Monyette Paris • Coquette Tropique • Fragrances

rated 3.1(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 mynonA on 9/15/2008 6:06:00 AM more reviews by mynonA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I recieved this among others as a tester from Abigail at Posh Peasant when ordering Monyette Paris, and I was surprised that I actually liked it. It's not as beautiful and original as it's sister at all, but fresh and fruity that works well in summer. I guess Monyette Paris is suitable for those who's into flowery notes (as myself) and Coquette Tropique for the fruit-lovers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alisha_the_kitten on 7/25/2008 4:32:00 AM more reviews by alisha_the_kitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Strong fruity notes make up most of the top-note, then it turns more into a mix of strong tropical florals, pear, and maybe some soft vanilla. The pear is syrupy sweet on my skin, which makes the scent a bit too cloying for me. I'm also not crazy about the blend of floral notes in this. It's not bad, though. I would recommend it to someone who likes sweet tropical floral scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beacheemom on 12/26/2007 8:40:00 PM more reviews by beacheemom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was so glad to finally try this product, as I love the Monyette Paris. This is just as beautiful, only in a different way. Coquette Tropique is louder and fruitier than the original. It smells like the color hot pink might smell,if a color has a smell. Like I said earlier, I just love the original, for it's creaminess. Coquette Tropique has less creaminess to it, more tartness. Think of the brown bottled suntan oil (hawaiin tropic) with sweet tarts melted in it. I know this sounds juvenile smelling, but I am 34 years old, and love it. Give this a try, the regular monyette is quieter, sort of like an afternoon nap on a quiet beach. Coquette is louder, like laughing in the sun with friends on a quiet beach!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WinterWheat on 8/11/2007 8:08:00 PM more reviews by WinterWheat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I received a free bottle of this with the purchase of something else and finally rolled it onto my wrists to see how it dried down. (I'd tested it in the bottle years ago but never tried it on my skin.) Perhaps I was influenced by the fact that I was sitting at a highway rest stop after a week of travel, but it smelled *exactly* like public bathroom air freshener, oversaturated with hit-you-over-the-head tropical notes designed to cover up the less savory aromas of the ladies' room. A touch of civet and Coquette Tropique would have successfully reached the nadir of Truckstop Stank. It's sad because the individual notes are pretty/delicious/heady (according to their sources), but years and years of associating such aromas with cheap candles and toilet pucks killed my ability to appreciate CT's charms.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 myfix on 6/23/2007 8:54:00 AM more reviews by myfix

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Maliastyle mentioned rotting bananas below and that's exactly what I get too. This is ultra sweet and strong and though it does soften slightly over the course of a few hours, it's still just over-ripe bananas. I love bananas, but I love garlic too - and I don't want to smell like either one of them. I adore the original Monyette Paris, but this isn't even like a distant cousin. I had a large sample, but I won't be purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toiletrywhore on 5/21/2007 11:44:00 PM more reviews by toiletrywhore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My first oil ever! It smells good, though i do agree it definitely has yankee candle smell at first( i know this because someone commented one day "what smells good, is someone burning a candle?") Once it dries down it smells just like Monyette.
This scent is perfect 4 living in warm weather:it's cheery, sexy, and u usually will not smell it on another woman. Love it, just make sure u search around for the cheapest price possible, I so believe u shouldn't have to pay $30 for such a small amount of product(got mine at 7.99 for oil and 7.99 for lotion plus SH on ebay).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 3/31/2007 6:56:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Heavy, lush and tropical. A little strong for me upon initial application--threatening to veer into migraine territory with a strong pomegranate or passion fruit note, but bearable if I keep my wrist away from my face. Dries down to a softer version of itself: spicy vanilla, a touch of coconut maybe, jasmine, some other flowery notes. Very sweet but not saccharine or foody. I think this is a little too bold-sexy for me to wear on a daily basis (like wearing Betsey Johnson everyday) but might do for a date if I'm in the right mood. I will probably not get a full bottle, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AbsoluteScentualist on 1/22/2007 12:10:00 AM more reviews by AbsoluteScentualist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Fruity and sweet, this is an ideal combination of juicy ripe Anjou pear and an intoxicating blend of tropical flowers. When first applied to my skin, I get an almost candy-like burst of the pear and hibiscus, and then the blend gradually changes to more closely resemble its sister scent, Monyette, including the sweetly seductive gardenia and vanilla/incensy dry down.

I know some feel this scent is too redundant or similar to all the other concentrated tropical oils out there, but since I adore and either own or plan on owning all the tropical beauties I've tried, I will undoubtedly pick this one up as well. It is a fine companion to the more sultry and sexy Monyette. More flirtatious and fun loving, it will be perfect for the approaching spring months. Fragrance Notes: Hibiscus, Gardenia, Plumeria, French Anjou pear, Madagascar vanilla 

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goddess_Dreams on 11/25/2006 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Goddess_Dreams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the most delightful surprise. A wonderful swapper sent me this and Coquette Tropique won my heart in a heartbeat. Creamy, delicious, and adorable. Coquette Tropique is all that and more. I think it would be perfect for a summer vacation to an exotic spot, somewhere by the ocean with sea-breeze tangling my hair and sun browning my skin. This will be THE SCENT I'll bring to our next tropical vacation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 11/5/2006 9:34:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In my junior year in high school, I lucked out and got one of the large, can-fit-a-football-player-in-it lockers in the newest wing of the school. I made the mistake, however, of allowing one of my less-than-tidy girlfriends to stash some of her stuff in it because her classes were all so far from her own locker. Upon returning from spring break, I opened our joint locker to discover a rancid scent coming from under some books; she had left a banana in there to rot over the course of the week, or who knows how much longer. Coquette Tropique for me is that. My skin doesn't allow a single listed note: there's no vanilla, no hibiscus, no gardenia. It's all unforgiving banana. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Monyette Paris products

More Fragrances products