Desert Essence • Dessert Essence Blemish Touch Stick • Treatments

rated 4.2(113 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 iEuphoria0 on 7/7/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by iEuphoria0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is equivalent to tea tree oil for my skin. It didn't work as well for my SO's acneprone combo skin as it worked for my sensitive combo skin. It also doesn't work on anything but whiteheads for us. It says it takes 5-6 applications to see results and maybe that's true on deep pimples. But why I rated this so high was because when I had a pimple I simply applied this to it a few times and it would heal in 24 hours. It worked how I needed it to work. The roller is a pain though. I wish they could change it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 7/2/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

after reading almost all of these comments, i have to laugh at some of them. i literally think some of the reviewers must have gotten this product confused with something else- because this is my HG product, and many others HG product as well. Is it expensive? A bit. I spent about $9.00 on mine at Lunds (Compared to clean and clear and other spot treatments that are $6-7.00 that dont work nearly as well) and it was well worth every extra penny. Does it smell really strong/have a medicinal scent to it? I dont think it does, but I could see how one might think so. If this is the first time you have tried an all natural product which has a base of essential oils, it may take you alil little time to get used to the smell. I personally love it. Its a bit strong, but after 5 minutes, the smell is no longer there. The packaging is a little different, a little tube of product with a rollerball on the end. I know some people arent a fan because its unhygienic to apply this to your face/open skin over and over without a way to clean or sanitize the ball. I appreciate that this product is animal testing free, cruelty free, its all natural in every component... and the reason why they use the rollerball is because using a Q-tip for application defeats the purpose of this product being 'sustainable'. If you want to be hygenic, wash your hands and apply the product on your finger- by rolling it around, and then apply to your face. This is a good method anyway, because I have a problem controlling the amount of product that comes out anyway. I dont have terrible skin, but i do get break outs on occasion and very seldom get those deep cyst like break outs. I have this on hand always, and at the first sign of a breakout... i apply this to the area over and over- just a little bit several times throughout the day. This product will take care of the break out within a day- it wilk either be totally gone, or almost healed. I love that this product doesnt go on greasy, nor does it dry my skin out like other spot treatments do. I have combo skin- and if i get a breakout on a dry patch, or an oily patch.... doesnt matter! this product will take care of it. I cannot even explain to you how much i love it. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to anyone who has occasional breakouts and needs a good, non drying spot treatment that can be worn under or over makeup. From now on, I will use nothing else... its THAT good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 4/16/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My Aunt who doesnt really get break outs anymore gave me this. I'm really liking it. I felt two painful cyst like pimples under the skin coming on, on my chin and started using this immediately on them. I used it several times over the course of 3 days and they are gone! They never turned into the full blown painful cysts that I usually get on my chin during my PMS. I am blown away and couldnt be any happier. I plan on keeping one of these babies on hand at all times. When I feel a pimple or cyst coming on, this stuff is going straight on my skin. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 seattlegirl on 2/4/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by seattlegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

in the past, I've tried using straight up tea tree oil on my acne, and the results were pretty "meh". but this blemish touch stick seems to contain some magical combination of ingredients that actually work for me -- even on my cystic zits that lurk deep under the surface. seriously, I can't believe an all natural product would work on those monsters, but it does! my neice, nephew, and sister all confirm that it works on their monster zits too.



I also use this to sanitize any zits that I did pick at. this plus plenty of moisturizer afterwards seems to help the scabs heal faster. I know, gross. sorry for the TMI.



the packaging: extremely annoying because it leaks when I travel by air. the airplane cabin pressure forces the liquid to leak out of the lid. here is what I do to take care of it: at health food stores, you can buy tiny little glass vials and eyedroppers. these are perfect to carry a small amount of the product for travel, and will not leak on the airplane.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 digigirltx on 10/25/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by digigirltx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately, this didn't work for me at all. I was really hopeful because it is a good price and is available at local stores, but I saw no improvement at all in breakouts - whether for prevention or healing. A waste of time and money for me.

Pros - easy to apply, smooth roller applicator works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emily0816 on 9/26/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by Emily0816

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My new HG! I cannot say enough good things about this miracle worker. It cleared up the small pimples on my face overnight (the ones that may not be noticeable from far away, but you can see about 15 raised spots if you look at your skin at an angle to the light, mostly on forehead). It took about 1 full day to completely clear a noticeable red pimple on my nose. I haven't tried it on any big zits yet.

Best of all, it cleared my keratosis pilaris (common skin condition; small red bumps on back of arms) almost completely - overnight! I have mild KP to begin with, but it's noticeable to the eye and to the touch (ew, sandpaper arms) and now the back of my arm is smooth. I'm so happy and hope others find success with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 7/18/2012 2:47:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This does absolutely nothing to help with the pimples or cysts. It stings the skin when applied and smells bad - medicinal type of smell. The product also seems to evaporate a lot. $10 down the drain for this one... :(

I have moved on to using sandalwood paste to cure pimples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 heather3301 on 6/14/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by heather3301

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I did not like this product. I took the rollerball off and just dipped q-tips directly into the liquid and dabbed the q-tip on my blemishes. I have pretty clear skin so this was for the occasional monthly spot, let me tell you, I have never had so many blemishes sprout up! I started with one, dapped the liquid on there a few times a day, the next day I had three, the next day I had 6, they kept multiplying! I obviously will never buy this product again but I caution future buyers to look for something else as I think it's overpriced and you have to go to the trouble of taking the rollerball off to keep it sterile. It does smell pretty good though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kllerchic on 12/21/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by kllerchic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Love this product! It speeds up the process to make pimples go away without drying your skin (unlike most other blemish creams!). Of course the fact that it is all natural makes this product that much greater too! I am not a fan of the roller, sometimes too much liquid comes out, so it helps out to put on your (clean) finger first, then transfer to your face. This product is great because you can also use it on bug bites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 littleblackhearts on 9/5/2011 1:55:00 AM more reviews by littleblackhearts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I personally, LOVE the smell (manly aftershave?).
It worked a bit, until I started breaking out (probably from the bacteria transferring into the roller).
I really don't see any other way of applying this, if you don't want to use the roller (Q-tips and cotton balls absorb the product before you can apply on your face).
It does tingle, which is rad.
Doesn't work on my mosquito bites (but the tingle counteracts a bit of the itching).
I like the packaging, in terms of the matte bottle, but NOT the roller thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Treatments products