Christian Dior • Pure Poison • Fragrances

rated 3.7(307 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 12/21/2013 6:51:00 AM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

It's simply a watered down floral-nothing like it's character infused older brother-Poison. *sighs*I'm disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 evadeb on 9/6/2013 9:44:00 AM more reviews by evadeb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first encounter with a big flowery fragrances that I actually love.
Previously my high rotation consisted of fragrances like Molecule 01 by escentric molecules, Eau des Baux by L' Occitane, and other woody orientals. I also love a bit of musky skank, i.e. L' Air de Rien by Miller Harris and Muscs Koublai Khan by Serge Lutens.

I also used to steer clear of "clean" smelling fragrances, and this one has both the big flowers I avoided for so long, and a certain soapiness to it.

I'm afraid I fall short in the notes dissecting department, I leave that to others who can do a much better job than me, but who knows, you might be a woody gal who likes her skank, and find your entrance to the big flower notes in fragrances by this soapy, a bit stand offish, and at the same time rather sexy smell.

Go easy on the trigger, it has plenty sillage!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 genarod on 8/1/2013 4:52:00 AM more reviews by genarod

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only fragrance I have ever been able to call my signature fragrance. I am absolutely in love with this perfume.

I don't even know how to explain Pure Poison, and honestly it is so complex that it sort of smells different each time I wear it. Sometimes it is very floral, sometimes it is very warm and sensual and spicy, sometimes I can detect the orange notes. This scent always seems to play perfectly with my body chemistry. It changes over time, and it is never a one dimensional fragrance.

I get so many compliments on this fragrance, and I love that when I tell people what it is, a lot of times they haven't even heard of it. It's not J'adore, it's not miss dior. I feel like this fragrance is my well kept secret-- that I found it as a signature scent before anyone else.

Since it is such a warm fragrance, and a strong white floral, I agree that it definitely is better in the cooler weather. I have worn it during the summer, I just apply it more lightly. Most warmer days though, I go out with just a lotion, and not really any fragrance.

In the winter though, this is *my smell*. I even spray all of my jackets with it, so the scent follows me everywhere I go. People are always complimenting how good I smell, and asking what I am wearing.

I love when I walk past my dh and he takes a big whif and goes "ooooo thats your scent!" lol.

My favorite thing about Pure Poison is that it is the one fragrance I have found that just isn't dupable. I think it's because of how complex of a fragrance it is.

Whenever I smell another perfume I always get so underwhelmed because all I can think is "I smelled this before..." or "this just smells like perfume..". I have *never* smelled anything else that smells like Pure Poison.

I have owned so many perfumes, and not only is pure poison the only one I have repurchased (I haven't been without this perfume since 2007), but it's actually the *only* perfume I ever finished the whole bottle of.

I don't think I will ever not own this scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 6/29/2013 9:51:00 AM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this perfume! But then again, perfume is a matter of body chemistry and personal preference. I don't wear perfume to work, as it is not professional in my field. So, when I do wear perfume, it is for when I want to go out.

I think this perfume caters to a population of woman who can pull off strong floral and oriental perfumes. This is not for the faint of heart. The negative reviews probably come from those that prefer a different genre of perfumes. This is not sweet like Prada Candy. Or classy like Chanel No 5. Or light misted like VS body spray. Or geared toward the younger population like Juicy Couture.

Another thing, this does not smell like the other Dior poison perfumes. So, test it out and see what you like. Otherwise, despite some of the reviews below, I get plenty of compliments from both men and women. Just goes to show that to each, their own. This perfume lasts for a long time. You don't need to spray much of it. And the bottle looks absolutely gorgeous on my vanity.

Dior Pure Poison is definitely SEXY. It has jasmine, amber, and white florals that give it a musky smell. Men tend to go crazy for the musk and sandalwood in it. This is the perfect date night perfume, more so in the fall and winter time.

I most likely will not repurchase, as I have the larger bottle. And it will take me a while to get through it. By that time, I am sure there will be something new. But definitely recommended! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hotrocketship on 5/21/2013 9:04:00 PM more reviews by hotrocketship

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a white floral for pussies. It's lush and POWERFULLY STRONG. I wear white florals very well-but if I applied this incautiously I could probably clear a room. I put that I would buy this again, because it's gorgeous, BUT I also think it would take years to finish off a bottle. On me, it's lush and clean but not in a green way-at all-it's just a screaming honker of a scent singing loudly and joyously but without swear words. Nothing skanky or indolic. It makes me feel very feminine and somewhat potent. My sister sniffed my arm and got gardenias. I just got happy. Definitely give it a try if you do Dior or white floral frags!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Metronomic on 4/17/2013 8:07:00 PM more reviews by Metronomic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this fragance is so fresh and elegant, floral but not to sweet, perfect for everyday use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 3/25/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a lovely scent. Very floral and in your face, but not too strong! I've always been a fan of scents like this, it reminds me a lot of Couture Couture which I also love. I haven't smelled all of the other Poison's but this is, so far, my favourite one. Recommend =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ScentingSarah on 1/29/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by ScentingSarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pure Poison is my regular 'go to' fragrance for those cooler months! For me, it's gorgeous, long lasting scent works well in those autumn/wintery days! Maybe that's due to being slightly 'heavier' than my light floral/fruity summery scents - yet in saying that, i will wear it out on a date anytime of the year. Pure Poison makes me feel sexy and mysterious and longed for. I always get asked what perfume I have in when wearing it! I love it, and will continue to buy this perfume as one of my Favourite Winter Scents!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MariaEffy on 12/31/2012 7:21:00 PM more reviews by MariaEffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It starts out very sweet, with various citrus and green notes. The scent then begins to fade into a nice white floral, as there is gardenia, jasmine and orange blossoms. As the sweetness fades, what you get is a nice powder like blend which is the amber, musk and sandalwood. This is not something I would reach for on a daily basis, but I still like it when I want something different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maybitters on 12/2/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Maybitters

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This was the first designer perfume I ever bought and I have continued to repurchase it over the years. It is a very sexy smelling scent. Definately my favourite perfumes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Fragrances products