Klorane • gentle shampoo with oat milk ( frequent use) • Shampoo

rated 3.9(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 4/12/2014 4:50:00 AM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not really sure if I like this or not.
A few months ago I got highlights in my hair, but when I started using this shampoo I felt like all the colour disappeared. I know that some colours fade with time, but I'm suprised how fast it suddently happened. So yeah.. It might be this shampoo!

It also felt a bit drying on my hair. In a way it was a good thing, since it helped my hair not getting oily as much as normal on 2nd day, but at the same time I want my shampoo to nurish my hair, since it's pretty dry and damaged from heat, colour, etc.

The consistency of this shampoo is so special. It's runny like water, probably because the first ingredient in this is water. Next comes Sodium Laureth Sulphate so it does lather, but since it's so runny I find it hard to work with. Comes in a 200ml bottle, so you use this up quickly. Not a problem for me, since I'm not gonna buy it again.

I wouldn't really recommend this, unless you already have either healthy, normal or oily hair, that isn't colour treated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CristineF on 11/12/2013 6:24:00 AM more reviews by CristineF

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily scalp and dry ends but I never use anything deep cleansing or purifying as I consider these too harsh on my hair. My philosophy on hair care is that I'd rather let my hair get a little greasy than risk striping it off its natural oils using shampoos what are supposedly suitable for my hair.

I always use super gentle shampoos... A frequent use shampoo is always gentler than a regular one even though I don't wash my hair daily also something that's suitable for kids sure has a gentler formula.

This shampoo is wonder in a bottle. It REALLY is super gently and has a rich but airy souffle-like lather not that heavy buttery-thick lather that cheaper shampoos have.. At first I thought the bottle is unfairly small for the price but the shampoo is really economic... I wash my hair twice and every time I use only a pea sized drop for my entire hair which is elbow-length and very dense. I'm left with clean hair for 1 to 3 days depending on weather and environment.

PLEASE NOTE Klorane changed the formula for this shampoo a little over one year ago. My review is for the new formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ella343 on 10/26/2013 3:52:00 AM more reviews by ella343

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Klorane Shampoo with Oat Milk, which purports to be for frequent use on all hair types, is more or less exactly as advertised. It's a basic but reliable detergent-based formula, with its cleansing pitched dead center for a soft lather that kicks up as you work it into the scalp (my method: add shampoo and water in small, alternating increments). It is perhaps best suited to normal hair, slightly squeaky clean on my dry hair, most likely insufficient on oily scalps. The gimmick---the inclusion of oak milk---is fairly effective. It doesn't outright cure dandruff, but my scalp is less irritable. And it is certainly intended for frequent use; greasiness gathers more quickly than usual. It has a powdery fresh laundry fragrance (synthetic musks), stronger than it needs to be, but a refreshing alternative to the typical fruity-floral that sweetens the average shampoo.

INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua). Sodium Laureth Sulfate. Propylene Glycol. Coco-Glucoside. Lauryl Betaine. Sodium Chloride. Ceteareth-60 Myristyl Glycol. Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (Avena Sativa Kernel Extract). Benzoic Acid. Citric Acid. Disodium EDTA. Fragrance (Parfum). Inulin. Methylisothiazolinone. Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate. Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer. Xanthan Gum.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 8/21/2013 9:49:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best shampoo I've used in a long time, or maybe ever. It gets my hair clean without making it feel heavy or oily or dry. It just feels light and soft. It's also very gentle on my scalp. I started using it in the winter because my previous shampoo was making my scalp itch like crazy, which is quite common for me during the winter. I didn't get any itching with this shampoo, and I liked how my hair looked and felt. I bought a few backups because I think it's discontinued (I found it on the clearance rack).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SanjaFika on 5/26/2012 6:25:00 AM more reviews by SanjaFika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I never-ever repurchase hair products - especially shampoo! Before i found this my opinion on shampoos was simple - anything goes since i always follow the wash with a good conditioner! Honestly after spending so much money on salon products with very little difference in efficiency and feel, I figured i might as well use drugstore brands and save my money for HE conditioners/hair masks. Then one day i walked in to Shoppers Drug Mart and found this boring looking bottle in the clearance section. I recognized the brand from back home (i am originally from Europe) and a wave of nostalgia swept over me and before i knew it i was at the register :) I came home and that night in the shower my love affair with this "boring oat" formula was born. Finally i saw and felt the difference the right shampoo can make! Its insanely gentle, no fragrance, lathers up well and tames my hair almost immidietly :) Another thing i LOVE about the brand is that under the "directions" it actually states "one wash is enough" - every other bottle says "rinse and repeat"! What can i say, i really appreciate that kind of messaging lol
So the moral of the story is that there are shampoos out there that make a difference and they dont have to have a huge "logo" or celebrity endorsment or even massive advertizing in order to work perfectly. I will continue to repurchase and hoard the mundane little bottle forever more - they better not discontinue it either! I have never cried over a material/cosmetic item but i might not be able to stop myself when it comes to this miracle milky-oat potion :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renia22 on 2/10/2012 2:53:00 PM more reviews by renia22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the frequent use oatmilk liquid shampoo, not the dry spray. This shampoo has a nice fresh scent and provides a decent lather. I do need a bit of conditioner with this one. After blow-drying my hair is shiny and soft, but a bit flat. It doesn't aggravate shedding, which is a plus. Overall, it's pretty good if not a bit expensive ($18 for 13 ounces), so I probably will use it up and move on to something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prettyfacades on 1/20/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by prettyfacades

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an ok shampoo. It leaves the hair soft and smooth, not dry and frizzy, I don't even use conditioner.

