Bobbi Brown • Shimmer Lip Gloss - Rose Sugar • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 anpage on 1/17/2014 6:38:00 PM more reviews by anpage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip gloss. It is thick, but it has color to it, which I like. I don't care for glosses that look colored but yet when put on, is a barely there tint. Might as well be wearing clear gloss. Anyways, this color is perfect year round and is just beautiful. Has just enough shimmer without being tacky. One of the best glosses I ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galsunday on 2/23/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I lov the color and you have to apply over lipstick for the shine and shimmer to show. I also love the vanilla scent. Its divine! It lasts all day doesnt bleed or feather over lipstick despite the hot climate. The consistency is thick so it lasts and lasts. It comes in a small tube yet its so pricey. I have tried the white and ruby shimmer and really love them but have to add that BB is expensive and thats my only problem with BB products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Superbeckyy on 2/21/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Superbeckyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was recommended this at the Bobbi Brown counter after one of their wonderful makeover sessions - I hadn't worn lip gloss before but this more muted but shimmery shade of pink suited my pale skin and red-brown hair perfectly.
After purchasing the product I tried it out myself - not such a great result! The nail polish style brush was pretty ineffective so I ended up skipping that and applying it with my finger (although I understand this has now been altered to a more manageable one) and the gloss was much too gloopy and sticky for my liking - I can't stand my hair constantly sticking to my face! The gloss got even stickier the longer I had it and eventually turned into a glue-like consistency after the 6 month mark. However the colour is gorgeous with just the right amount of shimmer.
I've found plenty of more effective glosses for £2 and under - in the UK this retails for £17 which is steep for the small amount of product you get - I won't be buying again when there are much cheaper alternatives that work better for me! This would be great for anyone who prefers a thicker gloss and doesn't mind a sticky formula, especially on fair skin and dark red/brown hair as it's such a lovely, universally suited shade of gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spearmintstars on 3/20/2011 4:52:00 AM more reviews by spearmintstars

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The color is nice, I understand that it has to be sticky to get a longer lasting effect, but....the size of this lipgloss is not even the size of my pinky! It is 3/4 the size of my pinky!

I thought the testers were just tiny because they were testers. When I got home and saw that it was actually the size they were selling I could not believe it. I'm outraged and shocked. Picture how tiny that is for $22.00 WTH?

Edit: As of 08/2011 they have repackaged this lipgloss to be a full-sized gloss, and taken away the hideous nail polish-type brush and replaced it with a more traditional brush. This change is welcomed and long overdue.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cristy1970 on 3/4/2011 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Cristy1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite lip glosses out there--the texture, the shade, the wearability...I love it! I just hate the stupid brush that it comes with--come on Bobbi, you can't come up with a better applicator? REALLY?
And for the price, you don't get a lot--another drawback, but not a deal-breaker. I would repurchase, b/c I've never found a close enough shade (btw, it's a light, neutral, shimmery peachy-pink that looks great on anybody) that wears as well as this one. I heart Bobbi Brown!
UPDATE: Ok, I guess I can stop complaining about the lame brush applicator cuz Bobbi has replaced it with a doe-foot applicator! Rock on, BB.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MilkBar on 1/15/2011 1:59:00 AM more reviews by MilkBar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My all time favorite lip gloss. It has the perfect balance of staying power to stickiness. There is a subtle pleasant scent and taste to it. The only reason I wear anything else is because I get bored of wearing this one shade. I always get compliments on it and friends have asked to try it on right after seeing me wear it LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Russianlass on 11/27/2010 5:08:00 PM more reviews by Russianlass

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really, like this lip gloss. It is a great color that goes with anything and it nice on its own. I purchased this two years ago and when I had trouble getting the remainder out of the tube I tossed it into my super large makeup basket in my bathroom. Today, I felt like my lipstick was a little dry and needed some gloss. I usually use Bobbi brightening gloss in pink, but I rummaged around and pulled this out. I was able to scape enough out to use. I loved the result. I went straight to Nordstrom and bought a new one. It is a flattering natural look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alicilera on 4/25/2010 9:20:00 AM more reviews by alicilera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Didn't intend to get BB lip glosses as I have many! Tried Stila, MAC, Revlon, Biotherm, Marjorlica etc etc. brands but this one, i like it above them all! V awesome neutral rose shade, pair on top of a neutral lipstick it's awesome. However, i just discovered CD Ultra-Gloss and I like that effect over this, even those i like BB's color, and brush just as well but took a lippie off for the finishing compared to CD's!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chickeeduck on 2/10/2010 9:36:00 AM more reviews by chickeeduck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh the memories. I can't believe I have not reviewed this lipgloss. This was my first BB lip gloss, and one that I would have never chosen on my own. It looks plummy with a bit of shimmer, and I was a matte kind of girl. I thought the SA was not kind when he told me it my colors were all wrong and decided on the spot I needed a makeover. Rude or not, it is the best advice I got from an SA. This was also the start of my love of BB makeup. But back to the lipgloss - there is very little color on it's own on my very pigmented lips, so I layer it on top of lipstick. The brush as many have mentioned is not the best, but the SA used a lipbrush to apply the actual gloss, which I also do as I find the one that comes in the tube a bit rough and does not spread evenly. Also, there is a lot of product left over that you can't reach. I use a clean disposable cuticle remover to get out as much of the gloss, and I put it on a pan palette that I have from BB, and then just apply it with a brush.

I have NC35/40 skin with dark brown eyes and hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natashaogle on 6/30/2009 1:49:00 AM more reviews by natashaogle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate that I canít get the last of the gloss out of the tube but I'll probably repurchase anyway. Perfect amount of shine, not too glassy and superb staying power. Itís very hydrating and doesnít tide on my lipline. The shimmer is very subtle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Lip Gloss products