Essie • Delicacy • Polishes

rated 4.5(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 vic21 on 2/12/2014 9:14:00 AM more reviews by vic21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish so much! It's a lovely pearlescent light pink that takes you anywhere. I find I like two coats, I like the sheerness of it and just being able to see the white tips of my nails through it. However, if you like opaque then you would need three coats. I find that this colour lasts me at least a week if I combine with a base and top coat. It is very elegant looking, perfect for work where it wouldn't go down well if I turned up with bright colours!

This is my HG polish for everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enza27 on 2/8/2014 10:36:00 AM more reviews by enza27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Love this pearly polish. Looks very classy and put together and the sheen to it is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiramekihoshi on 4/7/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by kiramekihoshi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

From the bottle, Delicacy looks like just another sheer pink, but no the nail, it's actually a pearly pink with the slightest blue duo-chrome. Totally not what I was expecting. It's pretty, but unfortunately, the pearly-frosty finish gives it a bad case of the visible-brush-strokes. It also runs a little sheer, so I needed three coats for opacity. Overall, it looks rather classy, but I wouldn't buy again because I'm not fond of the finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 3/18/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Pretty polish, but it is not a favorite of mine. It's a pearly pink with that mother of pearl blue purple sheen/shimmer thing that I do not care for. As it is an Essie it is very good, just turned out to be one I should not have purchased before seeing it in real life (derp! didn't look for swatches online either! oh well). I won't throw it away though and has found a home in my Essie collection. Perhaps it will layer well under a sheer creme? I must try that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Karolyte on 2/15/2013 11:53:00 AM more reviews by Karolyte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Vey pale cool pink wish microscopic shimmer to it. With two coats it is still pretty sheer, so three coats might be needed depending on what you like. What I love the most about this polish that it stays on for a week with a top coat. I work at the hospital where I wash my hands many many times, so staying power is very important to me and this polish does it just right :)
What I do not like very much about Essie polishes in general is the brush, I wish it would be wider, but hey if I manage it use it then who cares.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kat7inka on 9/20/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by kat7inka

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best pale pink I've ever had! I bought it because I wanted a pale shade that would cover my slightly discolored nails without being obtrusive. A single coat does work very well for that purpose, but that doesn't do this beautiful color justice at all. Three coats cover the visible nail line and leave the nails with exactly the same color and texture as the innner side of a white sea shell. It's so pretty and discreet without being girly at all. The surface isn't shimmery but pearly - oh, so delicately pearly - and overall this colour has a certain 60's feel to it. It makes you want to file your nails in a perfect almond shape. Having admired my nails for a couple of hours, I then used a top coat (Chanel), and that unfortunately killed the pearly effect and made the polish look like chewing gum. The next time I wore it, I used Sally Hansen "Insta Brite Nail Whitener" as a topcoat instead, and although it didn't last very long (four days), it kept the pearly effect and looked a lot better. I wish Essie would make a pearly top coat to go with this. Application was easy and it dried fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tresha on 12/12/2010 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Tresha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my top nailpolishes! I have been using this on an off for a few years. I love how this give my nails a my-nails-but-better glow. It covers well with three coats, and at a glance it looks like nothing is there...Women will know...Men won't. Very understated and elegant. Shiny and glossy...Goes with any outfit..from morning to night looks fabulous. Love love love

Note: At first...I could never get this color to apply evenly. So I decided to experiment. Now I pour this into an empty China Glaze bottle because the China Glaze brush is way better than Essie's crappy brushes. My Essie nailpolishes never apply evenly...But by putting them in OPI or China Glaze bottles...Delicacy nailpolish goes on like a charm because the brush it better. It give a more even coat...Essie really should consider changing their brush applicators. It's skinny and flimsy and hard to have even clean strokes of color. Please Essie change your brushes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karen137972 on 9/13/2009 10:12:00 PM more reviews by karen137972

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This polish goes on very well even for a klutz like me! If you dont give yourself the perfect manicure you will not notice it with this color. It makes your nails look great and it's very shiny. The first time I put Revlon topcoat over it and that was a mistake because it took away the beautiful shine. I would recommend this to anyone who wants natural healthy looking nails. Its darn expensive though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueirisjazz on 8/4/2008 2:02:00 PM more reviews by blueirisjazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love essie polishes. They are very high quality and stay put longer than OPI, and other polishes I've used. This one is very neutral. I use it as the all-over nail color for a French manicure. It can also stand on it's own if you want something very subtle. It looks like bare nails, just better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilakdala on 6/5/2008 11:08:00 PM more reviews by ilakdala

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

To my great surprise, the past 6 months I've been dabbling in sheers. I normally don't care for them all that much, and almost never give myself a French manicure (verra shaky hands), so what was the point? But then I discovered the right kind of sheer can look extremely pretty on me, and lo, Essie Delicacy is just one of those sheers. I'm kind of fascinated with this polish, because I can't figure out why it's so flattering compared to other sheers I've worn. The color is mostly nude with the faintest touch of pink to add a healthy glow. It's very slightly milky, which hides a multitude of sins, and in hard sunlight you can see the faintest of pearly sheens. The pearlescence also helps hide nailbed imperfections, so taken altogether, you get a nail bed that looks glossy, even colored, and healthy. I tried a French again, and Delicacy was perfect! It even softened the white edges that I, as always, painted poorly. You can't even tell I painted the tips, it looks so natural (but white!). Delicacy is also very shiny, even without a topcoat. The wear is mostly dependent on my top coat, and since I use a good one, I haven't had any tip wear the past few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products