Neutrogena • Advanced Solutions Acne Therapy System • Skincare - Face

rated 3.5(144 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 guitarheroine91 on 4/22/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm giving this a three out of five because it does so what it says, which is clear acne. But, I ask you: what is the point of having no pimples if your face resembles snakeskin after a matter of days? I used this product for less than a week and it dried my combination skin out so badly I looked like I had excema. I've now switched to neutrogena extra gentle cleanser along with their sensitive skin daily moisturizer and their natural night cream to try and restore some moisture. My thoughts on this product are to use it once a week max in place of a moisturizing cleanser, and to only use the overnight cream as a spot treatment. The spf lotion is fine, nothing special and only spf 15. I love neutrogena products so I feel sad having to make a bad review about this one. But unless your face is an oil slick, do not use this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachelrue on 10/1/2013 10:50:00 PM more reviews by rachelrue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Good product. I only use the face wash and lotion parts of the system. I use other acne spot treatments. This product is not a miracle worker, I still get pimples. But I really like it because I feel like it gets my face very clean and the lotion has a light, fresh scent. I would recommend this to someone with mild acne or who gets a few pimples every now and then.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aviera93 on 10/1/2013 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Aviera93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have always struggled with breakouts ever since I entered my second year of university. It seemed like everything I used or taken eventually hit it's peak and stopped working. My acne is more little bumps than it is inflamed, so from far away you can't tell I have acne but being close up to people makes me super self conscious because you can see how bumpy and rough my skin looks. My mom suggested I stick with a line of products rather than bouncing back and fourth looking for a cure. I saw this at shoppers drug mart and it retailed for around 30 bucks give or take. The cleanser even though it says polishing, to me is creamy and lathers well. I don't get any form of exfoliating from it whatsoever. It is on the thick side, it's hard to squeeze out of the tube and rub in your hands. However, it cleans so nicely I can over look that. The overnight lotion is my favourite from this kit. Yes it is a little drying at first, but it significantly reduced the active blemishes I had in about 2 days. You can use this as a spot treatment under makeup during the day if you wish. It too is on the thick side, but a little amount goes a long way so no need to be squeezing out a handful. It can irritate if you don't properly moisturize the next morning, which is where the day lotion comes into play. It is a little heavily scented, almost florally. It's abit too strong for my liking, but the scent wears off quickly. It is moisturizing, but does leave me looking shiny. I much prefer my aveeno positively radiant. The consistency is runny for this day lotion, so be careful when squeezing the tube. Overall this is working well after I lost hope. It's also a huge plus that it is non comedogenic and oil free which is a MUST for acne prone gals. Love and will definately repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EmRose6 on 9/6/2013 12:35:00 AM more reviews by EmRose6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this stuff!! I have extremely pale, oily skin with heavy hyper-pigmentation around my chin and jawline. With a fluctuating birth control routine, my skin was going crazy around my chin and especially cystic acne on my jawline/underneath my jaw. I was shopping specifically for the Wal-Mart or Target off brand 3 Step System, and unfortunately both were sold out. I saw this for about five dollars more, so I paid around $20 for this. At first, I was so confused because I thought the 3 steps would include a wash, toner and lotion. This, however, contains the skin polishing cleanser, an acne control lotion and then a sunscreen. The cleanser has the strangest texture, it's almost like a lotion-y soapy goop. I do feel some exfoliants in this, but the "exfoliants" don't do anything for my skin. I'm used to St. Ives Apricot Scrub, so this felt like silk on my skin in comparison. It lathered really nicely, and it came in a very decent sized bottle. Next was the acne control lotion, which comes in a very small bottle. Granted you only need a small amount, but this bottle was even smaller than the bottle of sunscreen. I'd much rather have a bigger bottle of the acne control lotion than the sunscreen.. The lotion has a creamy almost gel like texture. It honestly feels like I am putting a mask on my face, it feels so tight when I move it around - and I am positive I completely have my face clear of any extra residue or excess lotion. It always feels so tight after the lotion dries, but when I wake up in the morning it feels normal. I did realize that this whole method took way less time and effort than my Equate version of Pro-Activ. It really made my skin so nice, even and smooth in less than a week!! I was a bit skeptical since I haven't had the best luck with Neutrogena products, but this is a winner and got my skin back to normal in a surprisingly short amount of time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zave00 on 7/22/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by Zave00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am 15 years old and I have been suffering from acne for about 2 years. I hated it. It's so inconvenient and I feel like people don't see me, only my acne. I decided to to try this product. In the past I had tried everything even proactive. It seemed like those products only worked for a little while then the breakouts came back. I have only used this product for 3 days and my acne is already noticeably better! It's amazing. When they say it works faster than proactive they aren't lying. I plan to continue the use if this product and see how it goes. My only complaint is that it is kind if drying. But I just use the oil-free lotion and I'm fine after that. I bought this product for around $20. That not bad at all since there are 3 products in the kit. Well so far so great. I will report back in a month and tell u how its going.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mommofone on 7/10/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Mommofone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff really works but oh my word is it drying! At first I had no problems with dryness and it was clearing up my face quite nicely. I love the skin polishing cleanser. It has a lovely scent to it and a nice soft lather. The acne control lotion is very thick and seems like it would moisturize. My favorite is the SPF lotion. It also has a light scent similar to the cleanser and it glides on smoothly and absorbs quickly. About a week in, I was feeling confident that this would be my go to system. It is very drying! My face all of a sudden broke out into rough, scaly patches, particularly around my nose and mouth. I took the advice of another reviewer and started using neutrogena's light night cream. That made a world of difference! I highly suggest doing this to avoid/treat the extreme dryness! Overall, this product is worth it but I would definitely use the night cream from the beginning to try to avoid the dryness!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LoWenz on 6/22/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by LoWenz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for 6-7 years now and I will never use anything else! I love the cleanser; it has small exfoliating granules, rinses clean with no residue, and leaves your skin feeling fresh. The night lotion is awesome for cleaning up acne and spots and I rarely have breakouts ever anymore. The day lotion is nice and light and is SPF 15. All around this system is great. I saw a huge reduction in breakouts as well as a pleasant improvement in the texture of my skin. The bottle design allows for easy retrieval of product and they can be cut near the end of the product life in order to extend the use a little longer. Will continue to repurchase as long as it is being sold. I purchase it for around $30 for all three products

