Ralph Lauren Romance

3.9

594 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/2/2015 12:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really want to love this scent. I love the notes (in real life those are my favorite flowers!) and the simple, clear square bottle is so beautiful to me. However, after wearing this for several days I have to be honest with myself -- this isn't for me.

I would definitely put this in the same category as Estee Lauder Pleasures. It's very dry and clean, and sharp like Pleasures. There's no sweetness or headiness. But then, as it dries down I begin smelling a very shower-fresh musk. To me, these musk notes are identical to Orange Sapphire by Bath and Body Works.

Again, I want to like this so much it's just not something I want to keep wearing. The main reason is that it just smells very masculine on me. I don't find anything feminine about this scent. It's clean and dry, spicy and musky and once it dries down it smells like men's cologne. I had the exact same experience with Orange Sapphire.

I would recommend this to those who like fragrances that evoke images of sun-dried linen, skin musk, and spicy soapy scents.



on 3/28/2015 12:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love the smell of this perfume. The last time I bought a bottle, the silly SA acted as if it was outdated and I should go with a more modern perfume. Well, whatever! This smells so clean and fresh. It reminds me of Dove soap, fresh pink sweetheart roses, & musk. It's so simple but so lovely. And it was the only perfume I could wear while pregnant. I will always buy it as long as they make it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2015 4:15:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Don't like it -- never have. Not this or Pleasures either -- both wildly popular, but I've never liked either one, and I find them similar. They share the same thin, sharp, screechy, shrill fragrance profile, in my humble opinion. Nails on chalkboard, to my nose.

Unfortunately, my poor perpetually-broke son bought me a gift set of Romance for Mother's Day two or three years ago -- after having looked up "popular scents for mothers" online (or some such search). Is this considered a "mom scent"?

I've never understood the ads for Romance -- a beautiful couple, kissing while on horseback riding in the rugged woodsy outdoors -- how does that fit this scent? What's so "romantic" about this scent anyway?

When it first launched in 1998, I was completely anosmic to it -- it smelled like nothing to me -- and it was Belk's #1 bestseller -- it was flying off the shelves. I kept testing & testing, trying to figure out what all the fuss was about. Now, I do smell it, but it smells like window cleaner to me (and so does Pleasures).

Here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes - Freesia, Ginger, Chamomile, Lychee, Pot marigold, Rose
Heart Notes - Lily, Lotus, Violet, White violet
Base Notes - Oakmoss, Exotic woods, Musk, Patchouli

Except for the d/c'd Notorious, the only Ralph Lauren perfume I've ever really liked -- and I actually *love* it and have gone through two bottles -- is the soft musky Ralph Lauren Blue (wrote separate review).


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Romance is a fresh, feminine floral fragrance with a touch of spiciness.

Carnation and violet shine through. When I wear this, catch wafts of spiciness (must be the ginger) throughout the day.

I like this fragrance, but it isn't one I would wear often, so I purchased the rollerball. No point in investing in a bottle when I'm going to wear a particular fragrance only on occasion.

If possible, would rate with 3.5 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 11:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This has been my signature scent for the past 10 years. At the end of my current bottle I am moving on, so I wanted to write a farewell review for the scent that led me through my days as a bride and mother to two young ones.
The advertising, while 'Romantic', doesn't grab me. The whole horses, steamy kisses, thing doesn't really match this soft elegant scent. The bottle, however, is fantastic. Minimalist design, soft gray and pink colour scheme; it exactly matches both the scent and the preppy image of R.L.
On me, there is a strong ginger rose opening with a hint of citrus. Romance initially feels bright and a little spicy on me. It quickly dries down to a soft spicy, woody scent that lasts for several hours. The emphasis here on soft rather than spicy. If the opening puts you off, wait it out a bit as the drydown is so lovely.
It lasts all day for me, and I need to reapply if going out at night. It is also very work/child friendly and won't overpower your neighbours.
The mood of this, as you might have guessed, is soft, restrained, feminine. This is not a power scent; it feels young and ladylike.
Over the past decade, I have gamely tried samples of other perfumes but always came home to this. It suited my own focus on soft femininity and the classic feel of the scent was comforting.
My babies are no longer babies, and my career is starting to move back into view. I am also older, if not wiser, and Balenciaga Paris seems like a more mature, sophisticated scent with the soft femininity I crave.
R.L. Romance defined an era in my life. I will always love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 9:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This smells horrendous on me. Try before you buy. On my skin it reeks of industrial chemicals/cleaners, lol.


on 9/8/2014 5:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This one is a "like it a lot" scent, quite womanly and classy. Others have described the notes but I really appreciate the fresh spicy undertones. I scored a large bottle on Ebay and I only wear it occasionally, so I will likely have it while I am on the planet. A tiny amount,1 spray, is sufficient and it lasts most of the day. Suitable for most work places. I took one lippie off for lack of distinctive character.....I gravitate toward more avant- garde fragrances, but many of those should not be worn to work. This really does evoke pure , clean, traditional Romance and for that reason, it is quickly becoming a classic.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

A clean pleasant rose is what I get from this. I wish I could say it's unique and stands out from all the other pleasant rosy scents, but its' not. Opening is a rather strong rose scent which eventually develops into a pleasant scent which is closer to the skin, but still somewhat clean, formal-frigid. It may be a notch above the majority of the rosy florals out there, but not more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 10:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To me, this has a shampoo-like smell, with a certain sharpness. I don't get any of the soft floral notes other reviewers mention. Really don't like it, unfortunately.


on 5/28/2014 10:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My boyfriend brought this home I sprayed in the air and wanted to vomit this smell like a funeral pallor to much I usually love Ralph Lauren but this oh no


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top