Murad Acne Complex©

2.3

258 reviews

30% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Acne Complex® Introductory Kit Clarifying Cleanser Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (1.5%) Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Methyl Gluceth-20, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Butylene Glycol, Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Silver Citrate, Menthol, PEG-150 Distearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Corn Starch Octenylsuccinate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cocamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Polysorbate 80, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Methylisothiazolinone, Limonene, Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine) Leaf Oil, Cymbopogon Nardus (Citronella) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Fragrance (Parfum) Exfoliating Acne Treatment Gel Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (1.0%) Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Alcohol Denat, Glycolic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Methyl Gluceth-10, PPG-5-Ceteth-20, Salicylic Acid, Retinol, Polysorbate 20, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Triclosan, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Zinc Sulfate, Linoleic Acid, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide Skin Perfecting Lotion Water (Aqua), Dicaprylyl Maleate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sorbitan Stearate, Retinol, Polysorbate 20, Phytonadione, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Protein, Hydrolyzed Soy Flour, Spiraea Ulmaria Extract, Honey Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Squalane, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Talc, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Glycolipids, Hyaluronic Acid, Panthenol, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Algae Extract, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Propylene Glycol, Allantoin Sclerotium Gum, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA Clarifying Mask Active Ingredient: Sulfur (4.0%) Other Ingredients:Water (Aqua), Kaolin, Bentonite, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Titanium Dioxide, Polysorbate 20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 60, Zinc Oxide, Talc, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Salicylic Acid, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Camphor, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil Acne Spot Treatment Active Ingredient: Sulfur (3.0%) Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycolic Acid, Hydrolyzed Oat Flour, Sclerotium Gum, Zinc Oxide, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Salicylic Acid Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium, Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Allantoin, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben


on 12/29/2014 7:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So I'm going to say this to start: apparently your skin doesn't purge, like so many reviews say. According to a doctor about the 'your skin goes through a purging phase when trying a new product': "According to Dr. Anne Chapas, this theory is false. 'The skin's job is to keep things out, not to release impurities from the body. That's why we have a liver and kidneys—they are the organs responsible for detox,' she explains."
I guess it has to do more with your skin's equilibrium being thrown off and trying to readjust.

Just thought I'd put that there.

That being said, I had a very negative reaction to this kit, too. I used it for a couple of days and it made my face red, sensitive, and very dry. It also made the acne I already had more inflamed and bright red. I sort of had a feeling that washing your face with that gel and immediately applying the toner seemed way too drying, but whatever. I developed red blotches on my face and it was so awful. I did not feel good after washing my face with those products. And like many others on here, I started developing acne in places where I never have before (for me, my cheeks). The stupid wash even broke my forehead out, and my forehead is usually very compatible with most face washes. And the spot treatment did absolutely nothing at all, just made the zits that I carefully applied it to angrier. I pitched the kit and I only regret the damage it did to my face. The only lucky thing was, is my sister bought it for me for my birthday so I at least didn't waste any money.



on 10/14/2014 4:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After the skincare line that I had been previously using reformulated their products, my skin took a turn for the worse and I started to develop mild adult acne. I panicked and saw this kit at Sephora. I tried it without doing any research and I wish I never had. I had high hopes, but I had a bad reaction to the products and after a week of using it, developed more pimples in spots that were never a problem to me. I specifically developed about 30 whiteheads all around my nose, which was horrifying. I immediately stopped using it, and the whiteheads went away, but my other acne problems persisted. The only thing in this kit that was useable was the lotion, but it wasn't very moisturizing and had a "glue" smell, but is good as a primer for an oily T zone.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff,I had a sample and it cleared up all my acne in only 3 days! I bought the full bottle and I love it! The first day I used it I noticed a big difference the day after,most of my acne was cleared up!


on 7/23/2014 4:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really wanted this to work. I've tried Proactiv in the past and it maybe helps...a little. But my skin isn't horrible (just occasional really bad, long lasting acne sores) so I don't always need anything. After a review from a blogger I follow who LOVES this stuff, I went to my local Sephora and bought it.

Huge mistake. After 2 days of use, no results. After 3 days I had a horrible reaction. My face was on fire, itchy, burning and I developed new bumps....huge blackheads....I tried for one more day when my mother (who did not know I was using a new product) told me, kindly, that maybe I should take a trip to the doctor because my face looked so bad. I've stopped using it but my face is taking a long time to heal.

If you have sensitive skin at all, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! In fact I highly recommend you ONLY BUY THIS PRODUCT UNDER RECOMMENDATION FROM A DOCTOR. I wish I could turn back the last two weeks and not apply this product.


on 7/15/2014 9:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Let me start off by saying that I used to have pretty bad acne, which became worse in my late teens/early twenties (now 26). With that said I have tried my fair share of acne treatments from OTC, TV infomercials (Proactive and Murad), and prescriptions such as Differin and finally Acutane. I remember using Murad and I couldn't recall why I stopped using it, other than I had super acne that just wouldn't die...honestly all the treatments became a blur. It wasn't until I saw an Endocrinologist (who put me on a specific type of birth control), and a dermatologist that perscribed me Acutane that my skin finally seemed to calm down. I think age helped too, I still have hormonal breakouts...which brings me to my review and why I decided to try Murad again.