I would like it even more if it cleaned a bit better. I only wash my hair 2-3 times a week (lazy haha), and I feel like this doesn't really clean out all the product buildup from my dry shampoo, hairspray, and hair oils.

It's good for everyday I guess but not cleansing enough for me.

Yes I would repurchase. I'm trying to wash my hair more often actually, as motivation for me to work out more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 careyoung on 9/5/2011 11:02:00 PM more reviews by careyoung

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Klorane make amazing shampoos, and this one is great for anyone seeking gentle cleansing. Smells great, and has a lovely lather: note that this is not a sulfate-free shampoo, but is gentle nonetheless. Importantly, it does not dry out my very sensitive scalp. I've had severe psoriasis since I was a child, so we're talking really sensitive and fragile! I alternate this with my medicated shampoo. Definitely recommend!

Edit: note that while this shampoo does contain sodium laureth sulfate, this is a relatively mild sulfate. It DOES NOT contain sodium lauryl sulfate... a much more irritating ingredient!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sfreeman87 on 5/31/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by sfreeman87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great shampoo for frequent use, but because I don't always wash my hair everyday (I have a dry scalp), I sometimes found it to be too gentle, and not cleansing enough. For someone with color-treated, abused, this is probably a great shampoo for them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 9/4/2010 7:08:00 PM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

NB this is NOT the dry shampoo in a can, but the trad/usual shampoo, liquid, in a bottle. Some reviewers seem to have been confused.

Decent simple shampoo, that cleans hair, whilst being gentle to scalp and other surrounding skin (neck, mainly). Needs more technique to use (and, let's face it, hair-washing in a hurry i.e. in normal circumstances is neither the time nor the place). Danger of tangling hair and drying it out.

I bought it for Beloved as it was on special offer, 400 ml for the price of 200. Used it once out of curiosity, then started using it myself from time to time. My hair is long, fine, dense/thick, slightly wavy, and tends to the drier end of the "normal" spectrum. Gets frizzy and/or tangled if I use hair stuff that's not sufficiently moisturising. Untreated, usually air-dried. Skin normal, slightly dry, sensitive.

Previous main shampoo: Phytojoba. Other main current shampoo (11/2010, using this one mostly these days): Avalon Organics fragrance-free moisturising olive & grapeseed oil, plus matching conditioner. I prefer the Avalon to Klorane Oat: more moisturising, my hair being drier these days.

The Klorane is a very runny liquid consitnency. Some slight smell, but mild and sort of baby-ish: oaty, very slightly almondy, that "cereal" smell.* It does the job of cleaning hair, keeps it clean for 2-3 days, and doesn't irritate scalp. Works well alone, also works well with a more moisturising shampoo or wash mixed in; done this mixed with other shampoos or a splodge of Everyday Shea unscented moisturising body wash, on the second wash: pour out into palm of hand, mix both splodges there, then apply to hair and scalp. Particularly if hair is very dirty--ex. hair not washed for for 3-4 days and pretty grimy due to long weekend hiking and camping.

Caveats: While you can get this stuff to work, it's not the easiest shampoo to work with, hence a 3 overall. First thing in the morning before work is not a time I want to be being pernickety, especially if I've stuck myself under a shower as part of the waking-up process.

Method:

Before washing hair, I brush it out thoroughly (Mason Pearson mixed boar/nylon brush), brush upside down, and wash hair with head upside down. Shampoo is easier to distribute this way, hair less tangled, and less hair comes out when washing it; helped by rubbing at it less.

Contrary to instructions, I wash hair twice: both times with very wet well-saturated hair, the first time a quick impressionistic lather concentrating on the scalp--really just to loosen dirt--then rinsed out fast, and the second time a longer, but gentle, massage of the scalp, leaving shampoo to run down the length of the hair, but not rubbing it. I leave the second wash in for a minute or so, hair piled on top of head, while washing rest of self. Rinse off (head down again), and squeeze out water (using facecloth). Apply conditioner, keeping away from the hair roots and concentrating on the length and ends; then rinse that out pretty much immediately after. Wrap hair in towel, rinse rest of self, etc. I also use leave-in conditioner (or just regular conditioner, used as a leave-in) as needed, at the ends; and Phytodéfrisant on the wavier bits. Then leave hair to dry naturally.

Hair is soft, smooth, in good condition. I can't blame that entirely on this shampoo: technique may help, as well as lovely soft water, and the usual outside factors like diet, stress, sleep. And not using elastic bands, even the no-snag ones: on ponytails for ex., switched to just fabric (stretchy head-band) wrapped round a few times.

Cheap: this was CAD8.00 for 400 ml. While I use slightly more than with the more concentrated Phytojoba, it's still massively cheaper (vs. $24 for 200 ml, i.e. 6x the price). Cruelty-free (and in the case of this shampoo I think vegan?), like other Klorane products and like all the Pierre Fabre group brands (Avène, A-Derma, Ducray, Galénic, Furterer). Widely available in pharmacies & supermarkets in France, in pharmacies elsewhere in Europe, Canada (SDM & LD), some online US stores.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua (water), sodium laureth sulfate, propylene glycol, coco-glucoside, lauryl betaine, sodium chloride, ceteareth-60 myristyl glycol, avena sativa (oat) kernel extract, benzoic acid, citric acid, disodium EDTA, parfum (fragrance), inulin, methylisothiazolinone, sodium cocoyl glutamate, styrene/acrylates copolymer, xanthan gum

* Dislike the smell? Add a few drops of essential oil, whatever fits your fancy and doesn't irritate. Shake well. You may need to reshake before each use. Haven't done so with this stuff, but in the past I've added chamomile, sandalwood, neroil/orange flower water, rose-petal.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Klorane products

More Shampoo products