Makeup Artist's Choice (MUAC) • TCA Peel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(211 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 very_pink on 11/20/2014 11:46:00 PM more reviews by very_pink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the MUAC TCA Peel in 30%. I've been getting monthly microdermabrasions for about 9 months and I use Vit A and C in my beauty routine. I performed a 70% glycolic peel on my skin a couple of weeks prior (and peeled a little from that).

First Peel:

Sunday: I diluted the TCA 30% solution with an equal amount of water to make it half the strength. I applied the solution with a fan brush all over my face and left it on for about 2 minutes then neutralised the peel with the neutralising solution that came with the peel. My face looked a little flushed but not red.

Monday and Tuesday: No peeling.

Wednesday: Peeling! I went out for lunch and when I got home I noticed I'd started peeling around my lips and chin.

Thursday and Friday: More peeling. I peeled in flakes, not sheets.

Saturday: A little peeling still but I could remove the loose flakes gently with a tweezer and went out Saturday night with no visible flakes.

Sunday: No more peeling. My skin was a lot smoother/softer and my pigmentation had faded. The peel improved my skin considerably more than 9 months of monthly ($180) microdermabrasions. I won't be getting those anymore (or at least not as frequently)!

I have always been pretty embarrassed about my skin. I have some PIH from the occasional breakout. I don't get pimples often but when I do they're awful and often leave me with PIH that takes ages to fade. Despite being overly cautious about the sun (to the point I need to take Vit D supplements because I'm Vit D deficient) I also have a lot of light freckling on my cheeks which makes my skin look tired and aged.

While my skin can still be improved, I am now much happier with its condition. Post-peel, my boyfriend of more than 2 years (who I live with) has finally seen me without makeup! Now I can wash my makeup off before bed and sleep with a clean face! :)

Second Peel:

About a week after my first peel, I decided to apply a stronger solution to my chin and upper lip. I have uneven skin tone around my chin from past pimples as well as pigmentation on my top lip. I applied the solution undiluted (30%). It frosted after about a couple of minutes and I washed it off with the neutraliser. My skin was quite red.

The next day, the areas which frosted the fastest had turned a brown colour. I wore makeup while outside the house (I found that my MAC pressed powder hid the flaking a lot more than my MAC liquid foundation). However, I kept my skin coated in moisturiser whenever I was at home.

On Day 3 the brown areas finally started to get a leathery feel and began peeling. As the old skin peeled off, I was left with new, light pink skin.

I'm now on Day 5 and I'm pretty much done peeling (just a few little flakes here and there). I'm still a little pink but my skin should continue to improve over the next week. The pigmentation and freckles on my top lip are still there but my chin looks better.

I will continue to do these peels when I can (i.e. when I don't have much on) and hope and expect that I will continue to see my skin improve with each peel.




