Desert Essence • Dessert Essence Blemish Touch Stick • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(117 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 halfhalfgirl45 on 10/21/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by halfhalfgirl45

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this n i taught it was supposed to be cheaper according to the freaking incorrect marking in the grocery store! :0 i tried to exchange but was denied! :0 :(- I go to Targets all over n can never find Tea Tree Oil ! Even tho they say they have it! :0 :(- it tough ! --- so this is nice ! Has a lot of oils ! - but the runny ! N leaks ! N hard to pop off the rollerball! Feels cheap! --- takes some time to dry! :0 :(- helped a bit ! Better then nothing! I m in love with the look! :0 :)--!- i m severely breaking out 2! N acne prone n struggle all ! :0 :(- so many products out there! --- watever u do - try not to give into High End - like Clinique ! - it's not worth it ! - :0 :(- thx -! Also i saw ELF praise on YouTube bout their blemish stick ! :0 - but i dunno-! It prob more cheaper quality then this ! ----! -!bad !- thx !-

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cat1104 on 8/25/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by Cat1104

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This helped reduce swelling, but I had a horrible reaction to it. I applied it to a couple pimples on my chin and woke up to an extremely itchy chin with a bunch of oozing tiny bumps. I suspect I am allergic to tea tree oil though. It contains other potentially irritating essential oils, so I do not recommend it for very sensitive skin, but I can see how it could be helpful to those with normal skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imperiale on 7/8/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by imperiale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG HG HG, cannot sing its praises enough!

*For reference: I have extremely dry, generally clear skin with hormonal breakouts on my chin, and occasional spots on my nose and cheeks. I have constant blackheads on my nose, and the spots I get are typically whiteheads.*

I have been using this stuff for years, and I honestly haven't found another product that is anywhere near as effective for me. I *CAN* get a good result by mixing a tiny bit of oregano and cinnamon oil together and applying it to spots, but although it works, it's very uncomfortable as it heats up and basically cooks the gunk out of your pores. This rollerball is far more comfortable, and just as effective.

The formula of this blemish stick is all natural - extracts and essential oils, which give it quite a herbal/medicinal smell. I personally don't mind - I think it smells beautiful - but I could see why this might be an issue for someone. The smell is quite strong upon application, but it dissipates very quickly.

As for function, you just can't beat it - it dries up spots without drying out your skin - and incredibly quickly to boot! Best experience with this stick: the night before my wedding I had a HUGE spot brewing under my skin on my chin, and I slathered it with the touch stick before I went to bed... woke up with no spot, no redness, no nothing.
I usually apply at night after cleansing, over a toner but under a moisturiser, so I wake up to clear skin. If I have a breakout flaring up and I'm not out and about, I'll put some on every few hours.

Price to me is fine - it's not the cheapest thing in the world, but it certainly isn't expensive either, and I think it's worth every penny.

I can see why some reviewers have issue with the rollerball, as yes, it's not the most hygienic thing in the world - but like other reviewers have said, this problem is easily fixed by rolling a little onto a clean finger, a cotton pad, or dipping a q-tip into the vial.

I absolutely love this stuff, and I can't get enough - I have and will repurchase again and again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amaizeingndn on 5/26/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by amaizeingndn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff works incredibly well! I had my doubts- I've tried several more natural spot treatments and never found one that worked at all. This one, however, is great. Like others have said, it works best if you can apply it often. I usuallly take one of the days on the weekend when I don't have much going on and re-apply it every couple of hours throughout the day or when I get home from work in the evening I immediately wash my face and then apply this a couple times throughout the evening and then before bed, and it works really well. It even completely takes down under the skin cystic acne after only a couple of days, which is something not even salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide has been doing for me lately. I use this as part of a more natural acne treatment regimen with Aztec Healing Clay/ACV mask and witch hazel and my acne has calmed way down. I don't love the roller ball, but since this has natural antibacterial and antiseptic properties, I do roll it right across my face and don't really worry about it, even though I'm normally a total germophobe. I do feel like I go through this pretty quickly, but it works so well and it's only $10 at my local Whole Foods, so I'm willing to deal with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lexi1989 on 5/20/2014 11:18:00 PM more reviews by lexi1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand how most of these reviewers are completely idiotic by saying this stick is unhygienic. Do you actually put the rolling ball straight on your face, or do you put it on a cotton ball like most people with more than a few brain cells? Other than that, this stuff is the best. It has made my skin so much better and it does not dry it out like tea tree oil. I just wish dim wits didn't count rating products but I guess that is how the world works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iEuphoria0 on 7/7/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by iEuphoria0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is equivalent to tea tree oil for my skin. It didn't work as well for my SO's acneprone combo skin as it worked for my sensitive combo skin. It also doesn't work on anything but whiteheads for us. It says it takes 5-6 applications to see results and maybe that's true on deep pimples. But why I rated this so high was because when I had a pimple I simply applied this to it a few times and it would heal in 24 hours. It worked how I needed it to work. The roller is a pain though. I wish they could change it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 7/2/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

