MAC • Veluxe Pearl - Plum Dressing • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(44 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 9/29/2013 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very disappointed since Plum Dressing is a Veluxe Pearl - the pigmentation is very mediocre and it's hard to get decent colour pay-off. Online swatches led me to believe it was a medium purple with berry undertones. It's not, instead it's a shimmery flat red and incredibly similar to Cranberry, although Cranberry is MUCH more pigmented. In the photo I've uploaded, it took me 3 heavy-handed swipes to get the intensity you can see, as opposed to one swipe for Cranberry. I definitely will not repurchase. I hate wasting products so I just use Plum Dressing in the outer v with Cranberry all over the lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 themerchanwifey on 9/4/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by themerchanwifey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Not nearly pigmented enough! I wanted to pick this up as a replacement for Hepcat which was recently discontinued (WHY?!?!?). This is the closest color Mac has that would work as a substitute. However the color payoff is not there for me. It is a similar warm purple on the pinky fuchsia side, but not a full duo chrome chrome like Hepcat. Definitely not mpressed. I actually found a better, more pigmented rlacement in my shimmer88 palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JPKAM83 on 7/25/2013 11:28:00 PM more reviews by JPKAM83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was at my Mac store to buy an new eyeshadow. I brought an eyeshadow in Plum Dressing. I brought it home and try it out. It gave me a sheer of colour but I had to layer it on to see the colour. But the Plum Dressing made my brown eyes pop out. But when I swatch it in the store it show up darker on my hand but on the eyeshadow brush it gives you a sheer colour. I won't be buying this eyeshadow again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleogirl on 1/31/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by cleogirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Not as pigmented as I would come to expect from MAC. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/26/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This shade is reddy pink on me... not plum at all. Additionally I find the texture to be more like a satin. It doesn't apply smoothly nor does it blend like other veluxe pearls. I love purples and own most of the ones MAC makes but this one is a dud. I definitely would NOT recommend. Check out my blog for pics:

http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rangers30 on 10/6/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by rangers30

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely plummy purple. The pigmentation is decent, although not as good as some of my other MAC shadows. I love using this color in the crease with Swish on my lids. It also looks great as a lid color with Beauty Marked in the crease for a nighttime look. I've never had a problem with fading. The color is more of a wash of color rather than a bright pop of color, so it is a nice way to add some zest to my work-friendly makeup routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kbur084 on 6/14/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by kbur084

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this online without swatching it (I don't like going to counters to buy things). When i got this it was a pretty big dissapointment, i really have to layer it on to get the color to show up. I also wouldn't reccomend it for people with fair skin, it showed up more red than purple on me so it wasn't flattering at all. I would not reccomend this color, not very good quality (poor pigmentation). I've had purple eyeshadows from drugstore brands that show up much better than this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rea1 on 6/18/2011 10:30:00 AM more reviews by rea1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What a unique, amazing colour! I absolutely love it! It s kind of plum purple pink! It is a bit scary at first but good blending reqlly makes the best of it! I pair it with jest or neked lunch and sketch!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RekaJohn on 3/7/2011 11:29:00 PM more reviews by RekaJohn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

very unique pinkish,plummy, purplish red. i know that dont make any sense but the color is beautiful and unique on my skin. i love purple eyeshadows and this is and amazing eyeshadow color.pigmentation is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 silviachick on 8/27/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by silviachick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this color. I've most recently used it with stars n rocket and a black eyeshadow. With the three I've gotten a really pretty purple smokey eye.
the color goes on wonderfully, blends wonderfully, and I haven't had any issues with it not lasting.
so glad to have this in my stash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products