5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Babsfree on 11/2/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by Babsfree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the 18% TCA peel from MUAC. I chose not to do the 5% or whatever was recommended to try first, I was in a "go big or go home" kind of mood and still am!
I did a swatch test of this on the side of my face kind of close to the ear so whatever happened wouldn't be seen by the public as long as my hair was down. I swatched it really good once, waited to recommended 5 mins per the instructions and the went over it again with more TCA and waited another 5 mins before neutralizing with baking soda and cool water. The spot has been red, then pink, slightly dry was going to turn brown and start peeling any day I think but tonight I did my entire face so that put a halt to the progress on the swatch. No burning, no stinging or anything like I was expecting from all the reviews I watched on YouTube and all the reviews I read online. But let me tell you, when you do your ENTIRE face, you get that burning feeling!!
I waited 2 days after my swatch test before doing my entire face, which tonight was the night I did my entire face. Let me tell all of you--IT FELT LIKE SATAN SNEEZED IN MY FACE!! The burning, omg, so painful! But I was brave, waited the 5 mins and went over the entire area again, so 2 coats of this 18% solution and waiting at 5 min intervals between each layer, then neutralizing. When this was on my face and started frosting (your skin will turn white, as if you have frosting on your face. I wasn't able to figure out what frosting meant until MUAC told me), it looked like I applied Calamine lotion all over my face, it was pink and white. After I neutralized my face was beet red and felt so dry. It felt so good to splash cool water on my face. I also did my back because I suffer from horrible bacne and bad hyperpigmentation scars from the acne but I didn't get the burning feeling like I did on my face, but it felt really itchy. It was hard for me to not scratch my back while I waited for the solution to do its thing, I also did 2 coats of this on my back as well.
I will come back in a week and update my progress. I feel like I can't rate this appropriately at this point but for now it's getting 3 lippies.
*UPDATE* 3 days after my peel: My lower facial area is peeling like crazy! It's very uncomfortable. It started to peel when I was eating dinner, I think the motion of opening my mouth is what made it crack and start to peel lol. I've tried everything to keep my skin moist and nothing is helping. Olive oil, coconut oil, Eucerin cream (the thick stuff in the jar) and nothing working to keep it moisturized! My skin is drinking up all the oils and lotion I put on it. Normally I'm pretty oily but not now. No peeling on my back at all, hopefully it works on my backne.
*UPDATE*, it's been about 9 days now and my face is completely done peeling, I've seen a little bit of results from the peel but not much but then again this is the first peel I've done with TCA & I know I have quite a few more to help with my acne pock marks. A small hyperpigmentation mark I had at the end of my eyebrow area turn really dark but once that area of skin peeled off, not more hyperpigmentation was there, it's completely gone! That's amazing to me! Unfortunately I also broke out after this peel, we're talking BIG, DEEP ONES! 2 on both sides of my nose and 2 on my chin and one on the back of my neck too. The 2 by my nose have finally gone away but the 2 on my chin have not and are still there, lurking to reveal their ugly heads at the worst possible moment, I'm sure of it.
As far as my back goes, no peeling at all, I even did a double layer of the 18% TCA solution. I'm a little bummed and angry about that but there's nothing I can do about that. The back of neck peeled really well but now I have a huge, deep pimple right smack in the middle of the back of my neck. My skin is oily as ever unfortunately so the dryness I experienced from this peel was short lived but the dryness was just too dry and uncomfortable for me. The thing about my breakouts I probably should have mentioned, they could be my fault because of the choice of moisturizer I used. I use Eucerin in the big tub, the really thick kind. It's probably not made for use on the face but this peel made my skin so uncomfortably dry that I needed something to relieve that feeling. I don't recommend using that thick Eucerin stuff for relief after this peel, try CeraVe in the tub, that stuff has never broke me out & it states it's non-comegenic.
I did some research on another peel called Jessner Peel and I'm going to be buying that from Amazon and the 30% TCA peel from MUAC and do either TCA or Jessner when my kids are on break for Thanksgiving so I won't have to go anywhere and can stay home away from society while I peel lol. I found the Jessner peel on Amazon for $30 and it comes with a face wash, the peel solution and moisturizer so I'm going to try to order from Amazon opposed to MUAC, I'm not saying anything negative about MUAC, they're great but it's nice to branch out. I'm keeping my rating the same for now, will update as needed. I'm really not happy about the fact that my back has not peeled at all though, that's a huge disappointment to me, considering the amount of bacne I have and severe scarring I have on my back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 8/28/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the 8% TCA peel. I chose the 8% because I didn't want a peel with a lot of downtime, and given my skin's history, I'd rather start low, go slow and take longer to get good results. I followed the instructions provided to the letter and the peel worked beautifully. I started with a one-layer peel for 5 minutes. My skin looked much brighter and smoother after just one use! I did have a lot of skin peeling, more so than the average 8% TCA user. I'm not surprised because my skin can get very sensitive--the lactic acid peels that are supposed to be the gentlest ended up causing very bad flaking and even some blistering in areas.

I repeated the TCA peel two weeks later, and actually frosted a little the second time around so I couldn't do more than one layer. Still loads of peeling but overall the 8% TCA is far gentler to my skin than many of MUAC's other acid peels! It has improved the hyperpigmentation on my nose and cheeks, and I think it's starting to work on the melasma on my lip.

I'm going to try a third TCA peel next week (or maybe the week after) and then give my skin a break for a few months. And given how much TCA makes my skin flake, I'm going to have to time the TCA peel so the heaviest flaking days (which for me are days 3-5 post-peel) will be on the days I'm off of work.

