Rimmel • Stay Matte Compact Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.8(52 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 morganmercer on 3/11/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by morganmercer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I just recently purchased this cause all my friends were raving about it and I love it! the matte affect works and there's all types of shades. it stays for a while. the odd time I will have to apply twice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CGH96 on 3/31/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by CGH96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I repurchase all the time, its an amazing sealing powder! keeps my makeup in place and is only 3.99! i have the translucent one so I can use it throughout the year and it would look orange! bends foundationwell and can be a life saver...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EmmaSalvatore on 1/17/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by EmmaSalvatore

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't the best powder but its really cheap it helps my foundation stay on a little it dosnt make my face cake up and the lightest shade is perfect for my skin tone so I might repurchase again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pnko on 4/29/2012 6:24:00 AM more reviews by Pnko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I only use it with a brush to make my face appear matte. And it's decent.
I don't use it to cover anything because the lightest color is too dark for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* phalaenopsis_619 on 3/31/2011 5:02:00 PM more reviews by phalaenopsis_619

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have this in porcelain 101. It was very cheap, so I didn't have high expectation for this powder foundation. It's really a very mediocre product. It doesn't keep shine away as well as it claims ("stay matte"?), and tends to oxidize in a few hours. It comes with a mirror. I wish there was a compartment or a film for sponge because I couldn't close it just so I can place a piece of plastic to separate the sponge. The sponge isn't a good quality one either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xxdelyxx on 11/27/2010 7:13:00 PM more reviews by xxdelyxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Reading other reviews on this product I have only found negative comments. Really this product is not good quality, but at such a low price ( I think it cost me 7 euros?) you really cant be expecting amazing results. I found the only way to use this foundation was to mix it with moisturiser as it really dried out my skin.After a day I came home and all dat was left of it was patches of it clumped on dry skin, really not attractive ! I also used the matching concealer and thought it was ok and did its job, wouldnt be mad about it though as it was a bit too thick. Otherwise I do like rimmel products such as eye liner, mascara etc but I dont think this is one of their better products :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaxFun on 5/17/2010 6:54:00 AM more reviews by MaxFun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As a foundation itself it's pretty useless I think. It works more like a powder with good coverage (for a powder, not for a foundation). I would probably use it alone in the summer time if I had good skin.
At first I wanted to throw it away, cause it's also a tad too dark for my skin. But I found a way to use it. Now that I got a bit of a tan, I use it as a setting powder over my liquid foundation (which is now a bit too light for me) to balance the tone out. It gives a bit of extra coverage and works quite well in keeping everything nice and matte.
I don't like the sponge that comes with it though, I have no idea how I'm supposed to use this. I apply it with a normal powder brush.
So overall it's an okay product, just not for its actual purpose.
It's on sale all the time around here, so I might actually repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 3/6/2010 7:14:00 AM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Keep in mind that i probably bought a shade 2 shades too dark for my skin! I found this foundation useless - powdery, thick and makes my already enlarged pores even larger! It gave me a very monotone/heavy look even with light application. I can't even touch up with this compact because it is so far from my colour and has a orange coloured base (I'm asian, so anything too yellow/orange shows up very obviously on my skin). I basically just use this for the mirror. It frustrates me that i can't give this a better review because i approve of most Rimmel products!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JessicaSarahS on 3/4/2010 10:08:00 PM more reviews by JessicaSarahS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a couple years ago as a clearance item at target for $1. I bought natural beige which ended up being three shades darker than what I had expected. So I now use it as a contour color. It works great for that! But as an all-over face powder, I'd say no since the colors are unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dahliakatz on 1/24/2010 5:44:00 PM more reviews by dahliakatz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE:

After a few weeks it seems to have broken me out (the tiny bumps on my forehead are always the best tell). Nuts. Might still try to use it on my eyelids.
------------------------------------------Previous review:
I was surprised to be so impressed with this product. I bought it on a whim (I'm a pretty consistent BE mineral makeup user), looking for a matte option (to my knowledge, BE matte foundation isn't available in Canada).

My skin is in excellent condition since I started moisturizing with coconut oil, so I don't need coverage, per se, just a finished/refined look. It stays matte all day, and even refuses to cake on my persistent oily lids! It's almost as effective as an actual eye makeup primer.

Also was surprised to find a colour that matches my olive skin (Ivory is perfect for some reason!). I always have a terrible challenge finding matches...

Smooth application, and sets beautifully on my coconut-oil moisturized skin -- AND STILL STAYS MATTE. My morning routine just got more efficient!

Holy crap.

Speaking of crap, though, the packaging is really flimsy. I'll just be careful with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Foundations products