Unlisted Brand • Fantasia - IC Hair Polisher Styling Gel • Styling Products

rated 4.1(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TCamille on 12/7/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by TCamille

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm natural with 3c curly hair and have been using this gel for at least 7 years. It used to be thicker when I first purchased it years ago. Provided great hold and definition without that hard gel feeling. My waves and curls were defined and shiny.

Today the formula seems to have changed, it's more watery :( while this is still a great gel that keeps hair in place without giving you helmut head, the hold is isn't as great anymore.

Whenever I buy a jar I leave the lid off for about a week or two to allow the gel "to thicken" with exposure to air. It's perfect for me then. After using a great leave in like Care free curl gold, I apply this gel when doing my bun. Great hold, shine and no hard hair! I will always repurchase.

If anyone from Fantasia is reading this, please add more pvp again. Make it "pudding" thick like before ......Pleassssse!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snkatha on 2/4/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Quite simply I HATE this gel. I have natural hair and love gel to give me hold for my wash and gos. I know it's not everybodys thing, but i like a strong hold on my wash and gos. I do the curly girl method & I usud to have 4 day hair with my beloved eco styler gel. With this mess I'm lucky if i have decent 2 day hair!
It also sucks when it comes to slicking my edges and laying them down when i do a chic updo style. I have to apply this gel, then tie down a scarf for 30 mins, then add more gel to make sure my hair looks presentable smh It was a waste of my hard earned money. Who would like this gel? Anyone with looser coils and those who like a lighter hold.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gommiebears on 8/13/2011 6:21:00 AM more reviews by gommiebears

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fair hair gel. It does help slick my hair back and it smells nice. The only con I can think of is that it tends to leave my hair hard if I use it too much. I would repurchase again if my trusty gel was discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadelsol on 12/31/2010 12:44:00 PM more reviews by ninadelsol

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Leaves my 3C curly hair very shiny. No need for a shine serum.

CONS: Sticky. Sticks to your neck. Flakes on scalp. The absolute worst hair gel I have ever tried. Gooey. STICKY.

Go with Nexxus Exxtra instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 slstar on 12/20/2010 12:43:00 AM more reviews by slstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair HARD when i applied this and air dried. Gave to my coworker and will not repuchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jowork on 5/21/2010 4:20:00 PM more reviews by jowork

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for years on my natural biracial (white/black) 3b & 3c hair along with Carol's Daughter Healthy Hair Butter, and I love it. Defines my curls, eliminates frizz, has a light hold, and doesn't dry my hair. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 2/22/2010 12:37:00 PM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow... I really wasn't feeling this hair gel. Guess I'm alone on this boat- but I'll put my 2 cents in nevertheless, hoping it will help all my other 3b/3c haired ladies.
My hair is dry, coarse, curly, and frizzy. I tried putting it in my hair with nothing else. This provided no hold and didn't do a thing to define my texture- in fact, it actually weighed my hair down and flattened my hair(relaxed it curl; it's texture), while not being heavy enough, on the other hand, to control my frizz. It also did not give me any shine whatsoever, being drippy and wet for the first two hours after I put it on, and just evaporating, so to speak, as the day went on- leaving me with what I started out with- matte, dry hair.
I also tried pairing this gel up with a good leave-in. Once again, my curl was ruined and my texture relaxed. Though I didn't experience as much dripping, I also didn't experience any shine or hold, and the gel eventually evaporated as it did before.
For those who say it is moisturizing, I didn't feel any moisturizing at all on my hair. Quite the contrary, it made my hair a bit rougher, and re-activating my curl after using it was tough and nerve-wrecking. When compared to protein gels- I would much rather go with the protein gels, which actually add protein, reasonable shine and hold to the hair. I gave this gel many chances, and alas, it has failed them all. This gel is just not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VersaillesVixen on 1/30/2010 9:56:00 PM more reviews by VersaillesVixen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After seeing a video on youtube from user Waterlily716 recommending this gel, I had to try it. Always looking for the perfect gel that provides frizz-control and style without too much crunch or flaking. I have type 2a curly hair that is a bit unruly from years of coloring, and got wonderful results from the Fantasia IC polisher. Used a pretty heavy amount on my hair fresh out of the shower and just scrunched a bit. Put my hair up in a towel while I got dressed, then used a diffuser to dry my hair with a bit of scrunching. It was totally effortless. My hair didn't get crunchy at all, and my boyfriend even commented on how soft it is! And at five bucks, what's not to love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DarkestStar on 10/7/2009 12:08:00 AM more reviews by DarkestStar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence with this product for I don't know if I'd repurchase this gel or not. It does define my kinky/curly hair texture when I apply it to wet hair (as well as ponytail puffs) but whenever the product and my hair dries, it looks dull and dry. I'm looking for something that puts a sheen to my hair. I don't notice the so-called sparkles in the product either. I love that there's no alcohol and it's non flaking, but I'm looking for that silky, shiny look. I might just purchase a different version of the gel or opt for the serum but I'll use this up first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 4/29/2009 1:04:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this for creating a nice smooth "ballerina bun" in the workweek mornings when I shower. After washing my hair, I gently wrap hair in towel and allow it to soak up excess water. Then I use this gel liberally all along edges, and smooth hair back into a ponytail, securing with an ouchless rubberband.. I then wrap into a ballerina bun or fan around a home made donut bun , and secure with bobby pins or ouchless rubberbands. Never flakes or "uncoils", and hair looks shiny all day, even when its done air drying. I have dense 4A/B phytolaxed (texlaxed) strands. The fact that it is less than $5 a vat, and the ingredients are all great for healthy hair (Aloe Vera Gel, Glycerin, Vitamin E, Wheat Protein) makes it all the more lovable. By the way, I have NEVER experienced flaking with this, and I think I am heavy handed in my application. Also, my hair never feels "dried out" like most gels would because of alcohol content. The directions say you can use for wet sets and wash and gos, but I have never used it that way so cant speak to that. For my purposes, I absolutely love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Styling Products products