MUAC makes it very easy to do the peel. They provide detailed instructions and have excellent and fast customer service. I will stress that you need to follow the instructions EXACTLY as written--as tempting at is, resist the urge to make tweaks or follow random advice that you follow online. There is a lot of potential for TCA to do major damage, even at the weaker strengths, so don't do something that you may regret later! And you really need to do a patch test for this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 8/21/2014 1:17:00 AM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Right now I would give this a 3.5 but rounded up in hopes that my end results will be positive. I will update either way. Over the last year I have begun to experiment with various MUAC peels / products. On my face I have had positive experiences with mandelic, lactic, and glycolic but while problems have been reduced I feel more can be done. None of the aforemnetioned peels actually made me peel or had any lingering redness. As for the TCA 30% thank god for once I controlled my impulsivity and did not do this on my face. Instead I am trying it on my body where I had some acne scars and sunspots. This one did burn and I must have left it on too long for my skin about 4 minutes because my skin is red like a bad sunburn. I also didn't neutralize it in the end - just rinsed with water not sure how important this is but thinking perhaps it was! The peeling started the next day and my skin is so tender underneath. It looks horrible - if I had done this exact (flawed) procedure to my face and showed up for work I think they would send me to the hospital thinking I had a disease. I am curious to see, since this is the first peel that actually has made me peel, if I will have new and better skin revealed. Pain is beauty right? Or it could end up being worse than before. Time will tell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 addkg777 on 8/15/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

ive finished a whole bottle and im ready for this review. first off, everyone is right in saying this stuff will DESTROY your face if you dont use it properly. now saying that, there is nothing to be afraid of because this can work awesomly if you use it right and its not hard. i just dipped a clean qtip into the bottle and rubbed all over my face. sometimes id spot treat too. i left the acid on a clean face until i noticed it was starting to turn white or "frost" and then, i took a wash cloth and dipped it into my baking soda water and wiped my face. thats all there is too it. i didnt even cleanse afterwards. my skin was red after but completely even! no dents or scars visible. a few hours after, the redness subsided and the evenness remained. i adored the way my skin looked at this stage. it was my dream skin.
anyways, the next couple of days, my skin starting feeling taut and mask like almost and when you feel this, you know youre about to start peeling. for me, the peeling was never horrific.
all in all, this peel made me look radiant and the only reason i wont be repurchasing is after the peeling, my skin looked kind of the same.. the dents and large pores.
but maybe if you have raised scars and pigmentation, give it a try

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PinkFloyd06 on 8/6/2014 8:49:00 PM more reviews by PinkFloyd06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't say enough about how much this TCA Peel has helped my skin. This has become a life saver, and I am so grateful I found this product.

A little bit of background about me; I'm in my late 20's with very fair skinned, and I had very bad cystic acne breakouts from the age of 14-19ish. During that time I developed pretty severe acne scarring on my cheeks and jaw line. I have tried multiple treatments to alleviate this scarring: Microdermabrasion, Dermaroller, Glycolic Peels, topical creams, I even went with Laser treatments totaling over $5,000 trying to diminish the look of my acne scarring.

I had no luck with any of these procedures, and finally in a last chance effort thought I would try out TCA peels to use the TCA cross method (applying peel only to the scar itself, not the overall skin area). I started very slowly with the smallest concentration possible and didn't notice too much of a difference. However, I thought I have nothing else to lose and kept up with the peels gradually increasing the strength VERY slowly.

