Sebastian • Design • Fragrances

rated 4.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Couture77 on 12/28/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by Couture77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

When I was in the 6th grade back in the 80's this is the fragrance all the cool, popular girls rocked (along with their treetorns). I have to admit, now that I'm in my 30's I have 2 bottles sitting on my dresser. I really love this stuff. It has a very unique smell. I don't know if it's because it's a staple from my teenage years or what but Design is one of a kind and I continue to douse myself in it. I get a lot of compliments when wearing it and most of the time people know what it is and ask "You're wearing Design, aren't you?" I just think it's a classic. I wear it during the day. It's incredibly inexpensive as well...never used to be. Anyway, if you liked "Exclamation" from the 80's you'll bathe yourself in this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme2 on 10/21/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

**please note: the current version by EA Fragrances, being sold at discount outlets and online, is a dreadfully watered-down and generic-smelling travesty. To really appreciate Design, order the pure perfume in splash-on bottle or an older spray bottle made by French Fragrances, not EA.**

I am not a big fan of gardenia, but I make a huge exception for Design, because it's just plain fabulous. An underappreciated drugstore gem from 1985 that followed Giorgio Beverly Hills by just a few years, and could be considered its tasteful and discreet sister. Design is just pure fresh flowers, but not in the modern sense of air-freshener synthetics. It really does smell like a bouquet of dewy honeysuckle, gardenia, and tuberose. The overall effect is fresh and soothing, but with real presence. Design is never cloying or overly sweet (something Giorgio and Fracas can't claim). It kind of reminds me of the smell of Aussie Sprunch Spray, another '80s memory... only better and more classy.


Design is fresh, feminine, extremely well-made, and strikes a perfect balance between discretion and style. It has gorgeous sillage. But please try it in vintage version, there is no substitute! I keep mine in the fridge.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 12/28/2009 10:42:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

While I have never purchased this scent I love smelling it on others. It is my aunts trademark scent and I find it very unique and lingeraing. I personally feel this is a perfume popular among women slighly older than myself so it might not be appealing to girls in their teens/twenties as much. I would definitely miss smelling this if my aunt ever switches, I will have to buy her more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 barbi65 on 12/16/2009 3:57:00 PM more reviews by barbi65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this, use to wear it in the 90's and just re discovered it. And since I hate all the generic smelling fragrances currently on the market, this is a breath of fresh air. It is aldehydic but not heavy like Chanel. I always get compliments when i wear this. I think it smells unique and intrigeing. Not everyone will like it because body chemistry is different with everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JonMoss on 11/4/2009 1:41:00 PM more reviews by JonMoss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

No joke--found the 15ml bottle at Big Lots for $3.00. Why don't they make scents like these anymore? I love the beautiful carnation note which gives it depth. This can be worn anytime. I'm in love. It smells less strong than White shoulders which also has a honeysuckle note.

It's great to wear because it is unique, not everyone is wearing it since it is an 80s fragrance. It may be 80s but it is a classic and will never go out of style.

Introduced in 1985. Fragrance notes: honeysuckle, spicy carnation, citrus, warm musky notes and rose. Recommended use: daytime.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Debbinel on 8/20/2008 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Debbinel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

have been wearing this for years and have always gotten compliments on it. Just love how light and refreshing it is. Never overpowering but it seems to linger that nice soft scent for hours. one of my hg's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aqua76239 on 4/21/2008 11:29:00 PM more reviews by aqua76239

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like a extremely sharp floral, almost bitter. Since I've seen the good reviews, I was shocked that people like this perfume and thougth it smelled beautiful. I guess I either got a spoiled bottle or this is just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JenJenofAz on 3/29/2008 7:43:00 PM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Too strong! It was sour smelling on me. Like sour or bitter fruit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thefairestlady1012 on 2/11/2008 9:46:00 PM more reviews by thefairestlady1012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has beautiful packaging, but it smelled like strong hospital cleaner on me. I recommend you try this though because it might smell wonderful on you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeekim on 12/1/2007 5:44:00 PM more reviews by coffeekim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just got back from Marshalls today and got 2 huge bottles of this stuff for $16.99 a piece. What a steal! As the other lady had said, find the deals, dont get ripped off!! Ive seen this stuff retail for $65 at some department stores. This is a one of a kind unique fragrance that always got attention when I wore it so I decided today that its time to get more!! TJ Maxx and Marshalls is where I always bought this fragrance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Fragrances products