Hermes • Vetiver Tonka (Hermesessence series) • Fragrances

rated 3.6(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 5/9/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

'With its caramel, praline and blonde tobacco notes, tonka bean draped vetiver in softness and gave its woody notes a mellow roundness," says Jean-Claude Ellena on the Hermes website. Given his fondness for transparency, I guess at least for some of us this is a delectable vetiver gourmand probably enjoying the sophistication of more than one genre.

On my skin, however, it is a light, subtle and very wearable vetiver without hazelnut or other impressions. I like the fragrance but I'm kind of disappointed that I don't get any caramel or praline. If I spritz more, I can smell something akin to roast hazelnuts - though it reminds me of licorice, too. In either case, the scent dries and becomes a subtle vetiver again. I like it a lot but I don't love it enough to stray from beautiful Dzongkha, which is darker, deeper and more complex on my skin.

I had a 4ml sample of Vetiver Tonka which I have gifted to a male colleague of mine and it reveals more notes on him - delectable really.

Vetiver Tonka has very good lasting power on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bookwyrmsmith on 5/30/2011 2:57:00 PM more reviews by bookwyrmsmith

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Trying in a sample pass ,Vetiver Tonka is a lovely fresh unisex scent.
On my skin it smells like it should be from another House.Specifically :Prada.
Vetiver Tonka smells as if it were a mix of Prada Prada(approximately 1/3)and Prada Infusion D'Iris(2/3).
I would definitely like a bottle ,but it would be slightly redundant (and a expensive indulgence)as I already own the other two.I will be on the lookout for a good deal on it later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whitecountess on 8/10/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Another Jean Claude Ellena triumph!
Vetiver Tonka is one of my favorites this season.
Nutty, warm, sweet, and almost edible without ever crossing the line over to food-y scents. A man or a woman could wear this and be perceived as gorgeous smelling.
This one really attracts and wears closely on the skin. A treat for you and someone who loves you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 3/13/2010 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A wonderful scent, but hard to describe. My husband, who also loves it, said, "It smells like a little bit of everything, but not too much of anything." There is vetiver, there's a nutty quality, and it gets sweeter as it dries down, but is never too sweet. Very wearable, yet distinctive
EDIT: I had to take this down a notch. The nuttiness in the drydown gets to me eventually and makes me a little queasy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 3/4/2010 10:33:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This review is based on a small decant of Vetiver Tonka.
I've been slowly working my way through the Hermessences, and I haven't found one that I don't like yet.



Vetiver Tonka is a mostly dry, smoky, grassy/hay-like composition made creamy with the addition of a great tonka bean note. It's sweeter than other Jean Claude Ellena/Hermes fragrances like Poivre Samarcande and Terre d'Hermes, but not sweet enough that it's feminine. I find Vetiver Tonka quite firmly unisex. There is a nutty, rich undertone, and a slightly fruit-like suggestion which, along with the tonka, you might think could give a gourmand feel to this fragrance, but it's balanced out by smoky hay and vetiver, so that it's really more of a smoky creamy green than it is a gourmand. It has depth and richness, without becoming heavy - I think this is a fragrance that you could wear all year long if you were so inclined.



Vetiver Tonka has an unusual aspect to it, while still staying familiar and universally appealing enough to make it very wearable. It's a flexible scent that will adapt well to most situations. It wouldn't be out of place at work, relaxing at home, on a date, or even at a more formal occasion.



As Vetiver Tonka develops, the light citrus of the opening quickly fades, and over time the base notes become more apparent, eventually, in the dry-down the vetiver drifts away leaving a soft creamy sweet skin scent. The lasting time is moderate, maybe about 5 hours on my skin. I think for more lasting power you could apply a little more heavily, and it would be unlikely to be overpowering provided that you wait 5 minutes before going out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dagney on 2/8/2010 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Dagney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice. Vetiver Tonka is a complex blend of sweet and dry notes. I smell green grass and sweet neroli over a light vetiver base. Truly unisex - I really like the sweet grassy notes but my DH said he would prefer to buy this for himself. As other reviewers have said both warm and cool at the same time so I think Vetiver Tonka can be worn during any type of weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ekma2008 on 12/17/2009 8:15:00 AM more reviews by ekma2008

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A definitely full bottle worth. When my husband uses it I cant stop sniffing. And it is rather good on me too. Mostly smell vetiver, nuts and dark chocolate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zazie33 on 7/22/2009 5:25:00 AM more reviews by zazie33

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Vetiver Tonka is a deliciously gourmand Vetiver scent, very different from the classic, clean and rather masculine vetiver colognes that we are used to know.


Official notes: vetiver, neroli, bergamot, grilled hazelnut, dry fruit, cereal notes and tonka bean.


Vetiver Tonka is all about the amplification of the natural nutty facets of vetiver: the grilled hazelnut and cereal notes are deliciously prominent and enlaced with the juicy greenery of vetiver. This is the heart of the fragrance, and it is very much there from the beginning through the end: the opening is sparkled with the hesperidic notes of bergamot and neroli ( that feel juicy and “round”: they are not harsh in the least) , while the dry-down is warmed by a delicate tonka bean, lending chocolate-vanillic undertones to the composition. Sometimes I perceive a faint smoky facet, sometimes I don’t.

Vetiver Tonka is foody and gourmand, in a non-conventional way.

It is sweet but not particularly so: it is very refined and smooth.
From the notes and description it may sound quite heavy and more of a winter scent: but in fact it is airy and luminous, and can be worn all year round. Good lasting power.
Me and my husband both wear it with joy, so I would say it is perfectly unisex. A bit pricey, though.
It is quite a unique scent: I think is worth a try - even if you think you don’t like vetiver…

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flipmode1505 on 4/10/2009 11:05:00 PM more reviews by flipmode1505

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

haven' t bought it yet, smelt it for the first time today and I am in love! Have always been a foody/fruity scent girl but have been trying to expand and appreciate other scents. Have never liked green scents until I smelled this one! I was pleasantly shocked- it is divine- the mixture of beautiful fresh grass, a hint of sweetness and sexy tobacco- aaah im in heaven. Reminds me of my last Caribbean holiday. This and ambre narguile are amazing in my humble opinion. I would advise a trial of both before dismissing them...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 3/22/2009 1:35:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I get none of those cool notes. I don't even get tonka, to be honest. All I get is vetiver, which is fine enough as it is, smooth and woody, but it leans to the masculine on me and I get nothing but that. Vetiver, full stop. Nice for that, but not particularly great for a scent that's supposed to have grain and dried fruit and for heaven's sake, TONKA.
Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products