Bobbi Brown • Lip Gloss in Buff 4 • Lip Gloss

rated 4.2(86 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 4/2/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Buff is a soft warm honey shade which for me is a real dependable workhorse. It can be worn on its own or on most lipstick shades to add dimension and shine, it has no shimmer or glitter. It is the classic Bobbi Brown gloss formula with good staying power, it has a slight vanilla scent which I personally like, but that fades very quickly which may be important for anyone who does not like their lip products scented. I have light skin (NW 10/15 BB Alabaster/Porcelain for reference) with very pigmented lips and I received Buff as a gift. However, I think this shade, as universal as it is, is most suitable for those with less pigmented lips so the shade itself shows up better. At a BB event at the counter Buff was applied to a lady with warmer, olive skin tone and light toned lips and it looked quite stunning. On me, it appears quite sheer, and mostly adds a bit of warmth, but the shade is too light to give my lips much definition. For that reason I will use up my tube but will purchase Nude next, a shade which is a bit deeper and more neutral toned, which for me is the perfect no-makeup-look gloss for weekends. Since these glosses have been sized up and repackaged with a doe applicator, I feel that the price of $25 is more in line with other brands and therefore I will repurchase, just not this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 4/18/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

this may be a great lip gloss for some... for me, I didn't like the color (didn't even show up on my pigmented lips), not a big fan of sticky (which, yes, I know that means staying power), and the size to cost ratio is pretty expensive... I used it all the way down because it's such a versatile product, but it took me 2 years and I won't be repurchasing.

My profile, for FYI:
NW10/15, cool toned, blue eyes, normal/oily skin, 3a fine but coarse curly hair but I wear straight thanks to keratin treatments!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dakgirl on 1/23/2011 9:09:00 PM more reviews by dakgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a PPP with pale lips. This gloss and Rose Sugar too, for that matter, both come up as clear on me. Not enough color payoff to justify $18 for such a tiny amount. The price per weight makes Chanel Glossimer look like a bargain.

That said, I LOVE the formula of the gloss, super moisturizing and shiny. Many complain about the stickiness but honestly, as a longtime lipgloss user of every brand out there, sticky=long lasting. That's just how it is. My favorite color is Petal which was recently changed from a sheer coral pink to a muddy beige. Why mess with a winner, Bobbi?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 diademydo on 7/15/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by diademydo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color is fantastic, natural looking color. It's a nude that's not too brown and not too pink. The packaging is not so great. You need to use a separate brush to get the last quarter of the product out of the tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 2/3/2010 12:14:00 AM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I received this free when I got a BB makeover - for some reason the MA randomly threw a tester in my bag (???) Anyway I was glad she did - I LOVE this gloss! I had read it described somewhere as the perfect neutral color for work. I don't think it's appropriate for work, because it is VERY wet and glossy looking. However, I LOVE it for going out! I'm very fair, warm-toned, and have literally no color in my lips...normally, nude lip gloss or lipstick makes me look dead. For some reason, this one is just warm enough or just pigmented enough to give me that "glamorous 70s Julie Christie" mouth thing...I wear it with a nude liner, a smoky eye and bronzer in the summertime and feel fabulous every time! I also love the small container, which closes firmly and fits in the tiniest bag. This gloss also seems to last a really long time, for gloss--it's more on the sticky side of gloss, so you feel like it's "sealing" your lips in (if that makes any sense) which some people may not like, but it makes it last longer. It also stays firmly on the lip and does not bleed (important for us 40-plus gals.)


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SophiaK on 10/17/2009 9:30:00 PM more reviews by SophiaK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG nude l/g that I've been using for more than 5 years. I have very pigmented lips, so most nudes and sheer l/g do nothing, but this one works amazingly well!

The color is described as "beige pink" on Bobbi Brown official website, though I remember they called this "golden brown" a while ago. It looks unimpressive and not very flattering in the tube, but it has the perfect opacity and pigmentation that softens the redness of my lips and make them look natural and glossy. Works great with natural everyday look as well as dramatic smokey eyes.

The texture is thicker than most l/gs I've used in the past (MAC, Clinique, EL, Revlon), but spreads easily and evenly. The staying power is great and very moisturizing.

The infamous brush applicator is a thumb down, but it's not the worst thing in the world. I'd buy this again as long as it's available. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 earlyprim on 8/1/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by earlyprim

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This color just didn't work with my complexion. On my lips the color is very drab & dull. Buff on my lips looks more brown than pink. Very blah.

I love Bobbi Brown Gloss just not this color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natashaogle on 6/23/2009 2:09:00 AM more reviews by natashaogle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nude is a beautiful sheer colour that leaves my lips looking softer and fuller. Long-lasting and doesnít drag, and I donít have any problems with the brush applicator. Very pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amystar on 6/18/2009 7:48:00 AM more reviews by amystar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This one of my favourite lip glosses. It is sticky palepink-lightbrown lip gloss. It is very moisturizing and lasts for a lot longer than other lip glosses. I cannot wear baby pink lip products but i have always desired to have that sweet innocent girly lips. This is the perfect pink for me for that look.

PROS: It is very glossy (not shiny), after it dries down it feels like a lip balm. It is very sticky (do not wear on a windy down with your hair down). Compliments my skintone wonderfully (NC30-NC35, Stila 40-50watts).

CONS: The most expensive lip gloss that i own. In Australia it retails for $40.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BreannaNicole on 6/6/2009 11:26:00 AM more reviews by BreannaNicole

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love Bobbi Brown makeup, and this lip gloss let me down. It's a gorgeous gorgeous color on me, and even has reasonable staying power. BUT IT IS SO STICKY! I cannot stand the consistency. I will use mine up and deal with the mess, but I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Lip Gloss products