Murad • Acne Complex© • Skincare - Face

rated 2.3(252 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 booboondoll on 4/14/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by booboondoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this for years and am clear. It took about two months to clear my skin completly. BEWARE THOUGH theres a new murad acne complex that contains Benzoyl Peroxide known to cause chemical burns and severe eye swelling allergic reactions. Too bad because i loved the old kit. Ulta sells the original. Going to try and buy as many as i can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hinae26 on 3/10/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Hinae26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

For everyone saying that the Murad doesn't work, KEEP USING IT.

Over the past 7 years I have suffered from SEVERE cystic acne, and have tried virtually every over the counter topical product (Proactive, LUSH products, Acne Free, Clean and Clear, the Body Shop Tea tree line, etc.), topical prescription (Retin-A. Clindamycin, Dapsone, etc) , and internal prescription (minocycline and Bacrtrim) with results not lasting longer than 6 months for a topical and a year for an internal. (Except for Bactrim DS which I took every day for 2 years, after which I became resistant to most antibiotics and decided to discontinue use.)

I was unable to try accutane due to several joint/ bone issues I have, so I essentially gave up at this point and decided to just wait it out until my skin changed as I grew older.

Then this year (my sophomore year of college) my mom had me try the Murad system.

The first 8 weeks were TERRIBLE. I had never seen my skin that bad. Literally every inch of my face and neck was bright red and covered in cysts. They even popped up inside of my nose, on my lips, and inside of my ears which I didn't know was possible.

I decided to stick with it because the labeling said there would be a "purging" period and maybe I just had a lot to purge.

After 8 weeks things became better, and after 10 my skin was essentially clear. I have now been using Murad for 8 months and apart from the occasional pimple, my skin is almost completely normal. I do have a large degree of scarring from the terrible purging period, but after incorporating the "post acne spot lightning gel" to my regime, even that is confined to my lower cheeks and jawline.

If you are where I was 8 months ago and you have been through ALL of the prescriptions and everything else, and HONESTLY feel like you have nothing to lose, I highly recommend this system. The purging period will be VERY VERY difficult, but if you are as desperate as I was and you're willing to wait it out for at least 3 months, I would definitely try it out.

If anyone wants to see some before and after pictures, you can message me on here and I can send them to you. I really really believe this product can work if you use it religiously and give it enough time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TigerPapaya on 12/30/2013 8:45:00 AM more reviews by TigerPapaya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My mum bought this for me as I suffer with breakouts of hormonal cysts. 2 days in of only using once a day, my face is burning. I have tiny itchy pimples all over my face and painful small blisters around my nose. It has completely dried my skin out. I cant risk anymore irritation on my face and so will not be using any of the products again. I have never had a reaction to any products like this, I feel hideous and low. I just hope the reaction is short lived :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sfs08 on 12/4/2013 3:08:00 AM more reviews by Sfs08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Despite all the negative reviews I decided to try the 60 day kit out for myself. I'm two weeks in and I like it a lot so far. The cleanser is a decent size, the exfoliating gel is a bit different but I like it alright. I really like the moisturizer, it absorbs into the skin well which I love. Now for my skin: for the most part I have somewhat sensitive combination skin with the occasional hormonal breakout. However recently I've been suffering from cystic acne all over my chin. It's bad! Anyways I think that if you have very sensitive skin you should stay away from this product, I also think people use way too much of it as well. Try using only once a day( I know the instructions say twice :x ) I also think some people aren't patient enough to wait out the time it takes for skin to benefit from a product. Lastly, although pretty pricey it's the only product I've seen real results from for my skin. Hope that helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 suthareec on 11/17/2013 5:58:00 PM more reviews by suthareec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started seeing results within the first couple of days that I used this product. Almost all of my little whiteheads were gone and the cystic acne were shrinking. However, after the 5th day my skin started feeling really dry and itchy so I took a break from it, which I planned to do for a day. That was the last time I used it, it is now the 8th day. My skin is still very dry, it itches like crazy and feels like its on fire. If I look closely, my face has tiny bumps, almost like a rash and feels leathery. The skin under my eyes are very wrinkly and has a very "aged" look to it. I don't have pimples, but this reaction is way worse in my opinion. I just returned this today, and I will never try anything from Murad again. It's going to take so long to get my skin back to normal now, if it hasn't been permanently damaged.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sybsters on 9/22/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by sybsters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Returned after a week. My face felt taught and as you guessed: more breakouts... HUGE cystic acne. It's not worth paying $35 to leave more hyper-pigmentation and craters on my face. Ended up exchanging it for the coverFX powder foundation to help cover up my face. TOO DRYING, thus causing more breakouts. Should've listened to my esthetician (been a while who told me to use salicylic acid face wash maybe twice a week. Face wash AND a gel is too much... when your skin becomes dry = more breakouts. For now I'm using the Boscia Black Cleanser with the Clinique Acne Solutions toner (with Salicylic Acid), and so far the breakouts are drying up.

