MAC • Shadestick in Beige-ing • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(135 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Danielaxo on 12/16/2011 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Danielaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really love(d) this product because it works well as an eyeshadow base and it really brings out the true colour of the eyeshadows, blends well with other products and is light in colour and consistency. I have tried MAC paint pots, MAC paints (bare canvas) and the original Urban Decay primer potion - it mostly ended in disappointment. What's even more disappointing is one of the only products I love from MAC that I can't get anywhere else, is now discontinued. I'll update if I ever find anything that can compete with my beloved beige ing shade stick...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicolette808 on 8/27/2011 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Nicolette808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is by far my number ONE item in my make up bag! It is the most important tool in my make up arsenal and I am DEVASTATED that MAC has decided to discontinue making the entire shadestick line. Ill be honest, Ive never used any other of the shades of the shadestick except the Beige-ing. I use it as the primer to my eye shadow. It is an amazing primer. It allows my make up to go one brighter and denser and holds it in place, picture perfect for up to 30 hours or until I wash it off. It comes off easily and the application is as simple as it can be. I have noticed that after 3-4 months the product tends to harden. This has never really been an issue for me as I use it daily and one tube tends to last me about 3 months. Also once in a while the stick will break inside the tube but I find that pressing the product back into place and placing the entire tube into my freezer for an hour or so solidifies the product again. I LOVE BEIGE-ING SHADESTICK. Ive tried all primers, including the run of the mill junk you buy in department stores, ie, cover girl, lancome, clinque and even urban decay. NOTHING and I repeat NOTHING holds my stunning make up in shape like MAC shadesticks. I will forever miss this item and I will be hitting up eBay to stock up before its gone forever. It will surely be hard to replace this item :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 4/29/2011 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was cheap cause i bought it from america for like 15 bucks, but in australia its like 34. the day i bought mine and opened the cap, the stcik actually broke, so the packaging isnt very good. i have to watch out that she creme stick doesnt fly out of the tube when i take the cap off each time.
as for the colour, it goes really well on my nc40 skintone. i like that its not too silvery; silvers dont look too good, i stick to nudes and gold shimmers. its the best to put undr your eyeshadows, especially if your wearing frosts or metallics because i found it brought out the colours. as well as this, my eyeshadows held tight, didn not crease and my eyelids didnt get oily (sometimes if im not wearing eyeshadow or didnt prime, my eyelids get greasy lol). the only other under-eyeshadow that i like other than this, that does almost the same job (but not quite as good) is the MAC PAINT POT in bare study.
i like the shadesticks cause you dont need a brush or fingers so it clean. however, when i put mine on my eyelid, it didnt seem to 'glide', it drags and pulls on my eyelid in order ot get some sort of colour. doesnt hurt but i dont want to harvest wrinkles...so i only use this when im going clubbing and need staying power.
oh its good for a highlighter in your inner eye too!! such a pretty colour, will purchase again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Michelle7094 on 4/7/2011 11:44:00 PM more reviews by Michelle7094

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only shadestick that I've used that I am really happy with. It is the only one I can get to go on smoothly. It does an excellent job of holding my eyeshadow in place. My eyelids are very oily, and UDPP does not work for me. MAC's shadesticks and paints do, however. This shadestick applies a little more frosty than I would like, however it really helps bring out great color in my shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 niky on 1/7/2011 12:55:00 AM more reviews by niky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I tried this product on, I loved it. Perfect, smooth consistency and it worked great as an eye brightener.

But now, 4 months later, I've noticed that the product has hardened considerably. I find it tough to put on, it no longer just glides on. Not sure why this happened... the shade stick's lid is still intact and I've taken very good care of it. I'm disappointed with the texture now. I definitely will not be buying it again. It's too bad, because it's the perfect pale gold colour to brighten the inner corners of my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shussai on 12/24/2010 10:07:00 AM more reviews by shussai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This primer works very well, but I hate putting it on like a crayon. If the packaging was better I think it would be much easier to apply. If it came in a squeeze tube or a pigment pot...that would have worked out much better for me because I use a brush or sometimes my finger to swipe it over my lids.

But I do love it, and it really does give that true eyeshadow color. The artist at MAC told me that their primer is literally the best because it doesnt dry out within seconds like other primers out there (I think she was hinting at Urban Decay Primer Potion since it's the most popular ones:)!

I was concerned about the color because I am indian, so I have darker skin and was wondering if I shouldve gotten the sharkskin one instead, but she said she recommends Beige-ing to the darkest of dark skin because its the one that gives the truest eyeshadow color:)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillirific on 10/1/2010 10:02:00 AM more reviews by jillirific

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best eyeshadow base (on top of UDPP for extra lasting power) I have ever used. I use UDPP as a primer, but Beige-ing makes eyeshadows truly pop. The difference of an eyeshadow swatched over skin (or even UDPP) and then over this is remarkable. I have never had creasing or fading when using this, even by itself. It goes on so smoothly too. The packaging is okay - I like the delivery of the product but you do have to ensure you put the cap on until it clicks or else it could dry out. The writing also fades off pretty quickly so it just looks like a black tube in your makeup bag sometimes. But minor, minor details.


The only thing I might not recommend it for is matte looks because it does have a frosty finish, but I don't find that it shows through all that much. This is a staple in my collection for long-lasting wear and true-to-pan eyeshadow application. I don't use it as an eyeshadow, which I know is one of its selling points, but honestly, it's an incredible base. I'm not sure why MAC is discontinuing so many of these shadesticks because they're excellent products. I may be in the minority but Paintpots are not even close to an alternative for me. I really recommend this product, everyone should try it once.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinks13 on 9/13/2010 11:09:00 AM more reviews by tinks13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be one of my favourite products, it can act as an eyeshadow if you wear it alone or as a primer if you wear it under an eyeshadow. It has a shimmer to it which makes it all the more better and because it's dry you can use it under matte eyeshadows without it infesting the eyeshadow with glitter or anything shimmery. I use it from the lash line right upto the brow bone because it's gold and shimmery and can also act as a highlight to the brow bone. One usage only uses a tiny amount so for a pencil of it's size it would definitely last a while which makes it all worth it for 13.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dsweet730 on 7/11/2010 6:25:00 PM more reviews by dsweet730

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I can't seem to find this product at my local stores anymore!!! NOOOOOOO

I LOVE this product. It is a perfect base for eyeshadows; it can act as a primer. I've used the shadestick as a primer and it sticks all day! This shadestick really brings out eyeshadows. It is a light gold and champagne color with a smooth application. It has a little bit of shimmer so it looks great on the brow bone and the inner corners of the eye.

This can act as its own shadow but not recommended for light skin tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MisMeganNicole on 5/30/2010 2:01:00 PM more reviews by MisMeganNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first eyeshadow stick that I bought,and I did like it at first as a base,since then I've bought several other eyeshadow sticks,and they have been the exact same texture and quality but a third of the price.

I have noticed recently that they were too powdery,but at first use they worked perfectly. Since then I have made my own (for less than 5 bucks) and it works so much better than any shadow stick or eye primer,and it does not crease. Plus I can make it any color,right now it is a light champagne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products