NARS • Chihuahua • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(175 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mariscrane on 1/11/2014 8:53:00 PM more reviews by mariscrane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This grew on me. I have owned about 9 or 10 NARS glosses and this is the favorite. When first swatched on my hand, I thought it was way too pink and young-ish. One fateful day I layered it over Honeylove and that totally changed my tune. It is a gentle pink (another reviewer said milky rose which is spot on!) and it actually does make my lips look "younger" if that makes sense; that's just the word that comes to mind when I put it on, but it's a good kind of young -- not trying too hard, not too much, not too dramatic. Just soft and sweet. Now I carry it around in my purse because it generally looks good with many of my lighter and MLBB lipsticks ... In fact sometimes if I regret a pink or nude lippie purchase I will try this gloss over it and somehow, like magic, I'm reassured. If you have pigmented lips and warm toned skin, I recommend it all the more because it does well on its own too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlondeCaptivation on 12/30/2013 11:17:00 PM more reviews by BlondeCaptivation

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If we're talking about statement makeup, this isn't it. Chihuahua's charm lies in its subtlety. If we're talking about your-lips-but-better, then ding! we have a winner. This is a gorgeous color that really flatters a warm or yellow-toned complexion, even if you are a PPP, as I currently am. No gimmicks here, no glitter, shimmer, or weird undertones, just a lovely dusty pink that really closely resembles a natural lip color (or mine, at least). This is only semi-sheer, but on me it looks mostly sheer because it is such a dead-ringer for my actual lips. It goes on very slick and is not sticky. This is as much a curse as it is a blessing, because it requires faithful re-application and it takes some layering to get a good pigment going. Over a lipstick this is sure thing. I would pair it with Dolce Vita lipstick for the quintessential daytime nude look. By itself, it's still lovely, and I'm sure with a natural-tone lipliner, even better. The smell isn't foul or anything, just slightly plastic-y. It's nothing that would deter me from buying again. The price, however, is. For just under $30, I would hesitate, but probably cave and re-purchase anyways, because this is a very nice gloss. It might not have all the bells and whistles you've come to expect from pricier makeup, but it's a winner in its own right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 galcapsfan on 7/26/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by galcapsfan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip gloss!!!!! I lost it a few months ago and I was toying with the idea of repurchasing it even though its quite pricey but I was in sephora for the first time in a while and I couldn't help but buy it again!!! Its the perfect MLBB color. No sparkle. See my philosophy with lip gloss is that if my lips are going to look shiny thats enough attention to them so I want no sparkle on top of that shiny look. The color is just perfect. The texture is thick but not sticky, which is perfect for a lip gloss. It lasts, but when it does wear off it does not give those unattractive white lines. The smell is a bit plasticy but you will get used to it very quickly. I plan on repurchasing another as a back up as well as one more color from the Nars range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meganlovesyooou on 6/3/2013 8:20:00 PM more reviews by meganlovesyooou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This gloss is one of my favorites! The color is a nice, milky rose tone. The texture is thin, with no stickiness. The smell isn't the best--it kind of reminds me of children's play makeup, haha. On the lips, the color is quite sheer. It's not moisturizing, but it also won't dehydrate your lips. Generally, it wears about 2 or 3 hours on me and won't last through dinner or drinks...pretty average for the gloss. I think what I love about it the most is it's versatility--it looks beautiful and balances a heavier eye look, but also looks great on days where you're wearing nothing BUT this gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessPotter on 3/24/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by JessPotter

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Lemme just start off by saying, I LOVE this product. Not sticky, it lasts quite a while on my lips (for a gloss) and the color is beautiful. The color is the perfect nude-pink. It looks really natural, but not so much as to make you look like you are wearing nothing. I was recommended by one of the Sephora sales-people to get this color. It has no glitter, which I really like. Def repurchasing when it runs out. (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylzann on 3/8/2013 2:50:00 AM more reviews by Kaylzann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I don't normally wear lipgloss as most have shimmer or glitter. This one is just a gorgeous pink that looks great on its own with a heavier eye make-up. The smell doesn't bother me i don't know why people go on about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenifa305 on 1/28/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by jenifa305

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OK, so I'm a Nars addict so of course i was going to try this.I love this!This is the perfect shade of baby pink.It doesn't look trashy just gorgeous.Its a must try i have tried so many pinks and none have been perfect they are all either too Barbie looking or Niki Minaj looking too exuberant for my personal taste.I'm so happy i found this i cant stop raving .OMG ,I'm going to wear it tomorrow and the day after that and the day after that ......I might need to buy a second one tomorrow just to make sure i dont run out.BTW this lip gloss is not meant to be worn alone it is meant to be worn over lipstick a baby pink(i use Victoria's secret Wish lipstick).I'm going to stop raving now but do yourselves the favor and go buy it,you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyKolie on 10/2/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by LadyKolie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This so far is my Favorite from the Nars line of lip glosses. Honestly it is the only lip gloss I have used and not found absolutely disgusting within a week of using it. Ten years ago I gave up on glosses. I Tried the Orgasm color because I was such a fan of the blush. I tried Chihuahua because it looked like orgasm with out the glitter on the lips. Love it. Hands down my favorite. Very moisturizing. Doesn't feel overly tacky. Doesn't have a weird taste or smell (to me anyway). Not a huge fan of any gloss packing, but this is the nicest so far. I use a little at a time, just a hint of color and shine.


I agree with mmherman review below mine, I also don't have air conditioning in my car, so the hair stuck to lips is an annoying side effect of anything being on the lips and driving.


I do find it a bit pricey for the size. Then again it is the only gloss I have used and liked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 7/5/2012 12:17:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Let me start by saying that I HATE lipgloss, but I LOVE this stuff! I don't have air in my car so I tend to avoid lip glosses like the plague because nothing gets me irritated like my hair stickin' to my mouth. My hair can get unruly sometimes so I eat my hair a lot and I don't need no goopy glue on my lips to make it worse.


That being said I will say that I love the color of this lip gloss SO much that I will put up with the grossness that is lip gloss. The color is so pretty, yet understated and natural-esque. I am on my second tube. I lost my first one and liked it so much I bought another one.


My only real complaint is that this stuff has little staying power. You have to reapply a lot and as a result I don't tend to wear this a ton.


I did end up trying to find lipstick dupes for this and Mac's Bare Again and Patisserie are very nice substitutes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 raindropzzz on 2/24/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by raindropzzz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like the color but its got a plasticky taste and smell

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lip Gloss products