JUST DONT BOTHER!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AJ1415 on 6/11/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by AJ1415

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This product takes time to work, yes the purging sucks but about 3 months in my skin was FANTASIC. Like perfect and I have real terrible acne, and it is all gone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurencordina on 5/29/2013 12:30:00 AM more reviews by laurencordina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After reading so many of these negative reviews, I've figured out EXACTLY why there are so many negative (when I am giving this 5/5 lipsticks):
other than people who have had allergic reactions to this product, the reason why it's not working is because YOU AREN'T BEING PATIENT!!

I absolutely HATED the acne kit when I first started using it. The reason why I hated it was because my skin was "purging" which is normal when starting new skin care products (especially for acne). After 3 weeks of being PATIENT, I FINALLY started seeing results. It has been 6 months now, and I have only had minor breakouts (one or two pimples at a time).

People, you need to be patient when using skin care products. You will never see results over night. It takes time for your skin to adjust to new products. If you order this product from the Murad website, they have an amazing return policy where you can fully finish the whole entire product, and if it doesn't work, they'll refund you.

Despite all of these negative reviews, give it a shot and try the 30 day kit.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anamn90 on 5/23/2013 9:21:00 AM more reviews by anamn90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

(If I could give Murad 0 out of 5 I would)

Unfortunately I only read Murad's official website's reviews which gave this package an average rating of 4.6/5 stars. I naturally pounced at the idea of some miracle formula that everyone was "apparently" benefiting from.

My skin wasn't tooooo bad. not perfect, as I wanted/want it to be. But after using Murad...OHMYGOD. I wish I had read these reviews before to save me from EXTREME discomfort and a face that looks AGED=/ I've never had such a bad reaction!

After the fiirst night's use it seemed fine. I even thought my skin looked better. But after the second all hell broke lose. I noticed a little strange sensations after i put on all the creams (so many btw...and i tried to stick closely to their directions but even so it seems a little confusing given the amount of stuff you have to put on and over). The next day my eyes were super swollen and I think my whole face slightly puffier, my face was also red and the driest it has ever been. I had to buy anti histamines to calm the swelling and was told to not put anything on my face- including moisturisers and aloe vera (despite my skins cravings for something soothing).

Three days after this horror- my skin is still terrible. I actually have wrinkles under my eyes that I have never had before (I AM ONLY 22 !?!) , my eyes just generally now seem...weird? i dont know, like duller. and red all the time, and very noticeably dry. Even my liquid eyeliner is now flaking/fading off towards the end of the day due to my skins lack of any moisture, which it never did before.

I'm also getting new spots in places on my face I usually didn't. I had a few bumps on my forehead (small ones), which turned a lotttt bigger- thank friggen GOD i have a thick fringe.


I noticed a few very similar posts in regards to reactions. And i realise that some others may have had a really good experience with Murad (i dont know how=s?). But I would suggest new tryers of Murad think very very very carefully about venturing into it. I very very much regret it. i only had it on my face two times and now am spending more and more money trying to find things to now fix my WORSE OFF skin :(

Not too mention the starter kit was quite pricey in itself.

I would also really appreciate any advice or comments in regards to others like me, that maybe have managed to rectify their skin after using Murad?

*sighhhh* this is a lesson to be learnt from. Do more research!! And don't underestimate your skin's sensitivity >.<

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sagerina on 5/7/2013 11:03:00 PM more reviews by Sagerina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

My parents first got me this when I was about 14, It was ok but I didn't take it serious because I was young and embarrassed. I decided to get it again two years later because I wanted to give it another shot after I bought tons of products that just didn't work for me. This system is by far the best I've ever used! I have oily acne prone skin (mainly forehead and nose), and for me, it's hard to find products that help control that. I absolutely LOVE this system! It can be expensive though but it is totally worth it! I'm glad I decided to give it another try. I know I'm kinda young and I'm just growing up so acne is common but with this, I actually feel confident and just happy about my skin. I don't not recommend for dry sensitive skin though because it is made to dry up oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Skincare - Face products