Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(1297 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 AshKay on 8/30/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by AshKay

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first experience with a tinted moisturiser. I am a 44 year old with naturally aging skin with a few fine lines, hyperpigmentation, slight redness, yet neutral light olive normal skin. My main aim with my naturally aging skin is to have flawless looking skin with the use of foundation. Not easy. I am also a self confessed foundation addict and should start a foundation addicts anonymous club!
I have tried every foundation from cheap to high end brands and my last two that I have used with some success have been EL DWL (intensity 2) and Mac Pro long wear NC 20.

I have heard good things about Laura Mercier and thought I would give her foundation a try. Popped into David Jones and was literally attacked by an over zealous LM make up trainer who despite my request for the silk creme foundation, insisted I try the Tinted moisturiser (Nude) and along with the LM radiance primer (bronze) and camouflage concealer duo (4) to achieve the "flawless skin", LM tag line.

After applying the primer, I looked orange and commented on it, but was told I looked sun-kissed (note to self- listen to your inner voice you are always right) and after the tinted moisturiser was applied, looked distinctly "au natural" (read obviously flawed). Despite this I allowed the LG make up trainer to apply the camouflage concealer to my pigmentation areas which to be fair did conceal them.

Long story short, I was bullied into purchasing products for $266 (Aussie dollars) which I did not want...I left with tinted moisturiser, primer, concealer for face and eyes and setting powder and puff (which I hate for hygiene reasons). It sucks being a politeness junkie!

The tinted moisturiser colour in nude is a good match. Ladies if you have perfect skin with even tone, this is a good option for you. However, ladies with real skin and real 40 plus skin issues such as uneven tone, redness, pigmentation or sun spots or discolouration, this is really not an option. Why would any sensible person try to slap on 3 products (for the price of three! ) instead of one good coverage foundation product at a third of that price. Not to mention it is a waste of time to apply tinted moisturiser (which covers nothing), then have a second go with (camouflage concealer) and then a third go with under eye concealer. Really?

No thanks. Not to mention my absolute disappointment and disgust with the LM counter at DJs and make up Trainer for completely disregarding this customer's preference (after all I think I know my skin better) and selling me products that will not achieve my objective. Shame on you LM sales lady at DJ! I won't be visiting again. So I will never find out whether the silk creme foundation would have worked for me. The orange orangutan look is not my personal look thanks.

Shame on me for not being a discerning customer and walking away from the counter!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boobookeys on 8/16/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by boobookeys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm around NC20 and the colour Nude comes off a little orange on me due to oxidation. I'm not sure if a lighter shade will match me better.

This is quite a peculiar product. When you squeeze it out of the tube and start blending it on your face (I use my fingers), it feels very thin. The watery-moisture part of the product was separated from the pigment part, so it's almost as if you're blending two products together. This made it hard to blend because you had to make sure both parts were evenly spread over your face. However, it gets better as the product begins to set on your face. The texture completely transforms, no longer feeling watery and instead feeling a bit tacky. I really enjoyed how it felt once it had set. The finish once set wasn't extremely dewy, I would say. There was more of just a dewy sheen on the skin. But it felt great because it wasn't "wet" on the face since the product had already set.

The coverage is sheer to light. I used 2 layers to achieve light coverage but stopped after that because I could tell the coverage couldn't be built up anymore. It definitely blurs out your pores and evens out the skin very well, so if you have good skin in the first place, this would definitely take it up a notch on its own. However, any other imperfections like blemishes can still be seen if you have any.

I have combo/oily skin so I did set this with a powder, but my oils break through quite quickly to the point where I needed to blot, maybe within 2 hours (this is around my T-zone).

This is definitely not for everyone. The pros of this for me is definitely how it sets, which makes the product feel light and as if you're wearing anything on your skin. However, oils break through easily and it oxidises to an orangey colour.

