Alpha Hydrox facial wash

3.4

14 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/25/2013 7:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this when it was on sale along with the lotion. I purchase this because I need some assistance to reduce my age spots on my cheeks. Let me tell you girl, I used it morning and night religiously and I started to get rough patchy skin, dry like a reptile. I stopped using it religiously and only use it at night when I take a shower, it help reduce the dryness on my face and the lotion is gross, I stopped using the lotion but continued using the cleanser. My skin type is comb/oily and dry in the winter time. However, I would like to try something else since it is over drying for daily usage and I really have not seen a difference in my age spots.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I used this facial cleanser for 2 months about 10 years ago and I was not impressed and my face never felt clean.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

the product served its purpose in the beginning, leaving my face clean and fresh after washing.. However, a little over a week I noticed that my face started breaking out..and the last breakout I had was when I was in eight grade (many, many, many.... years ago!!!). Very disappointed about the product... that's what I get for trying to be cheap!!! I should stick to what already works...


on 7/11/2009 9:08:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

wow, this is a staple I always want in my closet. Have had it for years, and when summer comes and none of my cream cleansers seem to remove all the s/s and oil and m/u, when my skin gets a little clogged, this stuff does the trick. It cleans for real, doesn't leave me feeling raw like DHC oil cleanser or other more stripping ones.


on 4/24/2008 5:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought the 500ml pump action bottle from qvc, good value at 28...removes makeup, but i sometimes i feel it only removes makeup that water alone could remove. I left my skin aching for moisterizer afterwards....wouldnt buy again


on 3/24/2007 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this on tv a couple years ago and didnt really realize how good it was until I didnt have it anymore (husbands little brother dumped it out) I think it helped my face be more clear and seemed to do the job. I will have to find out how to get it again so I can see how it compares to what Im using now (Aveeno ult. calming foaming clnsr.)
EDIT: Im finally ordering another bottle. I didnt think the aveeno was really cleaning my face (didnt make it feel soft or refreshed), then tried olay's sensitive foaming face wash, which I like because its not drying and feels good while using it with my Elizabeth spa clean weave facial buff, but I rememeber the A.H. was better because I also used it with the facial buff. Ill wright another review after I get to use it again. EDIT2: I finally got and used it! I changed my rating from 4 to 5 because it also does not make my face red after washing and I did not feel like I had to moisturize right away after like w/ other cleansers. Im very happy with it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2006 6:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This cleaned my face alright but it was nothing special. I break out occasionaly and it did nothing to help this.


on 6/19/2006 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I wouldn't buy this product because I think there is a lot more potential out there than this. This was okay for me, nothing special. It doesn't feel like it takes my makeup off that well, there's not that fresh clean feeling after using it. it's just mediocre for me.


on 3/29/2005 9:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The best I have used and actually saw a difference immediately. definitely worth repurchasing. Forget the high priced alternatives, they cannot compete.


on 1/4/2004 6:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

True to the other reviewers here, I have to beg to differ with this one. I started using this line when it debuted and have never been disappointed. This cleanser I feel is by the far the crown jewel in this line. I wasn't crazy about the toner, but with this, it contains Alpha Hydroxy acids, but is very gentle. I also feel it smooths the skin's surface too. I have tried a few of the moisturizers and the Night ResQ, but feel that this is the best of the lot for cleansers.


Back to Top