Murad • Acne Complex© • Skincare - Face

rated 2.3(257 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 bumblevi on 10/14/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by bumblevi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After the skincare line that I had been previously using reformulated their products, my skin took a turn for the worse and I started to develop mild adult acne. I panicked and saw this kit at Sephora. I tried it without doing any research and I wish I never had. I had high hopes, but I had a bad reaction to the products and after a week of using it, developed more pimples in spots that were never a problem to me. I specifically developed about 30 whiteheads all around my nose, which was horrifying. I immediately stopped using it, and the whiteheads went away, but my other acne problems persisted. The only thing in this kit that was useable was the lotion, but it wasn't very moisturizing and had a "glue" smell, but is good as a primer for an oily T zone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LittleMary01 on 9/2/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by LittleMary01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff,I had a sample and it cleared up all my acne in only 3 days! I bought the full bottle and I love it! The first day I used it I noticed a big difference the day after,most of my acne was cleared up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lauraleeloo on 7/23/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by lauraleeloo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted this to work. I've tried Proactiv in the past and it maybe helps...a little. But my skin isn't horrible (just occasional really bad, long lasting acne sores) so I don't always need anything. After a review from a blogger I follow who LOVES this stuff, I went to my local Sephora and bought it.

Huge mistake. After 2 days of use, no results. After 3 days I had a horrible reaction. My face was on fire, itchy, burning and I developed new bumps....huge blackheads....I tried for one more day when my mother (who did not know I was using a new product) told me, kindly, that maybe I should take a trip to the doctor because my face looked so bad. I've stopped using it but my face is taking a long time to heal.

If you have sensitive skin at all, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! In fact I highly recommend you ONLY BUY THIS PRODUCT UNDER RECOMMENDATION FROM A DOCTOR. I wish I could turn back the last two weeks and not apply this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 odoml06 on 7/15/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by odoml06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start off by saying that I used to have pretty bad acne, which became worse in my late teens/early twenties (now 26). With that said I have tried my fair share of acne treatments from OTC, TV infomercials (Proactive and Murad), and prescriptions such as Differin and finally Acutane. I remember using Murad and I couldn't recall why I stopped using it, other than I had super acne that just wouldn't die...honestly all the treatments became a blur. It wasn't until I saw an Endocrinologist (who put me on a specific type of birth control), and a dermatologist that perscribed me Acutane that my skin finally seemed to calm down. I think age helped too, I still have hormonal breakouts...which brings me to my review and why I decided to try Murad again.

I recently had a bad hormonal breakout and bought the Murad Acne Complex Starter Kit at my local BX, which includes the: clarifying cleanser, acne clearing system, spot treatment, and oil control mattifying SPF 15. I also purchased another Murad kit which included the exfoliating serum and sulfur mask. The first day of using it was okay, the cleanser felt tingly and refreshing. I then did one of the treatments (products labeled 2), and the lotion. The next day I noticed my acne was drying up a little, yay! That was short-lived, by the end of the day into the next day I had some more pimples appear. I understand when you start a new treatment that will happen. I've seen and read enough to know that a treatment will sometimes bring baby pimples not yet seen to the naked eye to the surface, what many people call "purging". What I didn't understand is why my face felt so dry and itchy! Luckily it didn't look half as dry as it felt, I guess you could call that lucky. It just continued to get worse the next day, so that night I used a different cleanser and lotion...and even put a wet towel on my face to relieve the pain and drank lots of water. The next day my face felt much better, still dry but at least my face didn't feel like it had been attacked by sandpaper!

I am remembering why I did not continue with Murad, it is just too harsh for me. I know my skin is not super sensitive, I've tried prescription medications such as Acutane and Differin gel (and also OTC persa gel) but they never caused that kind of reaction. They did make my skin a little dry in the beginning, but not painfully dry as with Murad. Since I was using the kit, it is kind of hard to pin point it on one specific product. If I had to guess the main culprit I'd say either the clarifying cleanser or the exfoliating serum. I don't think the lotion is all that great either, obviously didn't help with the dryness. I also don't like it when acne products put SPF in their lotion, but this lotion at least is not oily like some SPF products can be.

The reason I rated it a three is because I think the kit has potential to be used individually and I do like the mask. Using them altogether may just be too much! It also seems like a lot of people have had success with Murad, so I don't want to discourage against the product completely...just be cautious! I recommend purchasing the starter kit like I did if you really want to try it, they are sample sizes and will run around $30 for the whole kit vs. spending $30 on just one of their regular size products; which could go to waste if you feel it's not right for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 myia04 on 7/1/2014 8:17:00 PM more reviews by myia04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was super excited to start this acne kit so that I can get rid of the few extra blemishes I did have. After one night of using this stuff, the next day I took a look in the mirror and all hell had broken lose. I had acne in places where I NEVER get acne. I mean like huge clusters of bumps that hurt so bad! I will be returning this kit. And I would warn you not to use this stuff. Now I'm on the hunt to find something to clear these blemishes..smh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 booboondoll on 4/14/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by booboondoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this for years and am clear. It took about two months to clear my skin completly. BEWARE THOUGH theres a new murad acne complex that contains Benzoyl Peroxide known to cause chemical burns and severe eye swelling allergic reactions. Too bad because i loved the old kit.

