Sebastian Design

4.3

37 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/20/2015 3:46:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this -- always have. I've kept a bottle of Design on hand for years and always will (Casual also). I don't wear either very often now, since they're older, but they're as good as ever, and I pull each of them out on occasion and still enjoy them very much.

I've always loved *all* Paul Sebastian fragrances, it seems -- both Design and Casual -- and my dad & husband have both worn Paul Sebastian for Men (years ago), and I loved it on them. I'm sure it would be just as good now.

It's the light soft muskiness of Sebastian scents -- that's what I love about them. They all have a soft, clean, sensual, skin-musky quality in the base and the drydown. They meld with natural skin oils -- and the scent becomes warm, natural, and emanates from the wearer. This is the type of perfume I love most -- those with a soft, warm, musky sensuality.

Launched in 1985, here are the notes of Design, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes - Lilac, Honeysuckle, Jasmine, Rose, Ylang-ylang
Heart Notes - Carnation, Citric notes
Base Notes - Woody notes, Musky notes

Design is a soft, skin-musky, sensual, beautiful floral -- the kind that turns heads and makes you think "mmm". Signature worthy. Casual is also, and I've written a separate review for it. Both are quite inexpensive now at discounters and etailers.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been wearing this off and on for YEARS. It's my go to for work. I receive a lot of compliments from men and woman alike. When I tell them what it is and how inexpensive it is they can't believe it. It's a non complicated clean fresh scent that I think any woman at any age could pull off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2015 8:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can still remember way back in the late '80s when I first smelled this fragrance from heaven on the lady cutting my hair. I assumed it was her shampoo or another hair product that was giving off this wonderful, clean smell, but alas! it was Design for Women. Although I was only 15 at the time, I knew I had to have it. After much saving (hey, it's hard to gather the then $30-something price as a 15 yr old!), I had my own bottle. I recently turned 40 and have been wearing it, and getting compliments on it, ever since. But rare is the bird who knows what it is that I'm wearing, and rarer still is another woman wearing it ~ PERFECT! It's like my own little secret. I don't know all of the fancy fragrance terminology to descibe it's high, mid, and low notes, I just know it smells "clean". Not overtly floral, not overtly musky. Equally lovely in both the heat of summer and on a frigid day. It lingers throughout the day (and onto my pillow that night), but isn't so powerful that it gives the wearer a perfume headache (ugh!). I live in fear of the inevitable day when Paul Sebastian decides to discontinue it :-( Until then, Design is my go-to fragrance. I've found the best deals on Design on eBay. Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2010 8:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I was in the 6th grade back in the 80's this is the fragrance all the cool, popular girls rocked (along with their treetorns). I have to admit, now that I'm in my 30's I have 2 bottles sitting on my dresser. I really love this stuff. It has a very unique smell. I don't know if it's because it's a staple from my teenage years or what but Design is one of a kind and I continue to douse myself in it. I get a lot of compliments when wearing it and most of the time people know what it is and ask "You're wearing Design, aren't you?" I just think it's a classic. I wear it during the day. It's incredibly inexpensive as well...never used to be. Anyway, if you liked "Exclamation" from the 80's you'll bathe yourself in this stuff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

**please note: the current version by EA Fragrances, being sold at discount outlets and online, is a dreadfully watered-down and generic-smelling travesty. To really appreciate Design, order the pure perfume in splash-on bottle or an older spray bottle made by French Fragrances, not EA.**

I am not a big fan of gardenia, but I make a huge exception for Design, because it's just plain fabulous. An underappreciated drugstore gem from 1985 that followed Giorgio Beverly Hills by just a few years, and could be considered its tasteful and discreet sister. Design is just pure fresh flowers, but not in the modern sense of air-freshener synthetics. It really does smell like a bouquet of dewy honeysuckle, gardenia, and tuberose. The overall effect is fresh and soothing, but with real presence. Design is never cloying or overly sweet (something Giorgio and Fracas can't claim). It kind of reminds me of the smell of Aussie Sprunch Spray, another '80s memory... only better and more classy.


Design is fresh, feminine, extremely well-made, and strikes a perfect balance between discretion and style. It has gorgeous sillage. But please try it in vintage version, there is no substitute! I keep mine in the fridge.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2009 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While I have never purchased this scent I love smelling it on others. It is my aunts trademark scent and I find it very unique and lingeraing. I personally feel this is a perfume popular among women slighly older than myself so it might not be appealing to girls in their teens/twenties as much. I would definitely miss smelling this if my aunt ever switches, I will have to buy her more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2009 3:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this, use to wear it in the 90's and just re discovered it. And since I hate all the generic smelling fragrances currently on the market, this is a breath of fresh air. It is aldehydic but not heavy like Chanel. I always get compliments when i wear this. I think it smells unique and intrigeing. Not everyone will like it because body chemistry is different with everyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2009 1:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

No joke--found the 15ml bottle at Big Lots for $3.00. Why don't they make scents like these anymore? I love the beautiful carnation note which gives it depth. This can be worn anytime. I'm in love. It smells less strong than White shoulders which also has a honeysuckle note.

It's great to wear because it is unique, not everyone is wearing it since it is an 80s fragrance. It may be 80s but it is a classic and will never go out of style.

Introduced in 1985. Fragrance notes: honeysuckle, spicy carnation, citrus, warm musky notes and rose. Recommended use: daytime.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2008 6:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

have been wearing this for years and have always gotten compliments on it. Just love how light and refreshing it is. Never overpowering but it seems to linger that nice soft scent for hours. one of my hg's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2008 11:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This smells like a extremely sharp floral, almost bitter. Since I've seen the good reviews, I was shocked that people like this perfume and thougth it smelled beautiful. I guess I either got a spoiled bottle or this is just not for me.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Top Rated Sebastian Products

image

Drench

35 reviews
image

Potion 9

437 reviews
Back to Top