Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab • Mata Hari • Fragrances

rated 2.7(11 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haloinrverse on 6/29/2008 10:58:00 AM more reviews by haloinrverse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

from the bewitching brews series

notes: "Her scent is striking and bold with a delicate yet dark undertone: five roses with soft jasmine, warmed by vanilla, fig, tonka bean and mahogany, spiced with a drop of coffee bean."

in the vial: wah! jasmine. i had so hoped that it would be hanging out in the background. on the exhale, i get something so fruity that it reminds me of actual fruit snacks (those chewy fake jellied things in individual serving packets.)

wet on skin: this is pretty good. the jasmine is pretty reminiscent of LUSH's version of jasmine, and that always suits me just fine when other versions smell like diapers. it still getting that wonderfully fruity scent, but not much else. its definitely not rose, of which i dont smell a drop, strangely!

dry down: thats some jasmine and fruit, all right.

verdict: when i dont know quite how i feel about a scent, i ask mr. halo to tell me what he thinks. he doesnt know his ass from his elbow when it comes to this girly crap, and divides scents into "smells nice" or "ick!" camps. after much thought, all i got out of him was "smells ok. at first i didnt like it, but then it smelled ok." yeah, thats pretty much where im at. smells ok, wishi it smelled better, and where the hell are the tonka, vanilla, coffee, fig, and everything else that had me looking forward to this? if you like jasmine that doesnt reek to high heaven, go for it. if it was called "non-stinky jasmine suitable for layering with other fragrances" then i would give it a 5+.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hallospaceboy on 12/19/2007 10:32:00 PM more reviews by hallospaceboy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't hate this like some do. In fact, I'm largely indifferent to it. Bitter black coffee and sweet jasmine. Interesting and strangely addicting, but an imp is all I'll ever need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LaBellaDameSansMerci on 12/13/2007 2:20:00 PM more reviews by LaBellaDameSansMerci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Funny, I had no idea this had roses in it…I couldn’t smell them at all. This had a “dark” smell to it. Possibly the coffee bean? I was so excited for this scent, however, I do not think it will make my “routine” fragrances. It was ok, I liked the smell, and I will definitely use all of my imp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stickgirl on 4/4/2006 8:50:00 AM more reviews by stickgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I finally realized that I detest jasmine... everything else in scents with jasmine in them seems to get lost and I just can't like them, no matter how wonderful the other notes are. Sorry Mata Hari, I tried!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nancybridget02091979 on 3/19/2006 11:14:00 PM more reviews by nancybridget02091979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I want to say I get loads of fabulous vanilla and coffee and all of the other fabulous notes listed in Mata Hari, but all I get is jasmine - and maybe a dash of rose. Pretty, but ordinary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Scarlettfish on 8/5/2005 2:05:00 AM more reviews by Scarlettfish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get any trace of coffee bean at all from this. Which, at first, was disappointing, given how much coffee I've been known to consume (it seems fitting I should wear a coffee-ish perfume), but really, I don't miss it at all. This is a lovely roses-and-jasmine blend on me, with a smoothness given by the tonka that isn't so in your face sweet as vanilla. Very floral, but sophisticated as well. Love it - will definitely get a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2westies on 6/27/2005 11:16:00 AM more reviews by 2westies

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

If coffee bean hadn't been listed in the notes, I never would have known it was there; ditto rose, vanilla and fig. All I get is raging jasmine, and it's of the dirty diaper variety. Mata Hari is another that sounds great on paper, yet doesn't work for me at all. To quote the DA on Law & Order, "make this one go away".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fundercat55 on 10/23/2004 4:22:00 PM more reviews by fundercat55

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This one smells of COFFEE when I forst put it on. As it dries the fig and tonka come out and the coffee fades away. The dry down scent is a soft, rich, warm scent...I just don't like having to spend the first 30 minutes smelling like the roast of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lemonlye on 9/13/2004 9:10:00 PM more reviews by lemonlye

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, it definitely smells better on my skin than it did in the vial, where my first thought was "Ack! Stale coffee and flowers!" But on my skin the coffee settles down to a more edible roast with some fruity touches to it - maybe I'm crazy, but I get almost a grape-gum flavor in there somewhere. Other than that: yes, roses and jasmine; with an impression of violet too. A strange mix, what with the coffee lingering through it, but probably the right feel for a deadly lady spy who frequents cafes. Doesn't offend the nose, but doesn't quite fit me either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sexyredhead on 9/3/2004 10:58:00 AM more reviews by sexyredhead

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

In the imp: coffee

Wet on my skin: HELLO! My name is Rose! I'm wearing a rose-colored sweater and I live in a rose-colored house on Rose Street and I love picking bunches of roses from my yard and taking them to rosey-cheeked people in my rose-colored car! The world is just so rosey!

Drydown: The rose has faded. Now I smell like a candle my grandmother left me when she died. It's in a pretty crystal container and it's listed as Vanilla Spice, and it smells so good that we never burn it but I had to take off the lid and smell it every time I went to her house growing up. The vanilla has come out along with some spices and this is just so pretty. I may have to get a bottle of this just for sentimental reasons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab products

More Fragrances products