Ralph Lauren • Romance • Fragrances

rated 3.9(584 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 4/8/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a deluxe sample spray of this and have gone back and forth on deciding if I really like this or not. I find this is girly and warm. I would describe it as very elegant. I can imagine this being worn on a wedding day, to special events, etc. I think it is not necessarily a good everyday fragrance for the average 20 something year old though. I am 27 and I have not grabbed this daily. Instead I have grabbed it when I am going out to dinner with my husband for a date night. I personally do not think it is very floral which it is described as. I think it has a touch of rose perhaps, but not enough to consider it a floral. One thing I do like is that it does not take much of this to smell good. I also like that this is a long lasting fragrance. Once it dries down it is not as noticeable, but I do notice I still smell quite lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShoeGal95 on 4/2/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by ShoeGal95

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Romance in parfum, EDT, body spray and body oil for many years. In fact, my son loved it as a little boy and now, as a 19 yr. old, still tells me he loves this scent best!
It's my year round "go-to" fragrance. I spray it on my hair brush then use an unscented hairspray. To those that know me, it's "me". Fortunately, no one else I know wears it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahsamuel22 on 3/18/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by hannahsamuel22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So what do I say about this? I don't like this perfume at all and would definitely not consider buying it again. I got this as a gift from my mom and she gave it to me as a set with the body moisturizer to go with. I've got the 50ml bottle and 200ml for the moisturizer. From what I checked the perfume retails for about 36 pounds for the 50ml.

The perfume is called romance but I personally find that the name doesn't really go with the type of scent. Its main accords are stated as floral, rose and fresh spicy. Even when I take a whiff the scent just hits my nostrils. There is nothing floral about that. The scent is way too sharp and has to me weird base notes. Being completely honest, to me it smells like a combination of sweaty body odour and a really strong perfume, which is bad. I've never smelt anything like it so I can't relate it to anything. But as how we would describe a guys scent as woody which I hate. This is a woody scent female version.

The moisturiser smells just like the perfume, however not as strong (thankfully). It moisturises really well. I must give it that but personally I like moisturisers with a subtle calming scent and this is just way too strong.

Bottom line, I don't like it. Definitely not floral or romantic. I'm trying to use it up quick by just simply using it everyday. Not trying to save it.

I know that there are people who love it. This is just my personal opinion. I'm a girly girl and I like anything with a light but warm scent. An example of a Ralph Lauren perfume I love would be the Ralph Lauren cool.( pink bottle with blue cap) .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvsbrdeddragns on 3/14/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by luvsbrdeddragns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Although it's $50 for 1/2 oz, I always get reviews when I wear this.
Even at the end of the day! This makes me feel pretty. And I'm migraine prone. It doesn't trigger them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 audralou on 2/10/2014 2:03:00 AM more reviews by audralou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought this as a Mother's Day Gift for my Mother, it reminded me of some of her favorites like Estee Lauder's Pleasures and Elizabeth Arden's Pretty. She uses it for special occasions and I realized just how much I enjoyed it so I bought myself a bottle as well.

Romance is light, fresh and just a very 'pretty' smelling fragrance. I feel feminine and happy when I wear it and it goes well with all the seasons. In the spring and summer it is light enough to not feel like you're drowning in perfume to mask other scents and in the winter and fall it brings brightness to some of the more dreary days.

The only reason I gave it four lippies instead of five is the price. The bottle is beautiful however and looks lovely sitting on my vanity. I will definitely be repurchasing when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/3/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

One of my favorites. I started looking for a new scent when I decided to stop wearing Burberry Brit (too expensive not to last long enough). My cousin recommended Burberry Body (see my separate review on that) but I was a little "gun shy" with buying another Burberry scent.
I first tried Romance when I received one of those little tiny sampler vials that come along with other purchases. I loved this immediately. It's a clean fragrance without being strong or over-done.
I wouldn't describe it as a floral (not on me anyway), only a fresh, just-out-of-the-shower scent. Yet, it doesn't smell soapy (which I hate). It makes me feel good when I wear it. I'm not exactly the type that wears perfumes for what other people think. I wear perfumes for me--I wear them if I like them, period. (Having said that, my husband DOES like the clean smell of this also).
I will be re-buying this as long as they make it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennamarie11 on 1/31/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by jennamarie11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The packaging and bottle.for this.fragrance is.very simple and cheap looking however the smell makes up for.this. This.is a clean fresh smelling sophisticated perfume. Very girly floral smell. Suitable.for.day or.evening.wear

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/5/2014 6:22:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This used to be my go to fragrance for years and one day I just got sick of it. I have no idea why. It's very feminine and pretty. Roses and lily with the ginger is what comes out to me most.

It's been a long time since I could wear this again. It just does not appeal to me anymore. It's very clean and pretty. Slightly musky with some exotic woods in it as well. There is a hint of moss and citrus. I think when this came out it was very unique but now it seems like most fragrances are this way. Very sad :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kellergirl on 12/23/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smell is simply wonderful! Goes on a little strong, but settles in oh so gently. It dries down to a wonderful clean soapy floral on me. Very soft and pretty. The bottle is plain and boring, but with a wonderful scent like this, who cares?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keitoaren on 11/13/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by keitoaren

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I found a sample of this in a fashion magazine, and it was so irresistible that I-- somebody who never really liked perfume-- ran out and bought my first real perfume within a week. It introduced me to the world of perfume, and I have been hooked ever since!

I love floral scents, but usually find them to be a bit too 'grandma', you know? I am also not a fan of musky notes at all. But this fragrance combined both of those aspects with just the right amounts to create an intoxicating fragrance that I absolutely adore! I can wear this fragrance without feeling like I just mugged an old lady's purse for her perfume, instead like the young, lovely 18 year old that I am.

The only thing I don't like about this product is the perfume bottle. Obviously, that's not enough for me to dock points off its score, but it's really just very boring and plain, especially compared to some other ones out on the market right now. I think I could only like this product more if it looked more like a Vince Camuto fragrance!

Now, I would recommend or gift this in a heartbeat-- if I could stand to share my new signature scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ralph Lauren products

More Fragrances products