Tarte • Amazonian Clay BB Tinted Moisturizer (Smooth Operator) • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.0(491 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Pinksk8wax on 9/23/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Pinksk8wax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS FOR SUMMER !!!!! Perfect match to my skin and coverage is perfect- it's a little heavier than most tinted moisturizers but lighter than a foundation. I don't buy in to the "Amazonian clay" making a difference though. I think it's more of a gimmick to sell product. That being said, I definitely recommend this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimplePleasures on 9/19/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by SimplePleasures

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This "BB" replacement for the old Smooth Operator Tinted Moisturizer leaves me wanting. It's a decent enough BB with light coverage that evens out the skin tone, and it moisturizes slightly. However, I was in love with SO because its coverage was equivalent to a natural-looking light-medium foundation, it provided more of a moisturizing punch, and as an added bonus it controlled oil very well. I don't need a lot of coverage but SO was just right, but with this new one I feel like I have to layer it in certain places. This new version has a gel-cream texture, as opposed to SO's cream texture. You would think that this gel consistency would control oil even better, but it doesn't. Basically, it falls a little bit shot of SO in all regards. If I hadn't tried the original SO I probably would have given this BB four lippies, but now I expect better from Tarte. For this price I expect really superior performance, and this replacement product no longer delivers in that regard. If you want very light coverage and you prefer a gel-cream texture, you might still really like this product but it's just not for me.

Finally, as a sidebar, this product should be packaged in an opaque container like the rest of the Amazonian Clay foundation products in the line. It contains antioxidants that break down when exposed to light. The packaging means you're not getting all the skincare benefits from the product that you should.

I blame the "BB" trend for killing my favourite tinted moisturizer. RIP Smooth Operator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JeanLouise on 9/12/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by JeanLouise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I loved this stuff - was my holy grail tinted moisturizer. It agreed with my skin and gave me the coverage I was looking for. SADLY I just ran out, and went to buy more, and they aren't making my shade any more (Agent 00)! It's awful. The closest one they have is for light skins with pink or yellow undertones, but it's too dark for me. I think it was the old Agent 04. Such a bummer, now I'm on another mission to find a decent, non-chemically laden tinted moisturizer that agrees with my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yallagabig on 8/22/2014 2:06:00 PM more reviews by yallagabig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product wasn't terrible, but I don't think I'll be buying it (I got a free sample from Sephora).
Pros: really nice consistency, beautiful color (the only BB cream I have been able to find that has a yellow base instead of a pink/orange one) and great coverage -- it is very sheer and does not look cakey at all, but somehow still manages to cover all flaws (large pores, scars, etc). Also it has a nice light, fresh smell of lemons (it is not overpowering, and also fades throughout the day). Did not clog my pores.
Cons: Dries to a "dewy" finish that I actually found quite tacky and sticky -- it looked really nice and gave my face a nice soft glow, but I found it kind of uncomfortable, like it felt dirty). Also I thought this would be moisturizing, but it wasn't -- it made my oily T-zone look even more oily, and stuck to the dry patches on my cheeks, making them look and feel even drier.

I have VERY sensitive skin and this product did not irritate me, so that's a plus. I don't think it's a bad product, just not the right product for me. I think this might be good for someone who has "normal" skin, skin that is neither too oily nor too dry (for my combination skin, it brought out the worst in both).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ninjakitty63 on 8/21/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Ninjakitty63

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this product in june and absolutely love it. It's easy to apply, light to medium buildable coverage, goes on very smoothly, doesn't have the heavy feel of some other bb creams I've tried, leaves my face feeling soft and lasts until i take it off that night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 7/27/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I'm the first to review this product! I've been using this BB cream for years now. I love Tarte products because they are natural, eco-friendly and animal cruelty-free - so no animal testing/vegan. They don't add things like parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate, triclosan, synthetic fragrances, gluten etc.
Anyways, on to the product. This is a light-medium coverage oil-free BB cream. I find that in the summer month it's moisturizing enough for me to use on its own, but the rest of the year I layer over my regular moisturizer. It gives enough coverage for my needs, lightly diffuses my redness, covers any pimples etc. and gives a nice natural sheer looking finish.
I have sensitive skin and this doesn't irritate at all (I have early rosacea). I also have acne-prone skin and get clogged up really easy, resulting in whiteheads and blackheads (small little bumps, not cystic acne) and this doesn't cause any acne whatsoever :)
I love that it has sunscreen in it so I don't have to layer another product in my routine. Overall I love this product and will stay loyal to it. The company philosophy fits with my own values and the product is perfect for my needs. The tube is on the expensive side but it lasts me a year so I can't really complain. I'd highly recommend this to anyone and have recommended it to my friends when shopping in Sephora etc. Everyone I've suggested it to loves it as well :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lylalies on 7/5/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by lylalies

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this BB Tinted Moisturizer, the coverage is light and the look it gives to the skin is very natural. It blends very easily, it takes no time to apply it. If you have acne or acne scars, like me, you might need concealer to cover them up.

It has lasted me a few months, I'm not sure how long, but it has felt it hasn't been that long. So it gives me the impression that this runs out a bit faster than other foundations that I usually use.