I recently had a bad hormonal breakout and bought the Murad Acne Complex Starter Kit at my local BX, which includes the: clarifying cleanser, acne clearing system, spot treatment, and oil control mattifying SPF 15. I also purchased another Murad kit which included the exfoliating serum and sulfur mask. The first day of using it was okay, the cleanser felt tingly and refreshing. I then did one of the treatments (products labeled 2), and the lotion. The next day I noticed my acne was drying up a little, yay! That was short-lived, by the end of the day into the next day I had some more pimples appear. I understand when you start a new treatment that will happen. I've seen and read enough to know that a treatment will sometimes bring baby pimples not yet seen to the naked eye to the surface, what many people call "purging". What I didn't understand is why my face felt so dry and itchy! Luckily it didn't look half as dry as it felt, I guess you could call that lucky. It just continued to get worse the next day, so that night I used a different cleanser and lotion...and even put a wet towel on my face to relieve the pain and drank lots of water. The next day my face felt much better, still dry but at least my face didn't feel like it had been attacked by sandpaper!

I am remembering why I did not continue with Murad, it is just too harsh for me. I know my skin is not super sensitive, I've tried prescription medications such as Acutane and Differin gel (and also OTC persa gel) but they never caused that kind of reaction. They did make my skin a little dry in the beginning, but not painfully dry as with Murad. Since I was using the kit, it is kind of hard to pin point it on one specific product. If I had to guess the main culprit I'd say either the clarifying cleanser or the exfoliating serum. I don't think the lotion is all that great either, obviously didn't help with the dryness. I also don't like it when acne products put SPF in their lotion, but this lotion at least is not oily like some SPF products can be.

The reason I rated it a three is because I think the kit has potential to be used individually and I do like the mask. Using them altogether may just be too much! It also seems like a lot of people have had success with Murad, so I don't want to discourage against the product completely...just be cautious! I recommend purchasing the starter kit like I did if you really want to try it, they are sample sizes and will run around $30 for the whole kit vs. spending $30 on just one of their regular size products; which could go to waste if you feel it's not right for you.


on 7/1/2014 8:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was super excited to start this acne kit so that I can get rid of the few extra blemishes I did have. After one night of using this stuff, the next day I took a look in the mirror and all hell had broken lose. I had acne in places where I NEVER get acne. I mean like huge clusters of bumps that hurt so bad! I will be returning this kit. And I would warn you not to use this stuff. Now I'm on the hunt to find something to clear these blemishes..smh


on 4/14/2014 11:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ive been using this for years and am clear. It took about two months to clear my skin completly. BEWARE THOUGH theres a new murad acne complex that contains Benzoyl Peroxide known to cause chemical burns and severe eye swelling allergic reactions. Too bad because i loved the old kit.

STILL USING THIS. *****11/21/2014*******

Love Murad. I am still using it DAILY IN THE A.M. AND P.M. only because it works for me, that's why I don't stray from it.

Just for your info, I also added an antibiotic topical toner called clindamycin to my murad and Vanicream moisturizing night cream for the winter weather.


on 3/10/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For everyone saying that the Murad doesn't work, KEEP USING IT.

Over the past 7 years I have suffered from SEVERE cystic acne, and have tried virtually every over the counter topical product (Proactive, LUSH products, Acne Free, Clean and Clear, the Body Shop Tea tree line, etc.), topical prescription (Retin-A. Clindamycin, Dapsone, etc) , and internal prescription (minocycline and Bacrtrim) with results not lasting longer than 6 months for a topical and a year for an internal. (Except for Bactrim DS which I took every day for 2 years, after which I became resistant to most antibiotics and decided to discontinue use.)

I was unable to try accutane due to several joint/ bone issues I have, so I essentially gave up at this point and decided to just wait it out until my skin changed as I grew older.

Then this year (my sophomore year of college) my mom had me try the Murad system.

The first 8 weeks were TERRIBLE. I had never seen my skin that bad. Literally every inch of my face and neck was bright red and covered in cysts. They even popped up inside of my nose, on my lips, and inside of my ears which I didn't know was possible.

I decided to stick with it because the labeling said there would be a "purging" period and maybe I just had a lot to purge.

After 8 weeks things became better, and after 10 my skin was essentially clear. I have now been using Murad for 8 months and apart from the occasional pimple, my skin is almost completely normal. I do have a large degree of scarring from the terrible purging period, but after incorporating the "post acne spot lightning gel" to my regime, even that is confined to my lower cheeks and jawline.

If you are where I was 8 months ago and you have been through ALL of the prescriptions and everything else, and HONESTLY feel like you have nothing to lose, I highly recommend this system. The purging period will be VERY VERY difficult, but if you are as desperate as I was and you're willing to wait it out for at least 3 months, I would definitely try it out.

If anyone wants to see some before and after pictures, you can message me on here and I can send them to you. I really really believe this product can work if you use it religiously and give it enough time.


on 12/30/2013 8:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My mum bought this for me as I suffer with breakouts of hormonal cysts. 2 days in of only using once a day, my face is burning. I have tiny itchy pimples all over my face and painful small blisters around my nose. It has completely dried my skin out. I cant risk anymore irritation on my face and so will not be using any of the products again. I have never had a reaction to any products like this, I feel hideous and low. I just hope the reaction is short lived :(


on 12/4/2013 3:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Despite all the negative reviews I decided to try the 60 day kit out for myself. I'm two weeks in and I like it a lot so far. The cleanser is a decent size, the exfoliating gel is a bit different but I like it alright. I really like the moisturizer, it absorbs into the skin well which I love. Now for my skin: for the most part I have somewhat sensitive combination skin with the occasional hormonal breakout. However recently I've been suffering from cystic acne all over my chin. It's bad! Anyways I think that if you have very sensitive skin you should stay away from this product, I also think people use way too much of it as well. Try using only once a day( I know the instructions say twice :x ) I also think some people aren't patient enough to wait out the time it takes for skin to benefit from a product. Lastly, although pretty pricey it's the only product I've seen real results from for my skin. Hope that helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
178 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Fix+
1271 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
141 Reviews
Unblemish
37 Reviews
Back to Top