Borsari • Violetta Di Parma • Fragrances

rated 4.0(84 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rasputin2 on 3/7/2014 5:33:00 AM more reviews by rasputin2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Borsari VIOLETTA DI PARMA is a gorgeous fragrance. It is basically a violet "soliflore" fragrance, meaning that one flower is really all it's about, even though that violet note is quietly supported by silvery, rooty orris; purply hyacinth and heliotrope; a clovery sweet hay, subtle green notes, cedar and an intriguingly tarry soupcon of vetiver. Its very beauty is its restraint and subtlety. The muguet fillip at top is extremely subdued, so a man can wear it, too. Light, evanescent/transparent, introspective, nostalgic, this is not a candied violet, smelling like a CHOWARD'S lozenge or Liddle Kiddles hair; it never gets quite that sweet; the supporting notes give it a more silvestral, country aura. The scent of true forest violets has never been captured via the traditional enfleurage process; so perfumers have recreated it as a "fantasy note", woven of jasmin and the important perfume synthetics called Ionones. This is called an eau de parfum, even though the sillage and tenacity is delicate indeed... more akin to a "veil" : after two hours, it will be all but gone from the skin. This version of VIOLETTA DI PARMA was released in 1970, the nose being Ludovico Borsari of an old Italian perfuming family; the scent is reportedly based upon an earlier formula first released in 1870. Let's face it, at this price point, you are not going to get Jean Patou JOY. Rather, this is a charming, soothing "tous les jours" fragrance that will put your head in a gorgeous, tender space. Little girls will adore it, too. It must be appreciated for what it is, and it does that thing wonderfully. The thistle-tinted, tasselled squeeze bulb atomiseur makes for a delightfully retro touch. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 surfcowboy on 1/29/2014 10:40:00 AM more reviews by surfcowboy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a HUGE fan of violet perfumes that smell like Chowards violet candies in the purple tin foil. I purchased this last year hoping to get something like that and it was far from the smell I wanted. It smells like horrible! There is nothing candy like or sweet about it, the smell is vile! I am obsessed with violet perfumes and this is purely FLOWER-ish smell nothing sweet, nothing powdery, it reeks! If you are into the whole JUST flower smell, you may like this but if you are looking for sweet, powdery, marie-antoinette, whimsical , heaven smell , this is a complete waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CobraRose on 6/13/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by CobraRose

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

State-of-the art violet, pure and simple. Cool and clear. Greened-up enough to make it non-cloying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 3/23/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

N.B.--I have what may be an older bottle. The juice is green, the cap is a gold ball, and the box has a strolling lady in a long, pink dress.

The violet note itself is incredibly fine. It is impossibly deep and velvety--real-smelling, yet deeper and more violetty than the local violets (here in New England). Must be the scent of Parma violets. I wish there was more of this violet here. The violet note has been worked into a "setting" of other floral notes and a vanilla-musk base. Nonetheless the overall effect feels just right. Since violet notes have a way of winking on and off (due to ionone's effect of "short-circuiting" the nose), the other notes keep the scent from disappearing altogether when the violets wink off.

It's a bit funky at first. The vanilla and musk seem to warm up before the florals, along with what might be a bit of not-so-clean jasmine. It's the kind of thing that seems too old-fashioned at first, then grows on you in a big way.

The scent stays close to the skin overall, and the light sillage has a lovely way of gently undulating throughout the day. Impressively, this lasts all day and into the next.

It does not smell sugary. It is neither like violet baby cologne nor baby powder (though it is very powdery). It is not green, either. It is ladylike, yet not matronly; flirty, yet not girlish; simple, yet satisfying.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 migrithea on 12/3/2008 2:20:00 AM more reviews by migrithea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OH MY GOODNESS! I find this scent graceful and modest yet powerful and enrapturing. Works well with my body chemistry that seems to make many scents too sweet and cloying. VdP stays calm and smooth on me. It is my HG for sure. No musty powder, no sharpness, just olfactory bliss. I also love the history of this scent...To me the notes are in perfect balance. Notes (from basenotes) VIOLET, ROSE, MUGUET, ORRIS, JASMINE, HELIOTROPE, HYACINTH, VETIVER, MUSK, VANILLA.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 10/25/2008 9:20:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Violets and not much more. Just pretty and sweet almost candy-ish without being cloying. Long lasting and classic. Not too expensive either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 9/21/2008 3:04:00 AM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Why am I getting a banana type smell- like a slightly under ripe greenish banana thing going on ? This is a disappointment for me! So definitely too 'green' for me ! More violets please !!!!!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silaira on 8/30/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by Silaira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite violet scent. It is also one of the cheapest ones you can get here in Italy.
Neither too powdery nor excessively sweet, this is a soft violet scent that stays close to the skin, yet lasts for hours.
I am not sure about the notes in this fragrance, but I can smell a little musk and some hyacinth - which probably gives it that greenness other reviewers have mentioned before.
A beautiful fragrance indeed that can be worn all year round.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Riverofwine on 6/18/2008 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Riverofwine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just received a sample of this yesterday. Not only is the lasting power close to zero, it quickly turns to a musty attic smell...faint, but nonetheless detectable. In fact, I just saw a friend to whom I'm very attracted and felt quite ugly in his presence as a result. I had been excited to try this fragrance but sorry to say..its not worth another try!

Next time I want to smell beautiful, I will turn to Lipstick Rose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Busyblue on 3/3/2008 1:46:00 PM more reviews by Busyblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I didn't like this scent. I guess I prefer my violets a little sweeter than those used here. I thought this fragrance smelled sort of dirty (sorry, that's the only word that comes to mind), like it needed to hop in the shower and freshen up. This is something I wouldn't recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Borsari products

More Fragrances products