Hermes • Poivre Samarcande (Hermessence series) • Fragrances

rated 3.6(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karelin7 on 1/29/2013 2:48:00 AM more reviews by karelin7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Another offspring of Ellena's fave, Eau d'Hermes, this is a peppery animalic with some citrus. When I say animalic, here I mean sweaty, but not in quite the salacious way Eau d'Hermes is sweaty. This is more like a sweaty fat guy. In fact, imagine a sweaty fat guy coated in black pepper, but he started the day by putting on a citrusy after-shave. Still, I find it compelling--and I don't find sweaty fat guys compelling, but the sweaty fat note is a no go for me at this price. If it were significantly less costly I'd buy and wear it sparingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 10/20/2010 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Smells like aftershave from the 80's (but high-quality aftershave). All the Hermessences have been just a little "off" to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 qoo77 on 9/11/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by qoo77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

All I could think of is the body odour effect of cumin. Pretty sad considering how much I love the unadulterated pepper scent without the cumin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dagney on 2/5/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Dagney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Poivre Samarcande to me is neither pleasant nor unpleasant. My skin definitely amplified the cumin note so to me, it's a spicy blend of black pepper, cumin, and woods. The scent itself is quite pleasant to me however, the hot, dry feeling of spices almost gives my nose a singed feeling. Or, it may also be because even after dousing myself, I'm only catching the scent here and there - heavy hitter notes but in a very light formulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 4/12/2009 10:28:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Peppery cedarwood. Almost a cumin feel in the chili, but mostly peppery cedar. Very eh. Nothing much. I guess I'm lucky the cumin didn't attack me. The peppery wood is nice, but very forgettable on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lrueger on 2/13/2009 2:47:00 PM more reviews by lrueger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

To me, this is sex in a bottle. It must be the cumin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 5/19/2008 7:35:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

To me Poivre Samarcande is dry, peppery, chili flavored, heat roasted wood, sun beating down, solar bleached bones, dying of thirst in the desert perfection.



Of all the things that people seem to associate with Poivre Samarcande, to me it's a picture of all the hottest, driest, brightest places in the world. It's burning sandstone in New Mexico or Arizona, it's the ruins of an old mosque in a desert battered fortress. It's blinking sand out of your eyes, and the last, less-than-fresh sip of warm, gritty water.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CathyEarnshaw on 2/7/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by CathyEarnshaw

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the finest scents I've ever sampled. I've been looking for something like this for a very long time but never dreamed that I'd find it here.

My review on Poivre Samarkande is nothing like the other reviews here. I get a completely different feel for the scent.

On me, Poivre Samarkande smells of fine quality leather. Usually, leather scents, to my nose, don't smell like leather to me. This does.

Leather and fresh, dry hay is what I get and wearing Poivre Samarkande for me is like being at the stable of a thoroughbred horse farm.
I can't get enough of it. I find it appropriate for day or night, male or female and during any season.
Love it!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* themeglet on 11/4/2007 12:05:00 AM more reviews by themeglet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Oooooo! NICE! This is the pepper I've been looking for. It's not Caron's Clove-dominant Poivre, nor does it have the waxy vinegar-note that goes slightly awry in L'Artisan's Poivre Piquant (if that makes sense...I still like it, just the same.) This is a lemony pepper with a nice woodsy base, and a wee hint of musk that is barely noticeable. It also has a sharp cleanness that I really like... almost like a Mediterranean version of Zagorsk. This may very well be the first pepper (not counting Poivre) that I would buy in decant.

The one drawback: it doesn't last very long on my skin. Then again, my skin ignores anything that isn't musk or smoke.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellenf on 10/30/2007 1:13:00 PM more reviews by ellenf

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried this at the request of my Sweetheart and liked it...okay. I bought it as part of a set of 4 Hermessences which also contained my beloved Ambre Narguile. Oddly, I have found myself reaching for it on those days when nothing else seems right...days too warm for winter fragrances, too cool for summer fragrances. It is wonderful for those transitional days, subtle and refined. Elegant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products