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LDenise1 on 5/29/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by LDenise1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have had acne for almost 11 years and have tried nearly every product, whether it be prescription or OTC. This system has worked WONDERS. I didn't think that a drugstore acne system could clear up my skin but this actually works. When it says on the packaging that it works faster than Proactiv, they mean it. I actually feel that Proactiv didn't work for me at all.

I had random breakouts and blackheads at all times, but after applying this for about 2-3 days, I noticed major results. The face wash is exfoliating without being too abrasive. It leaves my skin feeling like cashmere--so nice!! I wasn't really a fan of the SPF lotion because I felt it was a little greasy, however, the acne lotion with benzoyl peroxide is really what does the trick. If I have a huge pimple, I just put a small dot right on top of the blemish before I go to bed, let it dry, and wake up in the morning with the pimple significantly smaller. After 2-3 days of applying the acne lotion before I go to bed the pimple is basically gone. It's awesome.

Because the cleanser and acne lotion can be drying, I use Neutrogena's oil free moisturizer in between washing my face and applying the acne lotion. This definitely helped with drying and is way less greasy than the lotion that comes in the kit.

If you're like me and have struggled with acne for the better part of your life, don't give up and try this system...it has really been my saving grace. Thanks Neutrogena!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pupylove94 on 5/19/2013 4:24:00 PM more reviews by pupylove94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Face wash: makes my face feel clean, fresh, and nice. Lotion: feels so tight that it would show your wrinkles if you move your face muscles even though I'm 19. It freaked me out lol A bit too dry for my skin. should apply the oil-free lotion if you don't want your skin to split. Overall, didn't clear the pimples or cause the scars to fade. Thinking of switching to Mario Badescu

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NdotM on 3/17/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by NdotM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a staple in my skin routine. I have oily, acne-prone skin that stays pretty clear as long as I stick to my skin routine. The kit typically costs about $20. You can sometimes find it on sale for $15 (open the box, sometimes Neutrogena has a $4 off coupon inside). Regardless, it's worth it. This product IS my skin routine: 1. Face Wash, 2. Astringent (sold separately), 3. Acne Control Lotion, 4. Oil-Free Lotion

I had tried EVERYTHING to keep my skin clear. It seemed that it was never going to leave my side until I tried this kit. It's amazing. The face wash is gentle and won't dry or irritate my skin with everyday use. The Acne Control Lotion does wonders (you only need a dime-size amount for your whole face). Once dried, the Oil-Free Lotion can be applied. I like that the oil-free lotion has SPF25 and doesn't leave that sticky, oily feeling once it dries. DO NOT SKIP THE OIL FREE LOTION. Without it, your skin will feel tight and dry.

TIP:I added Neutrogena's Clear Pore, Oil Controlling Astringent ($5) to the routine, which I diluted 50/50 with witch hazel to decrease the alcohol strength.

The packaging makes it easy to use. The bottles sit on the cap, so the product works it's way down the bottom for full use.

I use the kit once a day, everyday. A kit typically lasts me about 2-3 months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Skincare - Face products