Johnson & Johnson • Baby Shampoo (detangling formula) • Shampoo

rated 3.9(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Anika on 7/16/2014 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Anika

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is for the "2 in 1" detangling shampoo with conditioner formula... Having fine, straight colour-treated hair that tangles easily and is oily at the roots and dry towards the ends, I somehow had big hopes for this product. I was expecting gently cleansed hair that would feel light and detangled, but instead it has left a heavy, greasy residue feeling on my head. It was very difficult to get this watery formula to lather, even with two washes, and I did not notice any improved detangling effect. I think this shampoo should be left to toddlers with hair issues, as originally intended. I will use this up as hand soap, just like the other shampoos that havenít worked out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xrini on 2/3/2014 1:18:00 PM more reviews by xrini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

As an adult I'm not using this type of shampoo but I found this on discount (1,85 euro) so I gave it a try.It has a very nice scent and made my hair very very soft.I have no problem with tangles so I do not know if it works,but overall it's a nice product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dso9 on 10/24/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by dso9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Saves money and time! This accidental discovery has converted me from borderline shampoo snob to frugalista! I have long, straight, thick asian hair, and I have it permanently colored and highlighted every 4 weeks. I've used moderate to high-end shampoos and conditioners forever, and recently jumped on the SLS-free bandwagon in spite of having no particular reaction to -sulfate products.

I purchased Johnson's No More Tangles (Straight Hair) only because my surgeon told me to use baby shampoo shortly before and after surgery involving my scalp. This shampoo is medium to low-sudsing like the Johnson's No More Tears shampoo I recall from my high school years (but now I rather like that) and it rinses easily. Unlike the No More Tears formula, the No More Tangles formula leaves my hair tangle-free, soft, and silky. The fragrance it pleasant, but I'm glad it's gone within a day.

Another accidental discovery: Whether I shampoo daily or only 2x/week, my hair is never dry and I no longer need rinse-out or a leave-in conditioner.

For the record, I typically air-dry my hair in warm weather and in cold weather only blow-dry to remove excess moisture. I use a curling iron about once a week. I do use a Moroccan oil on the last few inches of my hair on the second day after shampooing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 girl923 on 8/13/2010 12:41:00 AM more reviews by girl923

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Would it be alright to comment on this product if I'm not even using it? Actually, we use this shampoo on our dog. We hate how dog shampoos smell and we thought of switching to baby shampoo. She (our dog) has been using this for a year now. She's a pomaranian-spitz and this shampoo makes her coat really really soft! People are amazed on how soft her fur is when they pet her. Another good thing about this is our dog doesn't even smell like a dog anymore, she smells more like baby powder. (We give her baths 2x a week) I like it that this shampoo is the only one in the Johnson's line that has conditioner in it. I tried using the original formula (yellow) and it's hard to brush my dog's fur after because it doesn't have conditioner. Some of our neighbors are also starting to use Johnson's Baby Shampoo on their dog as well.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 7/16/2010 2:45:00 PM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It really surprises me that people get this to work for them; even ones with thick or coarse hair. I wonder, what could I possibly be doing wrong here? For the record, I have a moderate amount of long, fine hair that is color treated, tends to grease up a little on the roots and be dry on the ends. But to be fair, it's not that hard to handle, especially if I'm not expecting too much.
But first things first. I needed a simple, easy 2in1 shampoo for a short trip and I figured, you can't go wrong with baby shampoo, plus I wasn't going to be styling my hair so I just wanted something that would clean it and leave it reasonably soft and healthy looking. So I got it and to be honest I regretted it.
First of all, it's so thin and watery I need about two handfuls of this to make nice lather that will cover my hair. I went through this as if it were plain water; tons and tons had to go into my hair and rubbed again and again. I really don't like a shampoo that doesn't lather easily/enough.
Even when I got it to function though, this didn't quite work. My hair was almost as tangly as if I'd used any shampoo. It was a struggle to detangle it without pain and breakage. And sadly, once my hair started to dry, the ends felt so dry I was shocked; honestly I don't remember the last time I felt my ends so coarse and straw-like and frizzy. Of course, I still needed leave in conditioner. Which totally defeated the purpose; I could simply have gotten my usual shampoo and conditioner instead.
Even more shockingly, my SO who also used it complained about it. He has a typical short cut; nothing long or coarse, and still he came out of the shower asking me why on earth this doesn't lather. Also later he complained about his hair being harder than usual to style.
I only used it a couple of times since, on days when I wanted something extra mild on my hair, followed necessarily by leave in conditioner or spray. My hair were left nice and healthy then, but that was the leave in product for the most part. So bottom line, for me this is unusable without a leave in conditioner and therefore practically pointless.
The bright side is, besides hair, it's a great cleanser for other things. I use it for cosmetic brushes and undies. So it's not totally worthless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carybear on 5/11/2010 5:53:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I cut my hair a while ago, and it's not going to be long for a while. I needed something that was fuss free and easy on my scalp, which is so sensitive, alot of other shampoos and conditioners give me painful scalp acne. I know right?
So yesterday I went for the "grow out trim" (anyone knows it's alot easier to have hair reshaped every 6 to 8 weeks when it's growing out) and decided to pick up some nicely priced shampoo. I can't find my HG around, J/A/S/O/N's Biotin Shampooo...and besides, I don't buy pricey shampoo when my hair is short...why bother? I grabbed Pert Plus in the shampoo aisle, and then I saw the J&J had a 2-1 baby shampoo for straight hair and one for curly. I was certainly intriuged, and bought the straight hair formula (that's the version pictured above) and tried it last night., before work. I was complemented on my very glossy cap of hair and it was very smooth, and managable. To be accurate, I don't have pin straight hair, its acutally that kind of curly that is so inconsistant that it can't be called curly. It gets very rough and tangled even when it's short. I found this shampoo+ conditioner to be excellent at smoothing, detangling and softening. I really like it. Not my HG, but something I will buy when I can't afford/find my HG ♥

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ck923 on 2/9/2010 7:43:00 PM more reviews by ck923

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this shampoo. I know a lot of people use the baby shampoos from Johnson & Johnson for washing their makeup brushes but I really like to use this on my hair. It's a good gentle shampoo for daily use , which is good since I dye my hair a lot, use a lot of heat and don't get my hair as often as I should. Plus the smell is amazing :) The bottles are huge and it's so cheap. I love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 1/19/2010 4:30:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to clean my makeup brushes it works fine. I use it every two weeks to give my brushes a major cleaning. I will buy this product again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lucycj on 11/7/2009 4:13:00 PM more reviews by lucycj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I use this as a facial wash/make up remover too. I usually use the original one but picked this up as it was on sale, and because it is pink!

However, when I have finished this bottle I will be going back to the original one. This one stings my eyes and the original does not. I prefer the scent of the original one too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dominicangirl on 5/8/2009 7:08:00 PM more reviews by dominicangirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a good shampoo - nothing special, but works fine for me. I have really thick hair and this detangles it pretty well. I feel like it really cleans my scalp too...with most shampoos, my scalp still feels dirty, but with this it doesn't. Some say baby shampoo is really harsh, but I disagree. Besides; I only wash my hair once a week (because my hair is dry and doesn't get oily easily) so even if it is I don't think I'm doing much damage. This is great for using after I've done my coconut or argan oil treatment too -- with just one wash it gets ALL of the oil out. With all my other shampoos I had to do 2 washes.


It is watery in texture and doesn't lather well for me, but it still does it's job of cleaning my hair so I don't care. And anyway, shampoos that lather easily are the ones that contain most harsh chemicals.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Johnson & Johnson products

More Shampoo products