MAC 208 Small Angled Brow

4.7

115 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/3/2015 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This brush is ideal for my brows. The mix of natural and synthetic hair makes it suitable for cream, liquid and powder products. The size it's small enough to be very precise and it's thich enough to pick enough product so it's not time consuming to use. It's durable, easy to cleanse and dries quickly. I prefer my 209 for eye liners but 208 is also a staple in my stash.



on 2/16/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best brow brush ever, and it also works beautifully as a gel eyeliner brush. No shedding, easy to clean, and incredibly precise.


on 8/7/2014 6:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My favorite brow brush. I loved it so much I bought two. It makes applying the gel cream from MAC a breeze. You make the line thick or thin, cleans easily, bristles do not fall out, and this brush will last years if you take care of it. Worth every penny.


on 7/31/2014 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great brush for applying my eyebrow and easy cleaning the brush...


on 6/10/2014 6:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Full disclosure: I used to hate MAC. In my youth, I tried a variety of their products and simply didn't get the hype. At all. I'd read glowing reviews about one of their products du jour or one of their "must have products" (like their Spice liner which makes me look like a corpse) and just didn't understand why I couldn't find anything in their line I liked. I even tried one of their eye brushes once and still didn't get it so I tossed the brush (Yes, I am kicking myself for tossing a perfectly good MAC brush!). It's possible that 20-something me didn't know how to use the brush, Studio Fix or the aforementioned Spice lip liner properly but I felt like everything in their line just wasn't me. In the past few months, I've gotten serious about learning how to do my makeup properly. For that, you need proper brushes and my drug store brushes just weren't cutting it. I decided to reapproach MAC with a more open mind mainly because nearly every beauty blogger recommends their brushes. MAC is basically inescapable. After getting a few of their brushes (and eyeshadows which are a dream!), I finally get why people love this line. MAC brushes are simply the best and the 208 is right up there at the top.

I purchased Laura Mercier's Cake Liner recently and have been using e.l.f's angled brush to apply it. Thus far, that brush has worked well enough but it has a slightly larger surface area than the 208 and getting a solid thin line was difficult for me. I went to the MAC counter at Macy's a few weeks back and decided "What the hey!", and got this brush. I'm really, really glad I did. Using the 208 to apply liner, even gel liner like Fluidline or Maybelline's Lasting Drama Gel Liner, makes the whole job so much easier. This brush is small and stiff which makes creating a thin line near/on the lash line a breeze. I get a completely different look using this brush than my e.l.f brush. My technique still isn't perfect and I still have to take my time lining my lash line but I get great results so it's worth it.

At $19.50, the 208 certainly isn't the most expensive brush out there but it's still a nice chunk of change to spent on something so tiny. I'm all for using cheaper alternatives but the 208 blows my e.l.f brush out of the water so I can rationalize the price. With proper care, brushes should last for years so that too helps with my rationalization. One bit of information - I wouldn't buy a MAC brush online unless it's from a seller you trust, an authorized dealer or the official site. I'm big on buying pricey items on eBay if you can get them cheaper but there are far too many counterfeit floating around out there. In the long run, I think it's easier to spend the full amount and get the real deal. If you're on the fence about buying this, jump to the other side and run to a MAC store or counter. This is easily one of the best makeup investments I have made in a long, long time.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 4:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This brush is great for defining and sculpting brows. I love a well sculpted brow and this brush allows me to achieve that look. I also recently bought another one for lining my top lids with gel liner. This brush makes lining so easy. It's thin enough to get close to the lash line and you could also adjust how thick or thin you want your lines to be. The angle of the brush also makes it quite easy to achieve a winged out look. I've used my original brush almost everyday for 4 years, and it's still in excellent condition. No splaying or shedding. Great brush to have for brows and eye lining.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2014 3:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading the reviews here to use as a brow brush. It does a really good job of filling in the brows with powder shadow (Bobbi Brown Mahogany in my case). It also works brilliantly as an eyeliner brush - I sometimes use it to press the same Mahogany shadow into my lashline for that naturally-thick-lashes look, great for casual makeup days. I can get a much finer line for this effect than with my Bobbi Brown eyeliner brushes, and the flat angled brush makes it very easy to control the line you want to create. The dense bristles pick up and deposit colour where you want it, without any annoying loose flecks of powder flying off. Everyone who wears makeup should own this brush!


on 1/14/2014 12:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a new eyebrow brush, so I did a lot of research on different ones. I already have a MAC 266, and that's way too big for my taste, but I read this was quite a bit smaller. It's a small, angled synthetic/natural hair mix, and it's the perfect size for eyebrows! I have a brow powder and a gel that I use, and this works great to apply both. It's also great to apply gel eyeliner. I love Mac brushes, and they will last you forever. I haven't had any shedding, and I use baby shampoo to clean it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2013 10:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have two of those, one for brows and another for fluidline. I like that this brush is very thin, dense and firm and not scratchy at all.


on 4/19/2013 4:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The 208 brush works a treat to the eyebrows!! You can really work your eyebrows to any shape, I particularly like making my brows square and end with a flick. Because the brush is so narrow you have plenty to work with and blending into your brows so it doesn't have a full on fake look. :)


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
205 Reviews
Blush Brush
226 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Brush Fly-Aways? Restore it! by EnKoreMakeup

Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top