Bobbi Brown • Baby eau de toilette • Fragrances

rated 2.3(33 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 2/25/2008 1:45:00 AM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bobbi Brown fragrances thrive on synthetics. This scent reminds me of the heightened artificiality of Gucci Rush. Just like Beach, Baby has a topnote of solvent that throws your nose off discovering whatever else is lurking around underneath all that industry.

BB makes frags for parallel universes, ones in which things are not what they seem. The deception of the names: Baby, Bath, Beach. So simple and yet the height of fakery. They need to be parsed in terms of randomness. How hard could it be to make a scent called Baby? Love's did it, after all. And Beach, this could have multiple interpretations involving flowers, woods, water, and Coppertone. And yet, BB's Beach smells of cleaning fluid before it smells of jasmine.

BB scents seem a deliberate effort at modernism, yet without the implied commercial statement of Rush. Unwearable, IMO, unlike some excellent BB shadows.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 9/19/2007 12:46:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I think it's very distinct and yes it is a sweeter perfume than Beach. Beach is good in it's own way (good for the summer months). Baby on the other hand is more sophisticated I think. I find it to be more authorative. It is a hit or a miss with people that's for sure. It has awesome staying power and a little goes a very long way. If you apply too much it can be very overpowering and nauseating. I learnt that the hard way! Regardless, I like the distinct smell of this perfume but would not repurchase it because the smell is too strong. EDIT: No this is not sophisticated at all anymore as it's VERY nauseating! Gosh I tried to apply less of it but the smell is just TOO overpowering and it doesn't linger on after a few hours; instead, it remains the same intensity as "just applied". TOO STRONG FOR ME! I threw the bottle out..INTOLERABLE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 8/7/2007 8:46:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There's nothing about this that reminds me of a baby --- well anything good about a baby. It's cloying -- waaay sweet -- stanky over-ripe non-discript fruit smell. I honestly had to scrub this off! Then -- I still smelled it. I tried again and again -- as I've been told Bobbi Brown fragrances are really light and etheral. Based on Baby --- I think Ms. Brown should just stick to what she does best -- soft -- beautiful makeup!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jamejame on 6/21/2007 1:39:00 AM more reviews by jamejame

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! What completely mixed reviews! This fragrance was recently passed on to me by a friend who hated it. So I took it for a test drive. Myself, I think it does smell a little like diaper creme and that Johnson's baby cologne stuff and I'm not in love. However on my test drive, three men stopped and complimented it and asked the name. (Of the scent.) Normally I have to rely on the semi-unsolicited verbal approval of construction workers to get that kind of response when I walk by. So that's a good thing. Then the third man described the scent as " childlike" with an odd smile. (I'll look for him on that online predator Dateline show.) So basically, I do not like it. But some men apparently do. So if attracting men is your fragrance criteria, give this a try. ( You might want to be prepared to wear lacy bobby socks occasionally though.)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pink66 on 3/27/2007 8:35:00 PM more reviews by pink66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I casually smelled this one day at Nordstroms and was so surprised by my reaction. I didn't want to leave that store without it! I ended up buying the oil because they didn't have the spray. Although I'd rather have the spray the oil is handy. I drip it in my hand with hair pomade and mix it in lotion. It also lasts a long time. I think the smell is very unique, and a fresh, clean and interesting smell. Nothing else smells like it. I can see how some might hate it though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 12/31/2006 11:47:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can understand why some people hate this fragrance. I think it's one of those that you will either love or hate. I like the soapy/floral aspect of it, and it lasts a long time, which is a major factor in whether I will keep a fragrance or exchange it. My best advice is to try it before buying it.

EDIT: 8-7-07 I can't wear this anymore, and the bottle is only 1/4 gone. It makes me sick. Now we use it as room spray. I don't recommend it. Glade is cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeosMom on 10/24/2005 5:41:00 AM more reviews by LeosMom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had to edit my review. I liked this at 1st but had to return it. It smells nice & clean on 1st spray but then turned into that nasty bad perfume smell quickly. I thought maybe I sprayed to much so I tried a lighter hand and it was just a lighter bad smell :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GayleM1978 on 9/23/2005 9:53:00 AM more reviews by GayleM1978

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have no idea why this perfume got such bad reviews on here. I think this fragrance is Classy, Intriguing and most of all, Individual - and perhaps that it is why it scores so lowly on here. Baby is perhaps just not to everyone tastes.

But believe me my friends, I just bought the 50ml EDP yesterday and I ADORE it! It's beautiful with lovely fresh notes which stay with you long after application - and most importantly don't dull like most!

Two words - BUY IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ilovethe80s on 8/23/2005 7:20:00 AM more reviews by ilovethe80s

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh wow! I have never before had a reaction to a fragrance quite like I did with this one. I decided to ask for a sample based on my curiousity with the very negative reviews here. My MUA pals didn't lie! This is awful. I could kind of tell that just from whiffing the vial, but I decided to apply it to my pulse points anyway. I truly felt like I was going to vomit after about ten minutes and had to lie down. Of course, that didn't help because I could still smell the stench of this fragrance, so I finally ran to the bathroom to scrub my wrists. I agree with the Desitin comparisons, but, frankly I'd rather wear Desitin b/c this was downright sickening. I wonder what Bobbi was thinking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AlphaChick1980 on 7/23/2005 7:18:00 PM more reviews by AlphaChick1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Smells like one of those scented tampons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Fragrances products