I'm now using this product only if I'm going out for a short while, and topped with a powder foundation to up the coverage and control the oils a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SDSok on 8/1/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by SDSok

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My two older sisters and my mother both swear by this product. They've used it faithfully for years, so obviously I tried it. But I just didn't fall in love with it like they, and so many other people I've heard and seen on MUA, did. I have acne prone combo skin. It DID NOT make me break out, but it did make me feel oily. I've never used it with primer or any finishing powder, just the moisturizer. Very little coverage, okay coloring.. Idk I just didn't love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 addkg777 on 8/1/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

im not sure why there was so much hype around this.. there was nothing and i mean nothing special about it. it didnt last long at all and practically slipped off my face. the colors were limited and i think it made me break out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 7/18/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I purchased this in the shade Nude. It seems to be a good match for NC20. I tried it a few years ago, but did not like the formula because it felt very greasy on my oily skin and didn't give me the coverage I was looking for (acne scarring). Now that I've been working on my skin care for a few years, my skin is much more even toned and more balanced. However, this still looked pretty oily on my face. After I wore it for a few days, I got cystic acne too. This is a cult favorite, and may work for some people, but not me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CroatBoat on 7/4/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by CroatBoat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh I wanted to love this but something has been breaking me out lately so the last 2 days I've only worn this on my face and now I'm 99% sure this is what's breaking me out.

Im disappointed because it made my skin look nicer without feeling heavy. Oh well.

Also the packaging leaked alot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SashaKHolt on 7/3/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by SashaKHolt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using Laura Mercier's tinted moisturizer for about 3 years now, and I absolutely love it. It gives me the perfect amount of coverage without emitting any type of a "cakey" look or feeling. That being said, this product definitely isn't for everyone! It won't give the same coverage or "flawless finish" that a foundation can. I would absolutely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a more natural look; this product can correct redness and uneven coloring but isn't heavy enough to do anything more serious than that.
Another note: a little goes a long way with this product! I don't need more than a dab to completely cover my face because its super light & blends SO easily. I got one tube to last me up to 8 months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blairreebear on 6/30/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by blairreebear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this so much :'( . I put it on and it blended in perfect, perfect color match and really easy to blend. It's summer time so I was looking for something really light but still not showing imperfections. Maybe 2 days later I had some break outs, next day more and so on. I stopped using it and my skin slowly went back to normal after releasing all the left over that was still underneath my skin. I haven't broke out this bad in forever. It's a great TM though I just wouldn't recommend it to anyone with acne prone skin. If I can save anyone from the unfortunate situation I went through I will. Definitely test it and see if your skin will be okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheModType on 6/30/2014 3:49:00 AM more reviews by TheModType

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why, but after purchasing this it sat in the bottom of my makeup bag for a quite some time. I only recently rediscovered it, and remember why I fell in love with it. The finish is just so beautiful, and I feel like the coverage is pretty good for a tinted moisturizer. I have nc 20 skin now, and when I purchased it I was slightly darker, making the colour I have now (bisque) too dark. Given the consistancy I am still able to wear it though. I plan on repurchasing this in the shade "nude." Some negatives: the packaging, as so many have said, is terrible. I feel like I can't control how much product comes out, and a lot is wasted. However, this gets better with use. Overall I think it is a really great foundation! I have normal- combination skin for reference :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ShakiraShakira on 6/25/2014 7:05:00 PM more reviews by ShakiraShakira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Sooo as part of my seemingly never ending quest for a good foundation/tinted moisturiser, I decided to try out LM on account of all of the good reviews it's gotten on a number of websites. I paid a £33 for a tube, which was pretty steep in my opinion, but worthwhile if it worked. Unfortunately this isn't the tinted moisturiser for me for a number of reasons:

1) It provides extremely light coverage, too light for me without wearing concealer underneath. It looks like I have nothing on and I've noticed a distinct lack of compliments on my skin since wearing this. Hmm...

2) It transfers on to EVERYTHING. My clothes, fingers, paper, fiancé. I'm afraid to give hugs just in case the person I hug ends up a greasy, brown stained mess. Yikes.

3) It slides off my face after about an hour and leaves my skin looking extremely greasy. I may get less than an hour in the summer.

4) It's not a perfect match for my complexion and oxidises to a weird orange colour throughout the day.

5) Smells like sunscreen. I do like the texture though!

In all whilst this isn't really really awful it's bad enough for me to not purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products