Blistex Silk & Shine

3.3

256 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Dimethicone (2. 0% Skin Protectant), Octyl Methoxycinnamate (7. 5% Sunscreen), Oxybenzone (2. 5% Sunscreen). -------------- Inactive Ingredients: Arachidyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Behenyl Alcohol, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Butylparaben, Corn Oil, Flavor, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Isobutylparaben, Isostearoyl Hydrolized Silk, Methylparaben, Mica, Microcrystalline Wax, Mineral Oil, Ozokerite, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Paraffin, Pentaerythrityl Tetraoctanoate, Petrolatum, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polybutene, Polyethylene, Propylparaben, PPG-5-Ceteth-20, Retinyl Palmitate, Saccharin, Titanium Dioxide, Tocopheryl Acetate.


on 11/20/2014 6:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This used to be my favorite lip balm. I would alternate between this one and the Deep Renewal. Recently, bought a new tube tried it then realized it was a new formula. This had sparkles in it! I don't want sparkles in my lip balm. I wanted a shiny, moisturized look with that lemon water scent I love. I contacted Blistex and confirmed they did change the formula. However they got back to me and offered to send me a newer product Ultra Rich Hydration along with my backup favorite Deep Renewal. They also want me to send back the silk & shine since it irritates my lips now. I am not sure if they will bring the old formula back but if they did I would get it. But for now stay away from this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/12/2014 3:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My lips are just horrible and chap daily, even with my LUSH bubblegum lip exfoliator that I use every 12 hours. The only lip balms that have ever worked for me have been Blistex. I was using the last balm of my Blistex Fruit Smoothies trio and went out to CVS to buy more, but they only had this! I was curious and in need of a new balm, so I bought it. I'm so glad I did! This balm smells like cherry/tropical punch and is white/clear in color with shiny mica minerals. It is so moisturizing on the lips, and lasts for 2-4 hours on me. Having the SPF 15 is fantastic because I live somewhere very sunny and hot! I would buy this again, no problem! I think the only thing I would change is the price. At my CVS, it was $4.94, which is quite a bit for a Blistex Balm, but I'll go to Walmart next time. Great buy!

UPDATE:

I've been using this balm for 2 weeks and I'm obsessed with it! It smells so delicious and keeps my lips so moisturized. My dry, chapped lips are gone and replaced by smooth, supple lips! And the little bit of shine in this balm makes them look gorgeous! I will definitely


on 8/6/2013 2:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this lip balm! Whenever i wear it or just open the tube, I get compliments on how nice it smells, thats a big plus! Its a nice fruity sweet scent. Its got spf 15 which is perfect for daytime use. I keep it in my purse. Its very light, nothing heavy or greasy, but it does the job of softening my lips and leaving a nice gloss finish. If you like thick and sticky balms or glosses, this isnt for you. The packaging is pretty good, but I wish it was more like a standard chapstick dispenser, this is close, but it could maybe break off more easily.


on 7/29/2013 9:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this off of clearance at Target for $2. This is seriously the best blistex product ever. It goes on smoothly. Its better than the nivea stuff. It gives a light shine but it does moisturize your lips pretty well. Its my new favorite !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2013 12:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't buy this product again. It didn't make my lips less dry it was just a thin layer on top of my lips. It made my lips a lot more dry. Although it did actually give a shine to my lips I wouldn't want to buy it again.


on 3/10/2013 10:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I had high hopes for this product. Almost everyone I know uses Silk & Shine. I purchased it, and absolutely hated it. I don't like the way my lips feel (sticky and waxy) and I find it actually quite drying. My lips were even more dry AFTER applying. The taste is horrible. However, it is shiny and the packaging is good. I prefer the original Blistex over this. Will not be repurchasing.


on 2/25/2013 5:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I loved it! I bought it yesterday from walmart for buy one get one free for 98 cents! I was excited to try it because I mostly use chapstick and nothing else, and it has a smooth and silk texture! I keep using it and I will definetly use it again!


on 2/12/2013 8:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I freakin love this lip balm!! Everytime I see it at the store I purchase another one. It really does help moisturizer my lips in the winter and my lips are almost never dry now. It smells amazing! Give it a try(:


on 11/22/2012 12:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After Fresh Lip Sugar, this would be my second favorite lip balm. It's one of the few that don't make my lips peel soon after application. This is good to apply prior to putting on lipstick or lipstain. When I can't splurge on the Lip Sugar, this is definitely my go to lip balm.


on 10/2/2012 11:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the worst tasting lip balms. It leaves a very thin layer on the lips that doesn't really sink in. If you hate the feeling of dry chapped lips under a film, this is not for you...


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1524 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3603 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top