Blistex • Silk & Shine • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(256 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* organicmoon on 11/20/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by organicmoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This used to be my favorite lip balm. I would alternate between this one and the Deep Renewal. Recently, bought a new tube tried it then realized it was a new formula. This had sparkles in it! I don't want sparkles in my lip balm. I wanted a shiny, moisturized look with that lemon water scent I love. I contacted Blistex and confirmed they did change the formula. However they got back to me and offered to send me a newer product Ultra Rich Hydration along with my backup favorite Deep Renewal. They also want me to send back the silk & shine since it irritates my lips now. I am not sure if they will bring the old formula back but if they did I would get it. But for now stay away from this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenjen182 on 7/12/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by jenjen182

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My lips are just horrible and chap daily, even with my LUSH bubblegum lip exfoliator that I use every 12 hours. The only lip balms that have ever worked for me have been Blistex. I was using the last balm of my Blistex Fruit Smoothies trio and went out to CVS to buy more, but they only had this! I was curious and in need of a new balm, so I bought it. I'm so glad I did! This balm smells like cherry/tropical punch and is white/clear in color with shiny mica minerals. It is so moisturizing on the lips, and lasts for 2-4 hours on me. Having the SPF 15 is fantastic because I live somewhere very sunny and hot! I would buy this again, no problem! I think the only thing I would change is the price. At my CVS, it was $4.94, which is quite a bit for a Blistex Balm, but I'll go to Walmart next time. Great buy!

UPDATE:

I've been using this balm for 2 weeks and I'm obsessed with it! It smells so delicious and keeps my lips so moisturized. My dry, chapped lips are gone and replaced by smooth, supple lips! And the little bit of shine in this balm makes them look gorgeous! I will definitely

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sured20 on 8/6/2013 2:42:00 AM more reviews by Sured20

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lip balm! Whenever i wear it or just open the tube, I get compliments on how nice it smells, thats a big plus! Its a nice fruity sweet scent. Its got spf 15 which is perfect for daytime use. I keep it in my purse. Its very light, nothing heavy or greasy, but it does the job of softening my lips and leaving a nice gloss finish. If you like thick and sticky balms or glosses, this isnt for you. The packaging is pretty good, but I wish it was more like a standard chapstick dispenser, this is close, but it could maybe break off more easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hinda15 on 7/29/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Hinda15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this off of clearance at Target for $2. This is seriously the best blistex product ever. It goes on smoothly. Its better than the nivea stuff. It gives a light shine but it does moisturize your lips pretty well. Its my new favorite !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cupcakegrl on 7/15/2013 12:19:00 PM more reviews by cupcakegrl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't buy this product again. It didn't make my lips less dry it was just a thin layer on top of my lips. It made my lips a lot more dry. Although it did actually give a shine to my lips I wouldn't want to buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thislividity on 3/10/2013 10:19:00 AM more reviews by thislividity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this product. Almost everyone I know uses Silk & Shine. I purchased it, and absolutely hated it. I don't like the way my lips feel (sticky and waxy) and I find it actually quite drying. My lips were even more dry AFTER applying. The taste is horrible. However, it is shiny and the packaging is good. I prefer the original Blistex over this. Will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liam21213 on 2/25/2013 5:45:00 PM more reviews by liam21213

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I loved it! I bought it yesterday from walmart for buy one get one free for 98 cents! I was excited to try it because I mostly use chapstick and nothing else, and it has a smooth and silk texture! I keep using it and I will definetly use it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jesse806 on 2/12/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Jesse806

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I freakin love this lip balm!! Everytime I see it at the store I purchase another one. It really does help moisturizer my lips in the winter and my lips are almost never dry now. It smells amazing! Give it a try(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 11/22/2012 12:16:00 PM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After Fresh Lip Sugar, this would be my second favorite lip balm. It's one of the few that don't make my lips peel soon after application. This is good to apply prior to putting on lipstick or lipstain. When I can't splurge on the Lip Sugar, this is definitely my go to lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lillian1717 on 10/2/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by lillian1717

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of the worst tasting lip balms. It leaves a very thin layer on the lips that doesn't really sink in. If you hate the feeling of dry chapped lips under a film, this is not for you...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products