Peter Thomas Roth • Gentle Compexion Correction Pads • Treatments

rated 3.7(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ohtobeinparis on 8/6/2013 9:42:00 AM more reviews by ohtobeinparis

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

To paraphrase, if this is gentle, who needs abrasive? On the third night I used this product, I thought my skin was going to fall off, it burned so much. So I guess the glycolic and salicylic acids worked well, because the alcohol in this product was downright painful on the exfoliated skin. My opinion? Use at your own risk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Leslie2877 on 5/15/2013 9:48:00 AM more reviews by Leslie2877

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love these! I once had a glycolic mask at the spa and my skin came out flawless. I was looking for a product that would produce the same results. This is the closest thing that I have found that would do that. Although the results are not immediate for completely flawless skin, it does start working with its first use. My skin is much clearer and smoother. It also seems to shrink my pores. I love this stuff. I can't tell if my blemishes have disappeared yet since it's only been two weeks, but I upgraded my entire skin care product line and this one will be a staple unless I discover something better. I think it works better than the Origins brightening pads by far- and they're cheaper. I would recommend this, especially if you are trying to even out your skin tone and want smooth skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllyInc on 5/1/2013 6:54:00 AM more reviews by AllyInc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

after suffering from a hormonal breakout (after stopping Yasmin) and getting acne and hyperpigmentation, THIS and a daily dose of Zinc had worked wonders. I've taken zinc for 2 months and breakouts have decreased greatly, but these amazing pads make my skin absolutely smooth and dewy. only started using them for 3 weeks, 3-4 times weekly, and so happy with the results. getting comments from people saying my skin is looking great. they are quite expensive so i cut them into half. there was one time i used 1 entire pad and it might have been too strong for my skin because it stings a little. overall, i LOVE this and will continue buying because my skin feels and look even, the texture is great and smooth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elgruetz on 1/1/2013 1:39:00 PM more reviews by elgruetz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My niece bought these pads for my teenage daughter. She didn't care for them (I think she was expecting instant results). I used them and found them to be effective at drying up my pre-menopausal acne around my chin area. The product is pricey... would look for less expensive alternative if possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SmallTiki on 5/14/2012 6:35:00 PM more reviews by SmallTiki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

The alcohol in these was just too much for my skin. It was very irritating and actually caused excess oil to be produced a while after using. However, they did okay at clearing up actual pimple breakouts. If you have tougher skin that can take some abuse then these might not be so bad. I wasn't too fond of the plastic jar packaging, especially because it leaks when turned on the side, making it impossible to travel with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ebanks on 4/5/2012 10:09:00 AM more reviews by ebanks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is everything I have been looking for to add to my skincare routine. It successfully removes all leftover makeup left on my face after cleansing. i use these on my chest and back where I also seem to bave some proplems. It has lightend up my old acne scars and as a result I wear less makeup. They have a nice peach scent and is perfect with just a simple moistureizer after. My skin is softer and smoother than when I was in my teens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammasprajna on 2/22/2012 3:21:00 PM more reviews by ammasprajna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought these a while ago at Sephora at the recommendation of a sales girl. For the first few days, they seemed to do a nice job of reducing oiliness and calming breakouts, even if the product did leave a weird shine on my face that made me look like a plastic person. I figured I'd just use powder to help the finish, but lo and behold about a week into use my skin was peeling hideously. I was so sad because I really wanted to enjoy the great benefits of AHA and BHA. That's when I found Paula's Choice, and her exfoliants are just outstanding. I now have the perfect skin I've always envied on other girls, and people compliment me all the time.

But back to PTR padsóreading the great articles on cosmeticscop.com I learned so much about why this product is a complete waste of money, and I highly recommend taking the time to read the info on that website. First, the jar packaging lets air and light in every time you use these, so the active ingredients will degrade over time. JUST SAY NO TO JAR PACKAGING!! Second, these pads are LOADED with alcohol, which is a serious irritant. The temporary reduction is oiliness comes at a high cost: inflammation and the breakdown of collagen! Not good. Finally, these pads are HEAVILY fragranced, which is also irritating to the skin. Irritation can happen under the skin's surface and not show obvious signs of damage, but over time can age you faster. Btw, I also learned that witch hazel, menthol, and lavender are serious irritants, too, and are extremely common in skincare products.

There are better glycolic and salicylic products out there, don't be taken in by the hype! There is no FDA regulation of the ridiculous claims skincare products make, it's all marketing. Do your own research and enjoy the skin you've always wanted.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RiaRich on 1/16/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by RiaRich

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Update 11/28/2012:

I noticed if I use these 2-3x a week instead of everyday they work well. No more whiteheads and helps to face my acne scars. I'm going to test another brand of pads but I would definitely repurchase these

Update 2/2/12:
These pads are making my face purge in weird areas. I'm getting nasty white heads popping up on my cheeks, nose and forehead. They do go away quickly but I didn't buy this to purge my skin...I wanted something that would my existing scars and lightly peel the dead skin off. $36 later and unfortunately it looks I will be giving this away to my mom.


I have sensitive skin and this has not broken me out. I use these pads on my forehead, chin and cheeks after cleansing every night. I follow up with my Beauty Without Cruelty Vitamin C moisturizer and so far so good. I have dry skin but have not found this to be overly drying. Price is a little steep but worth a try..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 corgi75 on 1/5/2012 4:57:00 AM more reviews by corgi75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I suspect these pads have started to cause me to have cystic acne around my chin. I've been using them for 3 months and found that my 36 year old acne prone combination skin is defintely smoother however i've experienced the worst cysts that i've had since my teens.

I'd started using these pads as part of a new skincare regime to wean me off Proactiv after having used it for a year. So of course I can't say for sure that the PTR pads are to blame. At worst, they are causing the cysts. At best; they are doing nothing to prevent them.

They seem overpriced - $49AUD - for what they are; essentially they are alcohol-soaked and peach scented textured discs. I cut mine in half for maximum use; you don't need the whole disc for your face as they are very wet. While inhaling the faux-peach alcohol scent you think they should work....but they have not with me. I have about 3 left in my tub and am trying out the Medibac acne kit by Dermalogica next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashley920 on 12/21/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by ashley920

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using these pads once a day for about a month. I've noticed very slight results. My main reason why I bought them was that I was looking for something that would make my skin nice and glowy and even out my complexion for the winter months. My skin is pretty clear to begin with but my pores get clogged VERY easily & occasionally I will break out. I was hoping it would clear my pores out as well. I've noticed that It has made my face a little brighter and has kept my pores clean. The downside is that I have extremely oily skin and I noticed that the pads are VERY saturated. Too much of the solution on my face left it sticky and a tacky film. It would leave my skin to become oily very quick after I had applied my foundation. I cut the pads to make them last longer because this is very pricey..i believe about 36$'s!! I will continue to use them but I may not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Peter Thomas Roth products

More Treatments products