Rimmel • Volume Boost Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 3.7(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 taznim on 2/21/2011 2:16:00 PM more reviews by taznim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this lipstick, i have a browny- pink colour and it's gorgeous, very hydrating, very smooth, very natural, colour choices are lovely. I don't know if Rimmel still do this lipstick though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aguadora on 10/30/2009 10:07:00 AM more reviews by aguadora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Some reviewers seem to be mixing up the Volume Boost lipgloss a.k.a. "Full Volume Liquid Lip Color" (of which I have, oh... five different colors of) and the Volume Booster *Lipstick*, which is the lippie in the metallic red casing.

I didn't have any noticeable plumping effect, but not too bummed about it because I chose this for the color. I have "132 Audacious", which is a lovely peachy rose shade. Nude bordering on MLBB. At the store, it was a toss up between this and the color "Thrill", which is more of a beige nude.

There's a slight tingling sensation when I put this on, but not as much as with the lip gloss. Also, the lip gloss smells sweet, like candy and vanilla, but the lipstick... well, it smells like Play-Doh. Really. Thankfully it seems to become undetectable after a few minutes.

UPDATE: After getting Revlon's Mauve It Over, I've realized the Rimmel, in comparison, washes me out. It's still a nice peach color, but I've given this lippie to a friend whose low-contrast coloring it suits better. Funny aside: I forgot to mention the supposed Volume Boosting aspect, so she came back to me all startled by the "cold" feeling (tingling) on her lips. heh-heh. She agreed it made one pucker up, involuntarily. We then spent the rest of the day imitating porn star pouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CliniqueGal on 5/18/2009 12:55:00 PM more reviews by CliniqueGal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this in Foxy, number 102. I was going to buy Birthday Suit but it was very orange, and I was looking for a nice, nude pink.
Foxy is lovely, not too pale.
I dont see any volume boosting happening though. I didnt buy the lipstick for this purpose so I dont really mind, but I kind of think that a product should do what it says on the advertisement, so I took a point off.
It seems to stay on well, and is very pretty if you put some clear gloss on top!
Oh and I love the red packaging!
Would buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xAysha on 5/3/2009 4:49:00 PM more reviews by xAysha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought 3 of these in Clear as i found them in my local '99p shop'!! couldnt believe they were only 99p each lol so took the last 3! I use it as lip balm and before applying lipgloss/lipstick, it gets rid of any lines on my lips, leaves them so silky n pouty, makes them pinker and i love the tingle! i apply it before i go to sleep and i wake up to hydrated lips! i love the smell of them its like sweet kinda vanilla. x
this is what they look like
http://www.blushcosmetics.com/images/uploads/ril019.jpg

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samlovesmakeup on 10/9/2008 5:36:00 PM more reviews by samlovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Foxy 102, a nice salmony pink. It doesn't really give much extra volume but it's a cute everyday colour and I like the tingly sensation. The price isn't bad either. Overall, a nice product but nothing worth shouting about.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RikuMae on 6/19/2008 1:23:00 PM more reviews by RikuMae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i like this product i thought it plumped up my lips and had a nice tingling sensation. also it was quite moisturising for me but that might be because i put lipbalm on before hand. but when i took it off it left some sparkles on my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnKB on 5/4/2008 11:11:00 AM more reviews by AnnKB

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in 048 'Shocker' as I wanted to replace a l'oreal one I'd recently finished which was too soft.
This colour was very similar and it goes on smoothly with the usual tingling sensation. However there was no plumping and it seemed to dry my lips out and leave them puckered and old looking so wouldn't repurchase. Shame as the colour choices are lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnApologyFromEllenOlenska on 9/7/2007 9:58:00 AM more reviews by AnApologyFromEllenOlenska

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Especially for the price, you can't beat this product. I love the brush applicator; it feels really good applying the liquid lipcolor to my lips. I have this in Flirty, which is a sheer pale lip-enhancing kind of pink with a bit of sparkle, and it looks great with my light beige skin and ash blonde hair. Paired with Maybelline's Dream Mousse Blush in Pink Frosting, my face comes alive. Like other reviewers, I did take off one lippie because of the lack of staying power, but other than that I am very impressed with Rimmel lipsticks. I will be buying more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lotusindigo on 8/29/2007 2:32:00 AM more reviews by lotusindigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first lip plumping product I ever tried. I have to admit, it did seem to plump my lips a little. I even took before and after pictures. I liked the color as as well. But after awhile, the cooling feeling didn't happen anymore when I applied the lipstick... and so did the plumping. So much for a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachykeen01 on 8/16/2007 2:50:00 PM more reviews by peachykeen01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had been wanting to try this for awhile, but the shades were all so dark for me! I finally saw a nice MLBB shade named 'Flirty' and decided to try it. The first couple of times I used it I felt the tingling and thought it might have plumped up my lips a little, but I don't think it did. Now I don't feel anything when I apply it. Nice smooth texture, and I like the brush applicator. Since it doesn't plump, it's now just another MLBB gloss. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lipstick products