MAC • Veluxe Pearl - Gorgeous Gold • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(145 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 princesshorn on 8/21/2012 5:09:00 PM more reviews by princesshorn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is not the best MAC eye shadow but it's nice to coat over other gold eye shadows. It makes it more shiny and pretty.
I wouldn't wear this shadow by itself but blending with others makes it really pretty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dunkv on 7/8/2012 3:30:00 PM more reviews by dunkv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Just a little to Yellow for me, i feel it doesn't have much warmth to it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 6/18/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color is very unique. It's not really gold but more of a lighter iridescent yellow/green color. It sounds gross but it reminds me of the color some insects have on their backs so it changes color in the light. very pretty and great for summer. I usually pair it with other greens or browns but it would look good with many other colors as well. If I wear it I usually put it close to my upper lash line and middle of eye lid with a darker crease color like mac soba or stila's golightly eye shadow. If I want a glowy green color I put gorgeous gold on first then mac lucky green on top of it. Don't buy this because you are looking for a true gold, buy this if you want something unique and beautiful that's more of a pale yellow color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeatFaceBeauty on 6/14/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by BeatFaceBeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

:( This was one of my first MAC shadows I ever brought and I gotta honestly say...not too impressed, my Wet n Wild shadows are better, sorry Mac snobs but its true, lol. GG kinda ruined Mac for me. I really love the interesting color, a yellow gold with a green shimmer undertone, unique and pretty. However used with a base/primer and it creased like all hell! Never had a shadow crease as bad as this one. I'm gonna try some different ways of wearing it to make it work and hopefully not crease, I heard the creasing has something to do with the finish, I will not repurchase since so much is packed into the pan that I probably won't hit, but will recommend to anyone with dry skin/eyelids or that don't usually have problems with creasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 schwabj on 4/2/2012 6:02:00 AM more reviews by schwabj

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice, pigmented eyeshadow, but comes off more yellow than gold on my lids. I tend to use this as a subtle blending color, or whenever I feel like having a splash of yellow. I would repurchase if I was looking for a wearable yellow, but not if I was looking for a true gold. If you are looking for a true gold, I would try MAC's goldmine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 11/8/2011 1:28:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Greenish gold shimmer thats best on cool skintones. Because of the green tinge it has a tendency to highlight any redness in your skin or eyes (green being opposite to red on the colorwheel). So if you have warm toned skin, sunburn, a tend to flush, have rosacea or red veins on cheeks, or have red veins in your eyes I'd say maybe avoid this shade and try goldenrod or something else instead. I am warm and also very pale so Gorgeous Gold is a very intense shade for me that didn't look right. But I was determined to make it work because MAC shadows are nearly NZ $40 here (around US $35). Well, I found it works if I apply it wet and sheer it out - this way it makes a great highlighter worn with either taupes, cool soft browns or cool purples like Beautiful Iris ( veluxe pearl) in the crease. Applying it wet also solves the fallout issue with this one. If at first you get fallout or this shade doesn't work for you, try applying it wet and/or sheer!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princesstabitha on 8/20/2011 9:34:00 AM more reviews by princesstabitha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This goes on my skin as a yellow greenish color but i still love the color because its different i think this would go well with green eyeshadow and teal colors as well =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluelitzer on 8/20/2011 8:51:00 AM more reviews by bluelitzer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to get Goldmine but the MAC store only had this color in the gold group. I was like, what the heck it's still gold. I read the review after the purchase and they made me nervous because of the common comment on the unexpected yellow-green appearance. However when I tried it, I was relieved it looks great. It goes well with other colors like warm greens, neutral browns as well as purples depending on the hue. As beautiful as it is, I most probably won't repurchase until I've tried out and gone through other golds that MAC has to offer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Foveolata on 6/24/2011 8:45:00 PM more reviews by Foveolata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great! I have very oily lids, and have to use a primer, such as UDPP, or MAC Paint, to make any shadow last, even so, most shadows crease inside two hours. Not Mac. With primer, this shadow lasts, and the color stays true. The texture is smooth, easy to apply, and has great pigmentation. The finish (veluxe pearl) is shimmery and soft. This color is a green-tinted slightly shimmery gold, and it compliments other colors well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 5/2/2011 7:20:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Thanks MUA for the awesome recommendation and great reviews on this eyeshadow as I would have never purchased it otherwise. Like other reviewers have mentioned the texture is fantastic, smooth buttery and creamy with great pigmentation. I love the greenish iridescence this shadow has as it enhances my eyes. This shadow pairs wonderfully with many other shades including greens, purples, browns, and taupes. I love experimenting with this and it has become a favourite I reach for quite often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products