STILL USING THIS. *****11/21/2014*******

Love Murad. I am still using it DAILY IN THE A.M. AND P.M. only because it works for me, that's why I don't stray from it.

Just for your info, I also added an antibiotic topical toner called clindamycin to my murad and Vanicream moisturizing night cream for the winter weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hinae26 on 3/10/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Hinae26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

For everyone saying that the Murad doesn't work, KEEP USING IT.

Over the past 7 years I have suffered from SEVERE cystic acne, and have tried virtually every over the counter topical product (Proactive, LUSH products, Acne Free, Clean and Clear, the Body Shop Tea tree line, etc.), topical prescription (Retin-A. Clindamycin, Dapsone, etc) , and internal prescription (minocycline and Bacrtrim) with results not lasting longer than 6 months for a topical and a year for an internal. (Except for Bactrim DS which I took every day for 2 years, after which I became resistant to most antibiotics and decided to discontinue use.)

I was unable to try accutane due to several joint/ bone issues I have, so I essentially gave up at this point and decided to just wait it out until my skin changed as I grew older.

Then this year (my sophomore year of college) my mom had me try the Murad system.

The first 8 weeks were TERRIBLE. I had never seen my skin that bad. Literally every inch of my face and neck was bright red and covered in cysts. They even popped up inside of my nose, on my lips, and inside of my ears which I didn't know was possible.

I decided to stick with it because the labeling said there would be a "purging" period and maybe I just had a lot to purge.

After 8 weeks things became better, and after 10 my skin was essentially clear. I have now been using Murad for 8 months and apart from the occasional pimple, my skin is almost completely normal. I do have a large degree of scarring from the terrible purging period, but after incorporating the "post acne spot lightning gel" to my regime, even that is confined to my lower cheeks and jawline.

If you are where I was 8 months ago and you have been through ALL of the prescriptions and everything else, and HONESTLY feel like you have nothing to lose, I highly recommend this system. The purging period will be VERY VERY difficult, but if you are as desperate as I was and you're willing to wait it out for at least 3 months, I would definitely try it out.

If anyone wants to see some before and after pictures, you can message me on here and I can send them to you. I really really believe this product can work if you use it religiously and give it enough time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TigerPapaya on 12/30/2013 8:45:00 AM more reviews by TigerPapaya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My mum bought this for me as I suffer with breakouts of hormonal cysts. 2 days in of only using once a day, my face is burning. I have tiny itchy pimples all over my face and painful small blisters around my nose. It has completely dried my skin out. I cant risk anymore irritation on my face and so will not be using any of the products again. I have never had a reaction to any products like this, I feel hideous and low. I just hope the reaction is short lived :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sfs08 on 12/4/2013 3:08:00 AM more reviews by Sfs08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Despite all the negative reviews I decided to try the 60 day kit out for myself. I'm two weeks in and I like it a lot so far. The cleanser is a decent size, the exfoliating gel is a bit different but I like it alright. I really like the moisturizer, it absorbs into the skin well which I love. Now for my skin: for the most part I have somewhat sensitive combination skin with the occasional hormonal breakout. However recently I've been suffering from cystic acne all over my chin. It's bad! Anyways I think that if you have very sensitive skin you should stay away from this product, I also think people use way too much of it as well. Try using only once a day( I know the instructions say twice :x ) I also think some people aren't patient enough to wait out the time it takes for skin to benefit from a product. Lastly, although pretty pricey it's the only product I've seen real results from for my skin. Hope that helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 suthareec on 11/17/2013 5:58:00 PM more reviews by suthareec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started seeing results within the first couple of days that I used this product. Almost all of my little whiteheads were gone and the cystic acne were shrinking. However, after the 5th day my skin started feeling really dry and itchy so I took a break from it, which I planned to do for a day. That was the last time I used it, it is now the 8th day. My skin is still very dry, it itches like crazy and feels like its on fire. If I look closely, my face has tiny bumps, almost like a rash and feels leathery. The skin under my eyes are very wrinkly and has a very "aged" look to it. I don't have pimples, but this reaction is way worse in my opinion. I just returned this today, and I will never try anything from Murad again. It's going to take so long to get my skin back to normal now, if it hasn't been permanently damaged.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Skincare - Face products