Clinique • Color Surge Eyeshadow in Sparkling Sage • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mallorywouldgo on 12/25/2012 11:19:00 PM more reviews by mallorywouldgo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this color. Its very pretty and light. I wear it to the beach, and even when going barefaced. I love the shimmer and light reflecting flecks in it, as well. The color is long lasting and doesn't crease a bit even without primer! I even dab this on my cheekbones and the corners of my eyes to tone down the pink of my face and add highlights. Its perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Radchickee on 6/10/2011 1:18:00 PM more reviews by Radchickee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This eyeshadow has a nice consistency and smoothness to it, but it's a tad too shimmery. In the package, I imagined the shimmer would be neutral or have a gold shimmer to it, but on the eyes, it appears more silvery. Not my most flattering shade, but the quality is pretty good if you like shimmer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blingbling07 on 6/22/2010 7:41:00 PM more reviews by Blingbling07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great shade of green if you really just want a light, very shimmery green that will reflect light and lighten up your eyes. It goes on really smooth, and stays for a long time. It is a rather neutral shade of green. Very pretty great for summer and spring!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maashi on 5/5/2010 4:14:00 AM more reviews by maashi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nice minty green colour, very shimmery, colour payoff is not fantastic (but I suppose if you want great colour, go to something like MAC?), however very buttery and smooth, great daytime colour. A bit of fallout.... same with the buttered bronze duo that I have, but still a reasonable and easy to work with shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cwinter on 5/4/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by cwinter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

received as part of a duo sample with vanilla. The vanilla is a little chalky and doesn't work as an all over lid color for me. The undertone is off. ( I have yellow based skintone). But I have tried it as eyeshadow powder base for lid area and it does help give even color to the shadows I apply over it.
The sage green I like better, nice light shimmer, nice application, long lasting. I like to use this light green as bit of a pop with a brown or taupe shade.
Over all I love clnique eyeshadows! The vanilla was the first time I was disappointed maybe because it's the first time I tried a matte?

the only reason I wouldn't repurchase is because I prefer pink, brown, plum or blue shades. But if you are looking for light green I would try sparkling sage.
3 for packaging because it is bulky and the silver cover gets finger prints all over it.

edit 07\15 like this now. by using a shimmer primer with the vanilla as all over lid color and sparkling sage only on lid. this is an easy look with pop. a little dark green liner and black mascara you an creat an awesome look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gorbe on 4/19/2010 1:01:00 PM more reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this color! It has a bit of a gold sheen to it, which is really pretty in the light. The green is a bit subdued, it is not loud or intense,s o it can be layered on and still look relatively subtle. This would look really nice with brown or green eyes, It hink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtycer on 5/22/2009 12:44:00 PM more reviews by mtycer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received this as part of a GWP and was really excited to try it, b/c I love Clinique Color Surge e/s. This is a shimmery mint green color.

PROS: Same lovely, smooth texture. Great pigmentation. Not glittery. W/TFSI, lasts all day (I haven't found ANY e/s that lasts on my oily lids w/o primer).

CONS: Doesn't look very good on me.

Overall, not a product I would buy again b/c I'm not too fond of greens. However, if you like greens, it is a lovely shadow worth giving a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yshah0621 on 3/16/2009 2:20:00 PM more reviews by yshah0621

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! I tried this, because my sister had a little sample trio from one of the cosmeticcompany outlet stores. it had this, spiced rum, and champagne (a GORGEOUS shimmery golden/vanilla). this really brings out my brown eyes and is great for daytime, or used wet for an evening smokey eyes look. goes on like butter, not too sparkly, just a healthy dose of understated shimmer, great lasting power.

highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maan84 on 2/6/2009 4:13:00 PM more reviews by maan84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a great green eye shadow. I am a sucker for green eye shadow. I have so many shades of green in my eye shadow collection. Sparkling Sage is one of my favorites. It is truly unique, that itself justified me buying yet another green eye shadow. It's a true sage color. It's shimmery but definitely not over-the-top.

I like to pair it with Stila Kajal Eye Liner in Aquamarine on the lower lash line and a darker green gel e/l on the upper lash line. I've been wearing Sparkling Sage the past couple of days. I like to wear it as an all over wash when I'm in a hurry and want an eye makeup that does not take many minutes applying. It's very flattering on my pale skin.

The quality is fantastic! So soft and smooth texture-wise which makes it very easy to apply. Staying power is awesome. My eye makeup looked just as good late in the evening after a long day at school as when I just applied it in the morning. I'm very impressed by its staying power. I should mention that I always use UDPP as e/s primer.

I would definitely repurchase this fantastic color! I'm going to wear it often. Such a beautiful shade of green.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaynne on 1/12/2009 7:20:00 PM more reviews by Jaynne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this colour too - I got this colour in a 6 piece e/s set in their Christmas 08 combo gift offering - a great deal that included a full size All about Eyes, a high impact mascara and a mini l/s in Twilight Nude - great colour. The palette packaging is really nice - all six shades in a what looks like a chrome Aero bar!



I had actually gone to get another Quick Eyes in Sunlit Palm, but saw this combo gift and the inclusion of this pale green e/s and figured it would work as a substitute until I went to buy the Sunlit Palm again (it's just that good). I like this e/s and the colour - not quite as much as Sunlit Palm as this e/s is much lighter than SP. However, on it's own right it's a beautiful colour that goes with my hazel/gold eyes. This whole e/s palette rocks, btw. 6 colours!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eye Shadow products