I have combination skin, oily on the T-Zone and normal on my cheeks. It looks good most of the day, but I do have to blot my skin at mid-day, which is fine considering my skin type.

If you are interested in a light coverage foundation that works well with combination and oily skin, but not super oily, then this might be a good option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katmetology on 4/25/2014 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Katmetology

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have much to say. This is too dry and entirely too shimmery for me. I first applied it in dim light, and the shimmer was still obvious. I looked like a disco ball on a body!

Nope.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ResearchWarrior on 4/16/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by ResearchWarrior

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Note: originally, this started as board post, but as I started listing the product virtues and shortcomings, I realized that it sounded a lot more like a review, so here it is.

These days, I use Tarte TM (I suppose it was Smooth Operator once upon a time) as my primary sunscreen because I've (temporarily) given up my search. I was tired of feeling like a spotty, ghostly, greasy mess in the name of natural, cruelty-free, EFFECTIVE sun protection. I use this as a cosmetically-elegant, reasonably green, seems to prevent sunburn alternative for days when I will mostly be out of the sun. I still suck it up with other ss for heavy duty uses, such as hiking and beach days, of which there are a lot of in LA where I live. But 5+ days a week, I'm applying this.

I really like Tarte thus far (been using it for about 3 years) - no breakouts to my extremely sensitive and clog-prone skin, beautiful coverage (I actually get compliments on my complexion, not makeup), non-outrageous price and easy availability online and at Sephora if needed. It's one of the few products I've found without enough tri/caprylic coconut derivatives to trigger me, and layers well over oils and/or whatever DIY serum I'm testing at the moment.

Also, I am NC25-30 and it can be difficult to find anything tinted that works with yellow-undertones; this blends in well without looking too pink or orange (I use shade "Light" which used to be called Agent 06, which used to be called Veil... get it together, Tarte marketing).

That being said, there are some serious caveats to my recommending it. Before I get flagged too brutally by the green (or worse, the skincare) boards, let me just put this out there as an option that is not perfect but working well as a respite from the exhausting ss challenge.

So yes, Tarte TM. This one: http://tartecosmetics.com/tarte-item-tinted-moisturizer-spf-20

1) It's more of a foundation product than a ss, so getting the proper full face coverage is tricky. I probably use less than the recommended amount for SPF 20 (btw, active ingredients: 5% Titanium Dioxide , 5% zinc oxide) to avoid looking too makeup-y. YMMV on that point.

2) As stated above, it's only 5% zinc, with no further info on nano, etc. But it doesn't turn my olive skin white nor reflective in photos, so I'll take what I can get.

3) It's listed as vegan, although as some helpful folks have stated, Tarte may have been purchased by Japanese giant Kosť. Not sure how much longer the cruelty-free status will be around, but I'm hopeful. (Note: if anyone has updates, I'd love to know what's going on.)

4) Packaging is cheesy and advertising hypes it up to the ridiculous - Amazonian clay, wtf? And I'm not a fan of the "natural" bamboo cap. This has also fallen victim to the BB trend. I close my eyes and buy it whatever the aesthetic update as long as the formula only changes minimally.

5) It's probably too expensive for what it is, but it still falls under reasonable given its benefits and lack of solid other options. Also, at any given time there is a discount code for their website (n/a). On the bright side, it is 1.7 ounces (carry-on size!) and has yet to explode in my bag. I travel a lot and this is crucial.

6) It has all sorts of unnecessary extracts, including lemon, that ppl usually complain about, so again, YMMV. It doesn't upset my reactive skin, so I think amounts are probably minimal.

Good luck!

1.7 fl. oz. $36

Active Ingredients (all shades): 5% Titanium Dioxide , 5% zinc oxide.

light: Water, cyclopentasiloxane, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, glycerin, dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide, stearic acid, phenoxyethanol, mica, boron nitride, sodium dehydroacetate, caprylyl glycol, sodium chloride, phytantriol, kaolin, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, palmitic acid, dextrin palmitate, sodium hyaluronate, hexylene glycol, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, methicone, butylene glycol, triethoxycaprylylsilane, calcium sodium phosphosilicate, saccharum officinarum (sugar cane) extract, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, camellia oleifera leaf extract, panax ginseng root extract, Ginkgo biloba leaf extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, iron oxides.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LizzyBerry on 4/5/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by LizzyBerry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Meh it was ok. I was using this while on tretinoin so maybe it's unfair to judge it. My main issue with tarte products is that they're all waterproof! SO ANNOYING. At least give us the option to choose un-waterproof ones. Who really needs waterproof foundation? Unless you work at sea world or the beach like what? Ok maybe if you sweat a lot during the day too but for us 9-5 office gals who are inside most of the time anyway, this is pointless. This just makes it super super difficult to get off at the end of the day, even with proper make up remover. I seriously had to wash my face 3 times to get this crap off, not good for the skin. It's also really expensive. I'd suggest Dermablend, wayyy more coverage and about the same price. But I'm willing to pay it if it covers my acne and comes off at the end of the day. It's the ONLY make up that worked for me on tretinoin.

Things that I do like about tarte: cruelty free and all natural. Just please stop making everything water proof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Tinted Moisturizer products