Urban Decay • Eyeshadow Primer Potion - Original (UDPP) • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(5926 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 babyfairy on 12/19/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by babyfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this primer, it keeps my eye makeup staying in place all night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaaayxoxo on 12/14/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by kaaayxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really love this stuff, I think I am going to go back to it after I run out of all of my current eye primers. I wore this for a night club outing one time (atmosphere is hot, sweaty, etc.) I went to bed that night and woke up the next morning with my makeup still intact on my eyes. I couldn't believe it, lol. I was also really glad when they re-vamped the packaging as the old bottle with the sponge brush made it impossible to get any of the left over product out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lizc0002 on 12/14/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Lizc0002

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am not impressed my eye shadow does not last any longer when I use this product. I will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhode on 12/12/2014 12:12:00 AM more reviews by rhode

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've yet to find anything better.

I've tried BE's primer, NARS's primer, Two Face Shadow Insurance and MAC Paint Pots. So far UDPP beats them all. Makes my shadows laster longer and look better. Has a good texture and is easy to work with. Doesn't muck up the e/s texture (at least not moreso than any others I've tried).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/11/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have dehydrated-dry double-eyelids that are extremely prone to flaking. I haven't ever experienced creasing, and my main concern with an eye primer is that it helps eyeshadows achieve their maximum potential (vibrant color, prominent shimmer or glitter) and prevents fading.

I find UDPP is a bit too thin to hold onto glitter and I need an additional base for more than a few glitter particles to show up. It does okay with making the colors vibrant and prevents fading so I would consider this an average option for me. It is easier to work with than ELF's cheapest eyelid primer (which goes on thinner and needs more time to become tacky) but I find it on par performance-wise for me.

Overall, this isn't a bad eye primer and it's a reasonably priced mid-range option, but I would look into others first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lylaura on 12/10/2014 6:49:00 PM more reviews by lylaura

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

1 bottle lasts me a very long time, I wear eye-shadow almost everyday. A little goes along way.

It used to be my go to primer, but I don't know if somehow formula changed it isn't so great anymore. I preferred my first bought in hard bottle. The soft Tube which is supposed to also be Original isn't the same. The old kept my eye-shadow looking pristine despite hours of snorkeling in Hawaii. The soft tube one barely last a few hours w/o creasing, but it's not terrible, just ok.

I will not repurchase and have moved on to the MAC Long Wear Painterly Paint pot which also doubles as a base color, and last all day and a party night long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamourouslove on 12/6/2014 7:52:00 PM more reviews by glamourouslove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Compared to the Too Faced Shadow Insurance, I don't see the difference it makes at all. Just your average primer, nothing special. I'd say it's overrated. Nevertheless, I'd buy this again because it is pretty decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 12/4/2014 5:37:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using NARS Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow base for the past year and it does an OK job but its not my HG....I'm just hoping to hurry up and use it up so I can crack open the full-size UD Primer Potion. I was using this two years ago but had to take a break from it because it started to dry out my lids (I later learned I just needed to apply a little eye cream on my top lid). What I do know is that this stuff does keep you crease free and it gives your lid a nice smooth canvas in which to apply color. It definitely helps a lil in keeping the vibrancy of your eye color intact as well (I found that NARS kinda dulls your eye color just a little bit). I'm so glad that I decided to go ahead and pick up a fresh tube of this since I've been trying out more complex eye looks. This is definitely a worthy buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Babsfree on 12/3/2014 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Babsfree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have an original bottle of this, the kind that is in the genie bottle with the doe foot wand applicator before it was changed over to the new tube. I used it today and also decided to de-pot it into a small empty jar so I can save every precious smidge of this without wasting it

But now I'm wondering if I'm the only one who has noticed that it seems the formula has changed?
It used to be more creamy, lighter in texture and color and easier to spread too. Am I the only one who has noticed this change? I used the original kind today from the genie bottle and noticed it was way different than the kind I have in the squeeze tube so I did a comparison and grabbed the new squeeze tube and squeezed some out and put it next to the kind from the genie tube on my inner arm just to see and wow, can I see the difference. I swear, the formula has been changed and not for the better imo.

I will use the last of what's in my tube and save the stuff I de-potted today for when I really plan on going all decked out and need my shadow to last but no, I don't think I will buy this again cause it really does seem like the formula, everything about UDPP has changed and not for the better.
I bought the Fergie Wet 'n Wild shadow primer and it's creamy, blends pretty easy and is more affordable than UDPP and does a great job as a primer just as effectively as expensive brands but without the hefty price tag, save your money and use the money you saved on buying the Wet 'n Wld shadow primer and use that money for the good HE stuff. If UDPP had stayed the same then yes, I'd continue to buy it but not now, not after realizing its been changed.
Such a shame. Another one bites the dust.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KIRAN94 on 12/2/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by KIRAN94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

0 creasing after an entire day (8 am to 9 pm) -
USE ENOUGH PRODUCT AND IT WORKS.
Apply it properly and it won't crease.
This is a staple for eyeshadow.
Buy it & recommend it to your friends!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Primer products