Hermes Poivre Samarcande (Hermessence series)

3.6

36 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/29/2013 2:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Another offspring of Ellena's fave, Eau d'Hermes, this is a peppery animalic with some citrus. When I say animalic, here I mean sweaty, but not in quite the salacious way Eau d'Hermes is sweaty. This is more like a sweaty fat guy. In fact, imagine a sweaty fat guy coated in black pepper, but he started the day by putting on a citrusy after-shave. Still, I find it compelling--and I don't find sweaty fat guys compelling, but the sweaty fat note is a no go for me at this price. If it were significantly less costly I'd buy and wear it sparingly.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 10/20/2010 4:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Smells like aftershave from the 80's (but high-quality aftershave). All the Hermessences have been just a little "off" to me.


on 9/11/2010 11:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

All I could think of is the body odour effect of cumin. Pretty sad considering how much I love the unadulterated pepper scent without the cumin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2010 12:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Poivre Samarcande to me is neither pleasant nor unpleasant. My skin definitely amplified the cumin note so to me, it's a spicy blend of black pepper, cumin, and woods. The scent itself is quite pleasant to me however, the hot, dry feeling of spices almost gives my nose a singed feeling. Or, it may also be because even after dousing myself, I'm only catching the scent here and there - heavy hitter notes but in a very light formulation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2009 10:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Peppery cedarwood. Almost a cumin feel in the chili, but mostly peppery cedar. Very eh. Nothing much. I guess I'm lucky the cumin didn't attack me. The peppery wood is nice, but very forgettable on me.


on 2/13/2009 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To me, this is sex in a bottle. It must be the cumin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

To me Poivre Samarcande is dry, peppery, chili flavored, heat roasted wood, sun beating down, solar bleached bones, dying of thirst in the desert perfection.



Of all the things that people seem to associate with Poivre Samarcande, to me it's a picture of all the hottest, driest, brightest places in the world. It's burning sandstone in New Mexico or Arizona, it's the ruins of an old mosque in a desert battered fortress. It's blinking sand out of your eyes, and the last, less-than-fresh sip of warm, gritty water.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the finest scents I've ever sampled. I've been looking for something like this for a very long time but never dreamed that I'd find it here.

My review on Poivre Samarkande is nothing like the other reviews here. I get a completely different feel for the scent.

On me, Poivre Samarkande smells of fine quality leather. Usually, leather scents, to my nose, don't smell like leather to me. This does.

Leather and fresh, dry hay is what I get and wearing Poivre Samarkande for me is like being at the stable of a thoroughbred horse farm.
I can't get enough of it. I find it appropriate for day or night, male or female and during any season.
Love it!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2007 12:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oooooo! NICE! This is the pepper I've been looking for. It's not Caron's Clove-dominant Poivre, nor does it have the waxy vinegar-note that goes slightly awry in L'Artisan's Poivre Piquant (if that makes sense...I still like it, just the same.) This is a lemony pepper with a nice woodsy base, and a wee hint of musk that is barely noticeable. It also has a sharp cleanness that I really like... almost like a Mediterranean version of Zagorsk. This may very well be the first pepper (not counting Poivre) that I would buy in decant.

The one drawback: it doesn't last very long on my skin. Then again, my skin ignores anything that isn't musk or smoke.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2007 1:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I tried this at the request of my Sweetheart and liked it...okay. I bought it as part of a set of 4 Hermessences which also contained my beloved Ambre Narguile. Oddly, I have found myself reaching for it on those days when nothing else seems right...days too warm for winter fragrances, too cool for summer fragrances. It is wonderful for those transitional days, subtle and refined. Elegant.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top