Versace • Crystal Noir • Fragrances

rated 4.0(182 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DeborahTX on 6/29/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by DeborahTX

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this. I've been searching for an update for my old Samsara stand-by... I wore that for 20 years but recently got sick of it. I purchase a tiny rollerball version of this to see if it would have a lasting impression, and I ended up buying the big bottle after a month of the rollerball use. Purchased the EDT in the rollerball, and the EDP in the spray. EDP definitely has more staying power. I love the musky vanilla and gardenia in this, with dry down of sandalwood. It seems to have something more fresh and green than Samsara; a nice twist and update. I tried Atelier Cologne Vanille Incensee and bought two bottles of that in succession... I was mixing the Atelier with Carolina Herrera 212, and this is similar to that combination but with more staying power. This is heady strong and sensual. I really love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chinesegirl04 on 6/26/2014 7:44:00 AM more reviews by Chinesegirl04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE it.
Very seductive scent for a night out!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claregriffin on 6/26/2014 6:59:00 AM more reviews by claregriffin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favourite perfumes. I bought this whilst on holiday after spraying it in the duty free lounge at the airport. Don't both with the EDT and just pay a little extra for the EDP. The scent is beautiful, really classy, fruity and dark, with a hint of musky jasmine. I can smell this on myself when I wear it which I love and it remains on my clothes which I love to. The only downside to this perfume is the bottle, its a square shape with this enormous top which I tend to throwaway because is so unpractical. I can smell someone when they are wearing this perfume and I constantly receive compliments when I wear it. My husband very much loves this when I wear it too which I always think is a good sign that it must smell nice. I would definitely buy this perfume again but would probably only buy at the airport because the Versace name bumps the price up. Well worth a punt though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 6/20/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A white floral with lots of milky sweet sugar, coconut and a hint of ginger spices, and a creamy vanilla woods and powder dry-down. I usually love coconut and white florals but this one is a Macaroon Cake with lots of milk. If you like the sweet rush of Pink Sugar you might like this. For me though, it was too close to food. It gave me the impression of a childish party food rather than perfume. Also, it had a distinctive rubbery gardenia note that sticks out unpleasantly with the food. Lolita Lempicka did that for me too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tanzeer on 6/8/2014 7:11:00 AM more reviews by Tanzeer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent! Brilliant! The best Versace's perfume. When I smelled my wrist, my head almost snapped back. Whoa! What a stench!. It is so warm and sensual. This is my newest "just-fell-in-love" fragrance. <3 <3 <3 <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 5/10/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is for the EDT. "Thunderstorm" was my first impression. Smells heavy & ominous, like a big thundercloud approaching -- in the wide open cold-weather states of the US. Dark clouds, heavy atmosphere, oppressive, brooding. Like a heavy blanket. Really cloying. Almost choking, almost depressing. It's aggressive and overtakes everything.

The Bath & Body Works name "Twilight Woods" would be more apt for this fragrance than their own. This does smell like twilight to me (dark) -- and also very woody -- and heavily musky. It's smoky, sultry, ambery, woody, kind of winey/boozy, and really musky.

I guess it contains gardenia (I'm not a gardenia/tuberose fan) plus coconut notes somewhere (per the note list), but to me it dries down to a mostly smoky sultry amber-sandalwood musk -- mixed with a rich strong red wine. Kind of thick and creamy too -- the scent just spreads through the air -- really diffuses everywhere; there's no escaping it. Monster throw. Wow, it's thick & dark & heavy & oozy & wine-like & blanketing. Most reviewers say it's very sexy.

I picture an Italian opera singer wearing this -- a larger-than-life, dramatic opera singer, draped in heavy, rich, deep plum-colored velvet. The fact that Versace is an Italian perfume house is quite fitting to this scent, I think.

It's just too much for me, sorry. Crystal Noir has legions of mega-fans, and I've tried to become one of them, but I can't. A single tiny spritz takes over my world, lasts on my skin overnight, and even through a shower the next morning. It has *extremely* outstanding staying power -- very tenacious!

I wouldn't dare wear this to work or in public. I can't really think of an occasion in my life where this would work -- except alone at home. I think my husband would be horrified to be around it, since he loves clean florals. Wearing this, I wouldn't be able to be around people until it had dried down for many hours ... and then I'm still not sure. Sorry. I'll keep trying, and maybe some day I'll discover the magic and love it too. Doubt it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lybarra118 on 4/28/2014 3:25:00 PM more reviews by Lybarra118

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

*le sigh* This is my signature scent. I've worn Crystal Noir for the past two years and I adore everything about it. Winter, spring, summer...doesn't matter. It's spicy and warm yet sweet and mysterious. An utterly delicious, magnificent scent. I get compliments every time I wear this, sometimes by the same few people day after day. It's like they can't help themselves. I've had women follow me around in stores to ask what I'm wearing.

It lasts a very long time, but it's not overwhelming. About 8-10 hours, and I can even smell it on my clothes a week later. Sillage is fantastic, too.

Crystal Noir is romantic and mysterious. I'd recommend everyone try it, especially for a first date. Best part is, since it's not a new scent, the price for a 3.4 oz. bottle is very reasonable.

I forgot to add that all the above is referring to the EDT. I've never tried the EDP and I'm not sure I care to. EDT is utter perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessydphs04 on 3/22/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by Jessydphs04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, scent is amazing. I can smell the pepper and gardenia most throughout the day. The initial coconut dries down after the hour.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/8/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been a fragrance freak for over 20 years and I have never come across something this different.

It's spicy and sweet but NOT overwhelming like some can be. It's gardenia at its finest and coconut. First spray I get the gardenia and peony mostly and some spice. After an hour it turns into something very unique on me. I get the coconut, musk, gardenia, spices, amber, and ginger. The spiciness in here is different. It's cardamon and ginger with a hint of pepper.

This is a very sexy, grown-woman, she-knows-what-she-wants fragrance. Very nice and worth the money! The bottle is so pretty as well. A dark smoky color with a diamond as the top.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/11/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't actually worn this yet but I have a sample on a card and I've been smelling it for days. I'm looking for a warm, winter-type fragrance and I believe I've found it. I'm not looking for a "dark" scent, particularly, just a strong warmer fragrance. I'm not sure how to describe this scent except to say that I don't smell the coconut that so many people have mentioned. I hope this does the trick for me. I have ordered it from Macy's--that's the best way to the gift sets left over from the holidays.

I was at the store today and I sprayed Crystal Noir on my skin (vs. just smelling it on a card) and all I can say, it's SO much better on me! It's divine! I cannot stop smelling my wrist. All the way home, I kept saying, "OMG!". This means I have finally found my Signature Scent after looking for almost 5 months. This is my take: It opens with a "plum smell". Then it settles down to a light musky delight. I don't consider this a heavy scent. I was looking for something for winter however I have found something I'm going to wear the year around. I cannot wait for UPS to bring my package!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Versace products

More Fragrances products