MAC Veluxe Pearl - Plum Dressing

3.6

45 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 4:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This eyeshadow is extremely disappointing, especially coming from MAC. The colour is vibrant upon application (granted it took quite a few swipes) and blends really well, however, after half a day the colour disappeared! I always use a primer underneath and all of my eyeshadows (including cheap drugstore ones) had no problem staying on my lids except this one. Such a shame because this is such a beautiful colour...I think I'll get MAC's Cranberry next time since I've heard people describe it as a more pigmented version of Plum Dressing.



on 9/29/2013 9:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very disappointed since Plum Dressing is a Veluxe Pearl - the pigmentation is very mediocre and it's hard to get decent colour pay-off. Online swatches led me to believe it was a medium purple with berry undertones. It's not, instead it's a shimmery flat red and incredibly similar to Cranberry, although Cranberry is MUCH more pigmented. In the photo I've uploaded, it took me 3 heavy-handed swipes to get the intensity you can see, as opposed to one swipe for Cranberry. I definitely will not repurchase. I hate wasting products so I just use Plum Dressing in the outer v with Cranberry all over the lids.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Not nearly pigmented enough! I wanted to pick this up as a replacement for Hepcat which was recently discontinued (WHY?!?!?). This is the closest color Mac has that would work as a substitute. However the color payoff is not there for me. It is a similar warm purple on the pinky fuchsia side, but not a full duo chrome chrome like Hepcat. Definitely not mpressed. I actually found a better, more pigmented rlacement in my shimmer88 palette.


on 7/25/2013 11:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was at my Mac store to buy an new eyeshadow. I brought an eyeshadow in Plum Dressing. I brought it home and try it out. It gave me a sheer of colour but I had to layer it on to see the colour. But the Plum Dressing made my brown eyes pop out. But when I swatch it in the store it show up darker on my hand but on the eyeshadow brush it gives you a sheer colour. I won't be buying this eyeshadow again.


on 1/31/2013 2:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Not as pigmented as I would come to expect from MAC. Would not repurchase.


on 10/26/2012 1:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This shade is reddy pink on me... not plum at all. Additionally I find the texture to be more like a satin. It doesn't apply smoothly nor does it blend like other veluxe pearls. I love purples and own most of the ones MAC makes but this one is a dud. I definitely would NOT recommend. Check out my blog for pics:

http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/


on 10/6/2012 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a lovely plummy purple. The pigmentation is decent, although not as good as some of my other MAC shadows. I love using this color in the crease with Swish on my lids. It also looks great as a lid color with Beauty Marked in the crease for a nighttime look. I've never had a problem with fading. The color is more of a wash of color rather than a bright pop of color, so it is a nice way to add some zest to my work-friendly makeup routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2012 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this online without swatching it (I don't like going to counters to buy things). When i got this it was a pretty big dissapointment, i really have to layer it on to get the color to show up. I also wouldn't reccomend it for people with fair skin, it showed up more red than purple on me so it wasn't flattering at all. I would not reccomend this color, not very good quality (poor pigmentation). I've had purple eyeshadows from drugstore brands that show up much better than this!


on 6/18/2011 10:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

What a unique, amazing colour! I absolutely love it! It s kind of plum purple pink! It is a bit scary at first but good blending reqlly makes the best of it! I pair it with jest or neked lunch and sketch!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2011 11:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

very unique pinkish,plummy, purplish red. i know that dont make any sense but the color is beautiful and unique on my skin. i love purple eyeshadows and this is and amazing eyeshadow color.pigmentation is great.


Back to Top