after reading almost all of these comments, i have to laugh at some of them. i literally think some of the reviewers must have gotten this product confused with something else- because this is my HG product, and many others HG product as well. Is it expensive? A bit. I spent about $9.00 on mine at Lunds (Compared to clean and clear and other spot treatments that are $6-7.00 that dont work nearly as well) and it was well worth every extra penny. Does it smell really strong/have a medicinal scent to it? I dont think it does, but I could see how one might think so. If this is the first time you have tried an all natural product which has a base of essential oils, it may take you alil little time to get used to the smell. I personally love it. Its a bit strong, but after 5 minutes, the smell is no longer there. The packaging is a little different, a little tube of product with a rollerball on the end. I know some people arent a fan because its unhygienic to apply this to your face/open skin over and over without a way to clean or sanitize the ball. I appreciate that this product is animal testing free, cruelty free, its all natural in every component... and the reason why they use the rollerball is because using a Q-tip for application defeats the purpose of this product being 'sustainable'. If you want to be hygenic, wash your hands and apply the product on your finger- by rolling it around, and then apply to your face. This is a good method anyway, because I have a problem controlling the amount of product that comes out anyway. I dont have terrible skin, but i do get break outs on occasion and very seldom get those deep cyst like break outs. I have this on hand always, and at the first sign of a breakout... i apply this to the area over and over- just a little bit several times throughout the day. This product will take care of the break out within a day- it wilk either be totally gone, or almost healed. I love that this product doesnt go on greasy, nor does it dry my skin out like other spot treatments do. I have combo skin- and if i get a breakout on a dry patch, or an oily patch.... doesnt matter! this product will take care of it. I cannot even explain to you how much i love it. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to anyone who has occasional breakouts and needs a good, non drying spot treatment that can be worn under or over makeup. From now on, I will use nothing else... its THAT good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 4/16/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My Aunt who doesnt really get break outs anymore gave me this. I'm really liking it. I felt two painful cyst like pimples under the skin coming on, on my chin and started using this immediately on them. I used it several times over the course of 3 days and they are gone! They never turned into the full blown painful cysts that I usually get on my chin during my PMS. I am blown away and couldnt be any happier. I plan on keeping one of these babies on hand at all times. When I feel a pimple or cyst coming on, this stuff is going straight on my skin. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 seattlegirl on 2/4/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by seattlegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

in the past, I've tried using straight up tea tree oil on my acne, and the results were pretty "meh". but this blemish touch stick seems to contain some magical combination of ingredients that actually work for me -- even on my cystic zits that lurk deep under the surface. seriously, I can't believe an all natural product would work on those monsters, but it does! my neice, nephew, and sister all confirm that it works on their monster zits too.



I also use this to sanitize any zits that I did pick at. this plus plenty of moisturizer afterwards seems to help the scabs heal faster. I know, gross. sorry for the TMI.



the packaging: extremely annoying because it leaks when I travel by air. the airplane cabin pressure forces the liquid to leak out of the lid. here is what I do to take care of it: at health food stores, you can buy tiny little glass vials and eyedroppers. these are perfect to carry a small amount of the product for travel, and will not leak on the airplane.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 digigirltx on 10/25/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by digigirltx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately, this didn't work for me at all. I was really hopeful because it is a good price and is available at local stores, but I saw no improvement at all in breakouts - whether for prevention or healing. A waste of time and money for me.

Pros - easy to apply, smooth roller applicator works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Treatments (Face) products