I have seen better results using this at home TCA peel than I have with any professional treatment that cost 10x the amount of what I paid. I still have a ways to go, but I would say my scars have improved about 70% in the year and a half I have been using these peels. I couldn't be more pleased!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PhxSteph on 7/17/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by PhxSteph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I did a 30% tca peel and thought I did enough research to do one by myself (yikes). This stuff really works! I'm a driver by trade so I'm always exposed to the sun, I didn't think anything of it until I saw the left side of my face looking old and my skin was looking dull. (I'm good about exfoilating but that wasn't cutting it anymore, so it was time to pull out the big guns) :) I did what any logical person would do and asked google, so when I came across tca peels on youtube. I thought okay why not, lets give this a shot.....go big or go home.
I finally got the courage to do the peel and man did my face take to the acid fast I only left it on for 45 seconds, neurtalized and washed.Within the hour I started browning I went through the motions as I was suppose oiling and trying different things to keep the face moist. My only thing was I didn't know about hydroquinone for hyper pigmentation and lo and behold that's what happened. I've worked through the process of ridding the hyperpigmentation as best as I could it about 80% gone(I'm considering a 4% hydroquinone, that I found I can purchas at mylashes4less) I'm a little scared of that. So I'm hoping with other peel and now more knowledgable this time around that I'd see better results with my pores and the hyperpigmentation.
My skin care regimen has change dramaticly I've discovered a whole new world....it's borderline ridiculous. Anyways I feel like both sides now match and my skin is definately refreshed. The skin is soft and polished I don't always have to wear base if I do its b/c I just feel like wearing a lot of makeup. I do follow up with Retin A which is just Awesome I know that really helped out with the healing process.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 7/12/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am leaving a TENTATIVE 4 overall lippies and a TENTATIVE yes to repurchase. I'll have to use longer and update.

My story...

SKIN: I'm 29, with overall "good skin" but sun and lifestyle-induced forehead lines and elevens that are certainly 5 years ahead of my biological age. I have stubborn pores on my chin, and on and around my nose. When I break out - from a product or hormones - it's usually on or around my chin. I am caucasian and relatively pale and have historically been very bad at protecting my skin from the sun. I'm still unsure if my skin is sensitive since I'm not totally clear on what sensitive means. :-/

TCA: 12.5%, first time user

OTHER MUAC PRODUCTS: gly-luronic acid serum; had used mandelic 25% once before the TCA (and now once again since)

GENERAL SKIN CARE: rotate face washes, between organic, drugstore, korean products from ebay; often use a konjac sponge or scrubber similar to the Forneo Luna in texture. Regular user of bentonite or green clay or olive clay masks. tea tree oil for zits. Rosewater toner. Moisturize with a PURE aloe vera product that also contains tea tree, witch hazel, and another E.O.

EXPERIENCE: I was surprised to experience minor sensation and minor peeling. I was a bit freaked out by the detailed instructions and worried I'd really screw this up, but all signs point to me NOT screwing up, yay! Since the peel I noticed decreased pore size, but that's about it. (and I screwed that up applying st Tropez tanner to my face - MASSIVE breakout - you've been warned!). I have so far found the mandelic acid to be more effective for immediate results/toning/brightening. I will keep up with the TCA on schedule, though. I leave a repurchase YES to signal that I've had no bad experiences with the product, even by starting at a higher-than-lowest concentration.

I will update.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vegasgirl on 5/20/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by vegasgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't buy from makeup artist choice possibly TCA peel from another seller I am simply reviewing on the peel itself. I had moderately severe acne . I am left with severe scars I use the TCA peel about 3 times now and I always get wonderful results the only thing that really broke me out badly was using neosporin* as a post peel treatment. ever since I stopped doing that . I have never had a problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mishamaria on 4/3/2014 8:07:00 PM more reviews by mishamaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Skin Completion: Medium to dark brown with yellow undertone
Skin Issues: Sun Freckles, and hyperpigmentation

MUAC TCA peel 15% I did this peel for the maximum time. This peel barely penetrated my skin. My skin did not react. I did it again the following day ( YOUR NOT SUPPOSE TO DO THIS, FOLLOW DIRECTIONS). I applied a total of 4 layers.

2nd day: My skin was very tight I thought I over processed my skin. I applied the Neosporen,and BellEvolve Advanced Repair Cream.

3rd day: Minimun peeling around my mouth

4th day: More peeling around mouth.

5th day: cheeks begin to peel, skin around my mouth skin peeled

6th-8th: all skin peeling (forehead, cheeks, and mouth)

The 9th day: I used my MIA face cleaner to get the access skin off (not suppose to do)

Results: A much brighter skin tone, skin was less oily. I will do this peel again in May when Im out of school.

Only reason why I said I wouldn't buy this peel again is because I will purchase a stronger percentage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Makeup Artist's Choice (MUAC) products

More Treatments (Face) products