wear my hair down I pull it through the ends and my bangs to make my hair piecey. When I wear my hair up off my face I use it to smooth down the flyaways and it makes them stay down all day. It doesn't really have a smell, which I appreciate. It seems to make my hair look shinier as well. It was like $4 and it is going to last me forever. I highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYC22 on 8/15/2010 3:27:00 PM more reviews by NYC22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use this to control the broken hairs along my part and along my hairline. They had been getting increasingly difficult to control. I started to look like I had a bad case of static and some days I would get enough hairs standing up that I resembled Alfalfa from the Little Rascals. Anyhow, this product really did make a noticeable difference. It kept many of the hairs down and, when some did pop up, they just stood a little out of line as opposed to standing all the way up.


Here's how I use the pomade. I run my middle finger across the product (all you need is a little bit) and then rub my middle finger and thumb together in order to soften and distribute the product. I then press down the broken hairs/flyaways near the root with my middle finger and drag my finger down the length of the broken hair firmly. I repeat as necessary. For broken hairs that pop up in between where my part is at the hairline, I pinch the broken hairs and some "normal" hairs between my fingers and then drag my fingers downward, thus "glueing" the hairs together.


Broken hairs are very frustrating to me, and in this review I'd like to share alternative ways of controlling them that I have heard about. One is to take a dryer sheet and run it over your hair. This is more for static-y hair but it can work for broken hairs sometimes. I also heard that you can spray a toothbrush with hairspray and then brush the hairs down. I haven't tried this but it sounds like a good idea.



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jezlilolme on 3/6/2010 1:01:00 PM more reviews by jezlilolme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those, where has this been all my life products...i dont know how ive gone without it...you only need to use a tiny tiny bit..i just run my fingers across it..and apply it to smooth out flyaways and give my hair a silky, healthy, frizz free look...i straighten my hair and it gives it that shiney, super straight look..plus its great to seperate your bangs and give you that textured look for your bangs..i swear this stuff is going to last me ten years, cause you only need to use a tiny amount...its awsome!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mindlips on 7/24/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by mindlips

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had a pixie cut and needed a hair product that would boost the texture of my hair. Then came the defiant pomade. With the pomade, I had the options of changing my hairstyles, easily. I mean, if you have a bad hair day, what can you do? The smell of the product smells like a professional styling product. Gel can get sticky. Hairspray gets hard. This one? None. Plus it gives shine and a look of healthiness to the hair. The pomade is made for all hair types, I believe. Those with dry hair, pretend you don't have dry hair anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genalewis on 6/4/2009 11:31:00 AM more reviews by genalewis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE this stuff. I typically use pomade just to hold down the little flyaway hairs on my crown. With this product, you just need a teeny, tiny bit to do that. Most of the pomades I have used look very dull on the hair. This one is REALLY shiny. Because it shines so well, I also use a very small amount throughout the length of my hair and at the ends. It makes my hair really sleek, and it keeps my ends from looking wispy. It also gives me a bit more control so my hair isn't flying all over the place and stops static electricity. This is my favorite pomade. In my opinion, it is a must-have for other girls with long, fine hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Got 2 Be products

More Styling Products products